• March 31, 2020, 01:06:23 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Constantly need to reboot router - losing internet connection  (Read 31028 times)

bazze

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Constantly need to reboot router - losing internet connection
« on: February 06, 2012, 05:03:12 AM »

Hi,
I have 2 computers connected to the router (via cable). The problem is that have to reboot the router several times per day because one or both computers lose their internet connection. This happens regardless if one or two computers are turned on.

The router is connected directly to the socket in the wall so there’s no modem.

How can I tackle this problem? What things can I try to change?

Thanks!

Router: DIR-615
Firmware version 4.00
Hardware version: D1

Computer1: Win7 64
Computer2: Win Vista 64
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48520
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Constantly need to reboot router - losing internet connection
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2012, 09:35:45 AM »

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?

Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field?

Some things to try:
Ensure DNS IP addresses are being filled in under Setup/Internet/Manual? You can find these under Status/Device Info/Wan section.
Turn off ALL QoS (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options. Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking.

What wireless modes are you using?
Are you using the WiFi at all? I might turn it off if your not as a test.
Try single mode G or mixed G and N?
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/Auto TPIK and AES.
What wireless devices do you have connected?
Any cordless house phones?
Any other WiFi routers in the area? Use InSSIDer to find out.
Turn off Short GI and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
Turn off all devices accept for one wired PC while testing.

Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Cat6 is recommended.
Check the logs during the time frames on when you notice the router seems to loose Internet connection.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

bazze

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Constantly need to reboot router - losing internet connection
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2012, 12:02:18 PM »



Thanks for a quick reply. Answers and follow up questions below:

###”What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?”

ISP Service: Cable (Dynamic IP)

##“Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field?”

There’s no Wan section under “Device Info”. I have 3 sections: “LAN”, “Internet” and “Wireless 802.11N”. Not sure what you mean. There’s an IP address 192.168.1 and a subnet mask 255.255.255.0 in the “LAN” section.

###” Ensure DNS IP addresses are being filled in under Setup/Internet/Manual? You can find these under Status/Device Info/Wan section.”

Same thing here.. I don’t have a “WAN” section but a “LAN Setup” section
Router IP address is set to 192.168.0.1 subnet mask to 255.255.255.0.


###”Turn off ALL QoS (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options. Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.”

I can’t find anything similar to “Qos” or “Gamefuel”  in the advanded section. There’s only things like port forwarding, application rules, access control, firewall and dmz, advanced wireless, advanced network and routing

###”Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual.”

No such option available.

###”Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking.”

I found this option under “Setup/LAN Setup” section “Router Settings”. It was already on.

###”Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking”

Already done. I assume it is correct when there’s a ticked checkbox,  followed by a computer name, followed by an internal IP-adress (192.168.0.xxx) followed by an MAC-address for each device.

###”Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.”
 
 Already done

###”Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.”

The only option I have under Advanced/Firewall & DMZ is an “Enable SPI” checkbox (unchecked)


###”Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking.”


Both already enabled.

###”What wireless modes are you using?”

How can I see what mode I’m using? Can’t really tell when looking in the “Wireless Setup”.
 
##” Are you using the WiFi at all? I might turn it off if your not as a test.”

Need it for the wireless printer and a smartphone that occasionally are connected. Problem persist however regardless if these are connected or not

###”Try single mode G or mixed G and N?”

Where do I change mode?

###”What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/Auto TPIK and “AES.”


WEP


###“What wireless devices do you have connected?”

Wireless printer and a smartphone that occasionally are connected. Problem persist however regardless if these are connected or not

###”Any cordless house phones?”

Yes but is this relevant? Problem persists even if the pc are connected via cable only

###”Any other WiFi routers in the area? Use InSSIDer to find out.”

Yes but is this relevant? Problem persists even if the pc are connected via cable only.

###Turn off Short GI and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.


Yes but is this relevant? Problem persists even if the pc are connected via cable only.


###”Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
Turn off all devices accept for one wired PC while testing. “


Will try. Computers are running MSE

###”Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Cat6 is recommended.
Check the logs during the time frames on when you notice the router seems to loose Internet connection.”


No modem in the network. Have tried with different cables.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48520
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Constantly need to reboot router - losing internet connection
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2012, 12:17:10 PM »

To view modes and security for WiFi go to Setup/Wireless/Manual.
« Last Edit: February 06, 2012, 12:44:01 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

bazze

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Constantly need to reboot router - losing internet connection
« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2012, 12:45:12 PM »

yes security mode set to WEP.. Can't see anything about G, Mixed G or M?
Are the wireless modes relevant to a problem that occurs when the computers are connected via cable?

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48520
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Constantly need to reboot router - losing internet connection
« Reply #5 on: February 06, 2012, 12:57:11 PM »

Anything is possible. There should be WiFi options saying something about Mixed B, G and N modes, theres a drop down menu that has other modes.

Can you review your routers log settings and see if there are any entries around the time frames your experiencing the disconnections? Might be something reporting that the router has lost the connection then has re-acquired or obtained a WAN IP address. If you do see anything like this, means your ISP is dropping the connection.

"There’s no Wan section under “Device Info”. I have 3 sections: “LAN”, “Internet” and “Wireless 802.11N”. Not sure what you mean. There's an IP address 192.168.1 and a subnet mask 255.255.255.0 in the “LAN” section." This means there is probably another router up stream from this router and could be dropping the connection. This address your seeing in the Internet IP address is a private address. Preferred is to have a Public IP address, i.e. ##.##.###.### format.

Lets see if the logs on the router report any thing.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

bazze

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Constantly need to reboot router - losing internet connection
« Reply #6 on: February 06, 2012, 01:20:16 PM »

ok will check the log. Next time it happens.

"This means there is probably another router up stream from this router and could be dropping the connection. This address your seeing in the Internet IP address is a private address. Preferred is to have a Public IP address, i.e. ##.##.###.### format. "

Really? Because in Device info/Internet there is an external IP address (the dynamic one I get from my ISP and addresses to the primary and secondary DNSs) Isn't "192.168.0.1" just the default internal IP to the router?

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48520
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Constantly need to reboot router - losing internet connection
« Reply #7 on: February 06, 2012, 01:26:22 PM »

Under Status/Device Info/Wan section or internet, is there a WAN IP address field? There should be and it will either read a 192.168 address or a ##.##.###.### <which is preferred.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

bazze

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Constantly need to reboot router - losing internet connection
« Reply #8 on: February 06, 2012, 01:38:25 PM »

in the Status/Device Info/Wan section or internet it looks like this:

Mac address: the routers mac address
Connection: "DHCP client"  "Connected"
IP adress: an external IP XX.XXX.XX.XXX (the one that is logged in this post)
Subnet mask: 255.255.255.128
Default gateway: an external IP XX.XXX.XX.XXX
DNS: XX.XX.X.XXX  XX.XX.X.XXX

I think we're talking about the same thing but I guess it looks different in different versions.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48520
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Constantly need to reboot router - losing internet connection
« Reply #9 on: February 06, 2012, 01:43:26 PM »

Yep, ok, just wanted to make sure you are getting a public IP address.

I would check the routers logs during the times you see the router or notice a disconnection. You can come in to this same place while it's disconnected and check the status at the time. If you don't see any IP addresses here this means it's lost connection to the ISP service. I would ask your ISP if they've seen or have any logs on there side that reflect any disconnections at the times you see the disconnects on the router.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

bazze

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Constantly need to reboot router - losing internet connection
« Reply #10 on: February 07, 2012, 12:21:50 AM »

I'll post the logs next time it happens. Thanks for your time...
Logged

bazze

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Constantly need to reboot router - losing internet connection
« Reply #11 on: February 07, 2012, 05:51:33 AM »

Now it happened again.. lost internet connection.

Here's the log from the last 2 hours:

Feb 7 14:26:05    Remote management is disabled.
Feb 7 14:26:05    Block WAN PING is disabled.
Feb 7 14:26:05    Remote management is disabled.
Feb 7 14:26:05    Block WAN PING is disabled.
Feb 7 14:26:04    DMZ disabled.
Feb 7 14:26:04    VPN (L2TP) Pass-Through enabled.
Feb 7 14:26:04    VPN (IPSec) Pass-Through enabled.
Feb 7 14:26:04    VPN (PPTP) Pass-Through enabled.
Feb 7 14:26:04    Domain blocking disabled.
Feb 7 14:26:04    URL blocking disabled.
Feb 7 14:26:04    MAC filter disabled.
Feb 7 14:26:04    DHCP: Client receive ACK from 81.88.9.219, IP=89.236.34.198, Lease time=7200.
Feb 7 13:26:05    Remote management is disabled.
Feb 7 13:26:05    Block WAN PING is disabled.
Feb 7 13:26:04    Remote management is disabled.
Feb 7 13:26:04    Block WAN PING is disabled.
Feb 7 13:26:04    DMZ disabled.
Feb 7 13:26:04    VPN (L2TP) Pass-Through enabled.
Feb 7 13:26:04    VPN (IPSec) Pass-Through enabled.
Feb 7 13:26:04    VPN (PPTP) Pass-Through enabled.
Feb 7 13:26:04    Domain blocking disabled.
Feb 7 13:26:04    URL blocking disabled.
Feb 7 13:26:04    MAC filter disabled.
Feb 7 13:26:04    DHCP: Client receive ACK from 81.88.9.219, IP=89.236.34.198, Lease time=7200.



Rebooted in CPU Win7 - no connection to internet
Rebooted in CPU Linux - no connection
Rebooted in Win7 - still no connection

But! Unplugged the cable from the router (the netork cable that goes IN to the router not the one that goes out from the router to the CPU) and plugged it in again. Connection is restored without rebooting the router.

This has now also popped into the log:

Feb 7 14:37:58    DHCP: Server sending OFFER of 192.168.0.100 for static DHCP client.
Feb 7 14:37:58    DHCP: Server receive DISCOVER from 00:18:d1:25:36:9b.
Feb 7 14:37:54    DHCP: Server sending OFFER of 192.168.0.100 for static DHCP client.
Feb 7 14:37:54    DHCP: Server receive DISCOVER from 00:18:d1:25:36:9b.
Feb 7 14:37:54    DHCP: Server sending NAK to 00:19:d1:25:36:9b.
Feb 7 14:37:54    DHCP: Server receive REQUEST from 00:18:d1:25:36:9b.

What do you think?
« Last Edit: February 07, 2012, 05:56:00 AM by bazze »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48520
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Constantly need to reboot router - losing internet connection
« Reply #12 on: February 07, 2012, 07:18:03 AM »

I would contact the ISP and ask them if they see any log entries regarding these time frames.

When the internet seems to go down, can you still connect to the routers web page. Not the internet, we know thats down at the the time, however before you pull the LAN cable and reset it, can you still connect to the routers web page at 192.168.0.1?

There is recent FW for your model router on the UK web site. I suppose you could try that.
4.11   
Firmware for hardware revision D1. 14/04/2009

If you do, Please follow the FW Update sticky process in this forum.

Let us know what you find out.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Andre-Casals

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Constantly need to reboot router - losing internet connection
« Reply #13 on: February 07, 2012, 03:40:18 PM »

We use a dedicated public IP, our ISP serves by wired connections.
I've implemented the setting you mean at start post.

The problem is upgrade Firmware the DIR-615
The OEM was
Hardware C
Firmware 3.03UN  since october 2009
I was looking upgrades, the device announce the new is 3.11 (around 2009 too)
When download and try to install it, the DIR-615 says erroneous file.
Then I go to Americas support site of DLink, there some upgrade files. Trying all, no success.
After some tries, now is  3.03UN  >>> 3.03WW
Really is there a update ???
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48520
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Constantly need to reboot router - losing internet connection
« Reply #14 on: February 07, 2012, 07:32:22 PM »

What region are you in?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!
Pages: [1] 2