• December 12, 2019, 12:53:13 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Windows explorer  (Read 3375 times)

elsiebuck

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Windows explorer
« on: January 05, 2012, 09:34:01 AM »

I don't know what I've done, but now I cannot see the DNS323 or access it - EXCEPT - I can ftp and access it's webpage to configure it. Can someone give me some hints or things I might have done so I can undo it?

I saw a post somewhere, he did a reset and everything went back to normal. As a last resort, I will try that.

On this DNS323 I have many backups as well as videos and music. I am using Twonky to stream to a media player. This all works well. Except of course, now I have to ftp to get to them... ???

Any Help Here?
Logged

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1455
Re: Windows explorer
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2012, 11:22:36 AM »

Which version of windows?
Logged

elsiebuck

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Windows explorer
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2012, 07:17:04 PM »

Windows 7
Logged

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1455
Re: Windows explorer
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2012, 06:31:31 AM »

I thought it might be because of the number of posts by people with the same or very similar problems.

I don't use windows - in fact we don't have it on any of our computers - so I can't help directly.

The first thing you should do is check the network settings on your computer to see if anything has changed.  You should also do a search of the forum which should give you possible answers.  Failing that, I'm sure some windows expert will have the answer.
Logged

elsiebuck

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Windows explorer
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2012, 07:28:00 PM »

I have searched, I guess I need to just browse a bit more and perhaps I might run across the answers I seek. Thank you for your interest.
Logged

elsiebuck

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Windows explorer
« Reply #5 on: January 07, 2012, 06:59:06 AM »

Well, I did the factory reset and everything worked fine for a couple of minutes.

Except as I thought I was saving settings before and after the factory reset both file lenghts were zero.

And after a couple of minutes, again I can not access the DNS323 server via windows explorer.

The twonky media players runs fine, and ftp works fine. So am I to assume the twonky media player/streamer is the cause of loss connection?
Logged

Steve Pitts

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
  • A twelfth man at silly mid on
Re: Windows explorer
« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2012, 02:54:32 AM »

I guess I need to just browse a bit more and perhaps I might run across the answers I seek
Can be difficult to see the wood for the trees here, can't it :) Try the following thread and see if that helps clarify things a little:

Windows 7 and DNS-323 connection issues
Logged
Cheers, Steve

Running a DNS-323 Rev. C1 with FW 1.10b5, fun_plug 0.5 and 1 Western Digital WD20EARS-00MVWB0, 4K aligned by 1.10FW, in Standard mode as a single volume

elsiebuck

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Windows explorer
« Reply #7 on: January 08, 2012, 05:52:35 AM »

I had already found that link and done all of that.

No, the problem I am having is not a d-link problem. I may have/have not mentioned, I am running Twonky to stream to my tv network. I've had the d-link for about a year as a fileserver. I could access it via z:\ from 5 different computers. I recently upgraded to a ASKA RFDM-3 (a 3 input rf modulator). This allowed me to deliver antenna IN (normal channels), a DVR (channel 14), security cameras (channel 18), and a sony media player (channel 16) to EVERY TV in my house.

The problem is Twonky. If I chmod 666 starttwonky.sh so that is does NOT startup after re-boot, I can access the nas all day long. When I go back and chmod 777 starttwonky.sh and re-boot, I have a quick couple of minutes before none of the computers can access the nas again.

I am on THEIR forum seeking answers since this is not a d-link problem.

I do respectfully thank you and ivan for your help in this.
Logged