• March 28, 2020, 08:53:38 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Constantly need to reboot router - losing internet connection  (Read 31005 times)

Andre-Casals

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Constantly need to reboot router - losing internet connection
« Reply #15 on: February 08, 2012, 06:24:07 AM »

We are in Nicaragua.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48507
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Constantly need to reboot router - losing internet connection
« Reply #16 on: February 08, 2012, 07:28:49 AM »

Well I presume that your router falls under the NA or North America region as Rev C is listed for the particular rev.
http://www.dlink.com/products/?tab=3&pid=DIR-615&rev=DIR-615_revC
Have you tried to upgrade to v3.01 as a step upgrade to see if that NA version will work?
I would call your local DLink support office and ask them about this issue.

Let us know how it goes.


We use a dedicated public IP, our ISP serves by wired connections.
I've implemented the setting you mean at start post.

The problem is upgrade Firmware the DIR-615
The OEM was
Hardware C
Firmware 3.03UN  since october 2009
I was looking upgrades, the device announce the new is 3.11 (around 2009 too)
When download and try to install it, the DIR-615 says erroneous file.
Then I go to Americas support site of DLink, there some upgrade files. Trying all, no success.
After some tries, now is  3.03UN  >>> 3.03WW
Really is there a update ???
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

bazze

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Constantly need to reboot router - losing internet connection
« Reply #17 on: February 08, 2012, 10:25:43 AM »

I would contact the ISP and ask them if they see any log entries regarding these time frames.

When the internet seems to go down, can you still connect to the routers web page. Not the internet, we know thats down at the the time, however before you pull the LAN cable and reset it, can you still connect to the routers web page at 192.168.0.1?

There is recent FW for your model router on the UK web site. I suppose you could try that.
4.11   
Firmware for hardware revision D1. 14/04/2009

If you do, Please follow the FW Update sticky process in this forum.

Let us know what you find out.

Yes I can connect the routers web page. As soon as the connection dropped I checked the log to see what happened just before it dropped.

If I upgrade the firmware will I have to redo all the settings?

@ Andre-Casal: Please start a new thread about your issue. 
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48507
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Constantly need to reboot router - losing internet connection
« Reply #18 on: February 08, 2012, 10:31:04 AM »

Where there any log entries after the connection dropped that mention a disconnection or anything like that?

You could save off the current routers configuration to file, upgrade then reload that file.
I would recommend after the upgrade, test the internet before reloading the config file to see if the internet drops any.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48507
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Constantly need to reboot router - losing internet connection
« Reply #19 on: February 08, 2012, 10:49:07 AM »

Please follow the FW Update Process.
« Last Edit: September 27, 2012, 01:19:45 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Oniros

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Constantly need to reboot router - losing internet connection
« Reply #20 on: January 08, 2013, 06:12:44 AM »

We use a dedicated public IP, our ISP serves by wired connections.
I've implemented the setting you mean at start post.

The problem is upgrade Firmware the DIR-615
The OEM was
Hardware C
Firmware 3.03UN  since october 2009
I was looking upgrades, the device announce the new is 3.11 (around 2009 too)
When download and try to install it, the DIR-615 says erroneous file.
Then I go to Americas support site of DLink, there some upgrade files. Trying all, no success.
After some tries, now is  3.03UN  >>> 3.03WW
Really is there a update ???
The exact same thing happened to me. Sorry if the topic of the thread was different but it's just that the poster had the exact same situation happening to him/her. Any advice on which firmware version is better?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48507
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Constantly need to reboot router - losing internet connection
« Reply #21 on: January 08, 2013, 07:34:08 AM »

Link>Welcome!
What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.
What region are you located?


The exact same thing happened to me. Sorry if the topic of the thread was different but it's just that the poster had the exact same situation happening to him/her. Any advice on which firmware version is better?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Hard Harry

  • Guest
Re: Constantly need to reboot router - losing internet connection
« Reply #22 on: January 12, 2013, 09:51:34 PM »

I think we need to go back to square one. If your using a static IP that was given to you from a block of IP for that building, and you keep having to reboot the router, theres a good chance your ISP doesn't keep ARP tables and someone else is using your IP. They can't use internet, they reboot, kicks you off. You reboot, kicks them off. And so on.

I would ask your ISP if they can check their routing logs and see if they see any other MAC besides your router using that static IP. Also ask if you can use DHCP as back up. If so, try changing to DHCP for a couple days and see if the problem goes away. If so, thats likly your problem, but without know how the network in the building works to bring you that ethernet connection in the wall I can't be sure.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]