• August 07, 2020, 09:11:20 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DIR-632 and SIP  (Read 3936 times)

smrgolfer

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
DIR-632 and SIP
« on: January 25, 2012, 07:41:15 AM »

I have a DIR-632 router connected to a Time Warner Business Class connection in a small office. I'm trying to get VoIP phones configured with a hosted PBX provider and I can't seem to get SIP traffic to go through. I'm fairly certain it's the router at this point:

-PBX provider can see HTTP traffic from phone getting to them. SIP traffic never appears.
-I confirmed with TWBC that they don't block SIP traffic and that the modem they provided has no firewall capability that could be doing it either.

Does anyone know if the DIR-632 is doing something to prevent SIP traffic over port 5060?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49041
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-632 and SIP
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2012, 12:13:31 PM »

Probably that this router isn't a business class router for handling business class VoIP and PBXs. You need a router specifically designed for that class of phone system. These are home end user routers for handling general Internet, gaming and some home end class VoIP like Magic Jack or NetTalk.

You can try setting Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
Is there SIP check option in the Firewall section? Try it OFF or ON.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

smrgolfer

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: DIR-632 and SIP
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2012, 12:44:53 PM »

Thanks for the response!

I did try changing the settings to Endpoint Independent, to no avail. I searched through the UI for any SIP specific settings, but came up empty.

To your point, probably the wrong router for this application. Looks like my house just got an upgrade and I'll go with the Netgear router being pushed by the PBX provider.

Thanks again.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49041
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-632 and SIP
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2012, 12:48:32 PM »

There ya go...You could turn the 635 into and wireless AP if you decide to keep the 632.
Gook Luck.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!