• October 19, 2020, 05:40:07 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: HW Version A1 FW version 1.40  (Read 38356 times)

rvrichardson

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
HW Version A1 FW version 1.40
« on: January 06, 2012, 09:18:25 AM »

Has anyone attempted to install the new V1.40 FW (DAP-1522 A1 FW 1.40b03_1.40b03.bin). My DAP1522 shows the file as an invalid load file ?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: HW Version A1 FW version 1.40
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2012, 09:31:46 AM »

What Firmware version is currently loaded?
Try using a different browser like Opera or FF.

Follow the FW Update sticky process?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

DavePDX

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: HW Version A1 FW version 1.40
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2012, 01:03:23 PM »

I just attempted to install the v1.40 FW for my DAP-1522 A1 using Firefox, Chrome, and Internet Explorer. All 3 returned a "The chosen file is not an image file." message.

I downloaded the file twice more with the same error returned each time.

I noticed that prior firmware releases have been 3 megabytes in size (the binary file itself). This firmware (v. 1.40) binary file is 11 megabytes in size. I suspect there has been an error as to which file has been placed for user download.

Edited to add "as to"
« Last Edit: January 06, 2012, 01:07:58 PM by DavePDX »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: HW Version A1 FW version 1.40
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2012, 01:10:32 PM »

I would contact D-Link directly about this issue. I'll send my contact a message.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

DavePDX

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: HW Version A1 FW version 1.40
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2012, 01:24:28 PM »

Thanks. I went through the web form and essentially summarized the issue and my suspicion (wrong file placed for download).
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: HW Version A1 FW version 1.40
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2012, 02:16:05 PM »

For now if you need to upgrade FW, use the prior version to v1.40. Don't use v1.40...yet. I see that file is way bigger then before. D-Link has been made aware of this.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

DavePDX

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: HW Version A1 FW version 1.40
« Reply #7 on: January 11, 2012, 08:34:28 AM »

Two days ago (on Jan. 9) I got a reply from D-Link's technical service and there was a direct link supplied to an ftp site with the valid update file. I just had time to install the vers. 1.4 file from the ftp site and the update occurred properly.

Just now I checked to see if the file linked to in the "Support" section of the website links to the proper file and it does. The file is 3.1 MBytes in size.

I'm happy with the result.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: HW Version A1 FW version 1.40
« Reply #8 on: January 11, 2012, 09:47:54 AM »

It was corrected yesterday.  ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

rvrichardson

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: HW Version A1 FW version 1.40
« Reply #9 on: January 11, 2012, 03:51:19 PM »

OK, so loaded the new FW, but cant seem to set the "Daylight Saving Time" start and end week set. If I change it from anything but the default then save, I get a "Invalid Daylight Settings" error.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: HW Version A1 FW version 1.40
« Reply #10 on: January 11, 2012, 11:05:36 PM »

What happens if you enable NTP server for time.nist.gov?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

rvrichardson

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: HW Version A1 FW version 1.40
« Reply #11 on: January 12, 2012, 03:15:56 AM »

It matters not what I put in the timeserver, whenever the DST start and END dates are changed from the default (which by the way are incorrect for the USA in anycase) I get an invalid message from the DAP-1522
Logged

rvrichardson

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: HW Version A1 FW version 1.40
« Reply #12 on: January 12, 2012, 03:35:54 AM »

Just a follow up, on Eastern Time Zone, the DST Start month is defaulted to January (which of course is incorrect), this cannot be changed to March, with the current Firmware (1.40)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: HW Version A1 FW version 1.40
« Reply #13 on: January 13, 2012, 06:56:39 AM »

If you use the NTP Time server and uncheck DST box if you hat that setting, the NTP will automatically update the time for you, even when the time changes. Just make sure your time zone is set.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

rvrichardson

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: HW Version A1 FW version 1.40
« Reply #14 on: January 17, 2012, 03:29:06 PM »

Response from DLink Support about DST Setting on V1.40

"I have tried the setup here and I was able to replicate the issue that you report with the firmware version 1.40. I have reported this to our Product management team. Once I hear back from them I will provide you with an update."
Logged
Pages: [1] 2