• November 25, 2014, 02:58:48 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2] 3

Author Topic: wireless stops working on DIR-655  (Read 5779 times)

fj5gtx

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: wireless stops working on DIR-655
« Reply #15 on: December 31, 2012, 10:21:15 PM »

Alright... I'll try a firmware update.   Are these all inclusive?  In other words, if I take 2.07 - does it include the 2.03 changes as well ... or must I update each one in succession?

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28618
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: wireless stops working on DIR-655
« Reply #16 on: January 01, 2013, 12:40:38 AM »

They are all inclusive. Just follow the FW update process sticky. You'll be fine.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

tnbtaylor

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: wireless stops working on DIR-655
« Reply #17 on: January 04, 2013, 08:43:36 AM »

I have the same DIR-655 wireless connectivity issues.  Very frustrating for a "platinum product" from D-Link to be so utterly unstable with no known solutions (at least none I've seen). 

Very frustrating for residential customers to deal with endless configurations, reconfigurations, hard resets, firmware upgrades and downgrades, with no solution and no end in sight.

Not happy with my D-Link product.   >:(
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28618
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: wireless stops working on DIR-655
« Reply #18 on: January 04, 2013, 10:36:15 AM »

Maybe someone can review your router settings with you using Link> teamviewer if your interested. Its safe and secure.

IF not, I'll recommend that you contact level 2 DLink support and get there help to see if it can be resolved.

I feel this is either a mis-configuration or a external environment issue with 2.4Ghz frequency that is the probable cause of the router not working well. Another test would be to completely turn OFF the radio on the 655 and test the router out wired only. Does the router work then or does the problem remain?

One other suggestion would be to test this router in a completely different area to see if the problem follows. Either way, you'll know.

If you don't seem to get any resolution, then you'll need to find a different router. I would highly suggest getting into a 5Ghz router and then upgrading those devices to 5Ghz. There are many options for upgrading devices to 5Ghz.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28618
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: wireless stops working on DIR-655
« Reply #19 on: January 04, 2013, 03:59:22 PM »

Any status on this?

Alright... I'll try a firmware update.   Are these all inclusive?  In other words, if I take 2.07 - does it include the 2.03 changes as well ... or must I update each one in succession?


Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

wheelguy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: wireless stops working on DIR-655
« Reply #20 on: February 08, 2013, 02:36:59 AM »

Mine was cutting out also - wireless only, wired computers not affected - consistently every 2 days. I have the original firmware version 1.02. I made one change and it is working now 6 days. I set it to use channel 11 only like this...

Click "Setup" in the tabs across the top.
Click "Wireless Settings" in the menu on the left.
Click "Manual Wireless Network Setup" button at the bottom.
Uncheck "Enable Auto Channel Scan" box.
Select "... CH11" from the dropdown list.
Click "Save Settings" button at the top.
Wait 15 seconds.
- done -

I hope this works for you too.

I thought that one of the channels may be a black hole and the router wanders into this black hole if allowed to auto channel scan. But, I repeated the above steps for all 11 channels, and all of them work just fine. So, my guess is there is a bug (memory leak?) in the software that does the scanning.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28618
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: wireless stops working on DIR-655
« Reply #21 on: February 08, 2013, 07:01:30 AM »

What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.
What region are you located?

hat wireless modes are you using? Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N?
Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
Try setting a manual channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto.
What wireless devices do you have connected?
Any cordless house phones?
Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?


This is probably not a FW bug as more like a external environment condition possibly.

Mine was cutting out also - wireless only, wired computers not affected - consistently every 2 days. I have the original firmware version 1.02. I made one change and it is working now 6 days. I set it to use channel 11 only like this...

Click "Setup" in the tabs across the top.
Click "Wireless Settings" in the menu on the left.
Click "Manual Wireless Network Setup" button at the bottom.
Uncheck "Enable Auto Channel Scan" box.
Select "... CH11" from the dropdown list.
Click "Save Settings" button at the top.
Wait 15 seconds.
- done -

I hope this works for you too.

I thought that one of the channels may be a black hole and the router wanders into this black hole if allowed to auto channel scan. But, I repeated the above steps for all 11 channels, and all of them work just fine. So, my guess is there is a bug (memory leak?) in the software that does the scanning.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

wheelguy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: wireless stops working on DIR-655
« Reply #22 on: February 08, 2013, 04:44:31 PM »

I found most of the things you ask about. Please see answers below..

Q: What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
A: H/W = A2

Q: What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.
A: F/W = 1.02

Q: What region are you located?
A: I bought the router in America. Not sure where to find "region" setting.

Q: What wireless modes are you using? Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
A: NG only

Q: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N?
A: I did not try changing the region

Q: Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
A: Auto 20/40

Try setting a manual channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.
Q: What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi
A: WPA2/AES
 adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto.

Q: What wireless devices do you have connected?
A: 2 iPhones, 2 Nexus 7 tablets, 1 Macbook Pro, 1 Sony windows laptop

Q: Any cordless house phones?
A: no cordless devices otherthan computers in the house.

Q: Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?

A: hghly variable between 1 and 7

Q: This is probably not a FW bug as more like a external environment condition possibly.
A: Agreed, but I suspect it is the firmware's inability to deal with an environmental condition.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28618
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: wireless stops working on DIR-655
« Reply #23 on: February 09, 2013, 11:05:24 AM »


I found most of the things you ask about. Please see answers below..

Q: What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
A: H/W = A2

Q: What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.
A: F/W = 1.02
This is old FW. You could update however not sure if this would really fix the WiFi problem since there are other WiFi routers near by.

Q: What region are you located?
A: I bought the router in America. Not sure where to find "region" setting.

Q: What wireless modes are you using? Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
A: NG only

Q: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N?
A: I did not try changing the region

Q: Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
A: Auto 20/40
Try setting 20Mhz only to test.

Try setting a manual channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.
Are there any clear, open and unused channels in your area?

Q: What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi
A: WPA2/AES
 adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto.

Q: What wireless devices do you have connected?
A: 2 iPhones, 2 Nexus 7 tablets, 1 Macbook Pro, 1 Sony windows laptop

Q: Any cordless house phones?
A: no cordless devices otherthan computers in the house.

Q: Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?

A: hghly variable between 1 and 7
Having several or many other WiFi routers on 2.4Ghz can impact wireless. You could try to lower the power ouput of the 655's radio from High to Medium or Low and see if this help. I would also recommend getting a 5Ghz AP and see if this would help get away from some of the WiFi congestion on 2.4Ghz.

Q: This is probably not a FW bug as more like a external environment condition possibly.
A: Agreed, but I suspect it is the firmware's inability to deal with an environmental condition.
This maybe due to the "Good Nieghbor Policy" code thats in all WiFi routers.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

turtlejoe2022

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: wireless stops working on DIR-655
« Reply #24 on: February 09, 2013, 04:29:50 PM »

Having the Same Problem with my Dir 655 will frequently lose connection or it says limited access
Isp :at&t
Modem :motorolla mstatea
router:dir655
fw:2.10na
would also help if some one took a view with tem viewer

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28618
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: wireless stops working on DIR-655
« Reply #25 on: February 09, 2013, 04:40:53 PM »

Is this ISP modem the Motorola SB 5 Series modem? i.e. 5100 or something like that?
What was the prior FW version loaded on this router?
Was a factory reset performed before and after the FW update?
Was the router working before the update?

Link>Wireless Installation Considerations
What wireless modes are you using? Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N?
Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
Try setting a manual channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto.
What wireless devices do you have connected?
Any cordless house phones?
Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?

Turn off WISH, and WPS under Advanced.
Try turning off Short GI, WLAN Partition,and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.
Enable WMM Enable Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.
Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
Turn off all devices accept for one wired PC while testing.

Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.

Having the Same Problem with my Dir 655 will frequently lose connection or it says limited access
Isp :at&t
Modem :motorolla mstatea
router:dir655
fw:2.10na
would also help if some one took a view with tem viewer


Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

turtlejoe2022

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: wireless stops working on DIR-655
« Reply #26 on: February 09, 2013, 04:45:20 PM »

Could you please take a look and configure for me with teamviewer i just want this problem fixed youve helped me in the past and it worked
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28618
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: wireless stops working on DIR-655
« Reply #27 on: February 09, 2013, 04:54:35 PM »

Send me a PM with ID and PW info. Please be wired to the back of the router with a PC.

Could you please take a look and configure for me with teamviewer i just want this problem fixed youve helped me in the past and it worked
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28618
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: wireless stops working on DIR-655
« Reply #28 on: February 09, 2013, 07:41:09 PM »

Configured the router for optimal settings and had to set a option on the ISP Modem/Router to pass a public IP address to connected deivces. This cleared up the issue of not getting a public IP address on the 655 router and xbox has a OPEN NAT now.

Could you please take a look and configure for me with teamviewer i just want this problem fixed youve helped me in the past and it worked
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

wheelguy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: wireless stops working on DIR-655
« Reply #29 on: February 10, 2013, 12:45:09 AM »

Still working after 7 days - no more wifi problems - so, I'm calling it "fixed". The only change I needed was described above - set the channel to 11.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3