• September 21, 2019, 10:13:16 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2] 3

Author Topic: Wireless laptops loose network connection  (Read 19882 times)

exit370

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Wireless laptops loose network connection
« Reply #15 on: July 16, 2011, 07:39:23 AM »

Sorry for the lack of response, I thought the thread was deleted and had to do a search. Just looked and Advanced DNS Service is not enabled.
It seems that if Advanced DNS Service is enabled, I cannot enter info into the Primary and Secondary IP windows. They become greyed out. If I enter the info while the DNS Service is unchecked, it becomes greyed out after checking and looses the info. What should I do?
Thanks FurryNutz.
« Last Edit: July 16, 2011, 07:55:10 AM by exit370 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Wireless laptops loose network connection
« Reply #16 on: July 17, 2011, 10:26:00 AM »

Interested in having someone check out your settings via teamviewer.com?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

exit370

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Wireless laptops loose network connection
« Reply #17 on: July 17, 2011, 07:24:53 PM »

Nah, I'll pass. Thanks anyway.
Logged

bearly

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Wireless laptops loose network connection
« Reply #18 on: July 20, 2011, 12:26:06 PM »

hoping you can help me out also Furry, I also have a Dlink 615 and have my whole house on Wireless, which includes
2- xboxes
4- computers
1- Wii
1- DSi
1- 3DS
1- printer
1- smart phone
1- Kindle
not all on at the same time but the thing I am wanting to do is secure it (which I was useing MAC filtering but the router will not reconize the Kindle and smart phones MAC so I am currently unscure) which is not to big a deal I live in a house on a big lot so if someone wants my net they will have to be in my driveway. but the second and most important is the lag issues. if the 2 Xboxes and 2 computers  are running at the same time lag happens. I was getting kicked off Facebook games a few days ago.  so this is what I want and need help with. I want to either prioritize my net or limit bandwith. I am not sure if the router can handle all I am pushing so if not I want my computer and the wifes to get priority then what ever from there. under DHCP Reservations List I have those 2 computers checked and that is all.
Under advanced>> Port Forwarding, I had the 2 xboxes selected but unchecked them to see if it would help. I just downloaded TeamViewer so let me know if you want to check it out.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Wireless laptops loose network connection
« Reply #19 on: July 20, 2011, 12:29:52 PM »

Check out the gaming and gamefuel stickies in the DGL-4500 forum. Good information there.
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?board=144.0
Let us know if you need more help.
I don't recommend using Mac Filters for gaming. Keep the game console out of this rule. No need for filtering this.
« Last Edit: July 20, 2011, 12:36:56 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

bearly

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Wireless laptops loose network connection
« Reply #20 on: July 20, 2011, 01:50:05 PM »

good info but my router does not have gamefuel
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Wireless laptops loose network connection
« Reply #21 on: July 20, 2011, 01:54:04 PM »

I know it doesn't have game fuel however you can use the settings and such for setting up some router options. It works pretty good.
Must say though, you have some gaming devices that would probably do much better if you had a different router that has better QoS options or Gamefule.
The 615 is a good router, general internet and streaming. I would better server you if you had a better router for your gaming needs.

If you still need, we can teamviewer in and see if we can set you up.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

bearly

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Wireless laptops loose network connection
« Reply #22 on: July 20, 2011, 01:59:50 PM »

yeah the router has been good up until resent, when the 2nd xbox got introduced. is there a way to set the priorty to the computers?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Wireless laptops loose network connection
« Reply #23 on: July 20, 2011, 02:04:25 PM »

What Hardware version is this 615? Should be a label with a letter designating version.

Most of these low end routers don't have much in QoS or prioritization. Just mainly online internet.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

bearly

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Wireless laptops loose network connection
« Reply #24 on: July 20, 2011, 02:07:31 PM »

HW ver: C1
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Wireless laptops loose network connection
« Reply #25 on: July 20, 2011, 02:09:39 PM »

Ok, I see now. Looking at an emulator on Dlinks web site for this router.
Ya, these routers are pretty basic for home use.
Start adding gaming and such and you start to run into problems.
How long have you had this router?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

bearly

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Wireless laptops loose network connection
« Reply #26 on: July 20, 2011, 02:16:11 PM »

about 2 years. I was thinking about getting a new one, but wanted to make sure that the router was the problem. I also have never been able to get the Access Control to work. would be nice to enable times when the game systems could have net.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Wireless laptops loose network connection
« Reply #27 on: July 20, 2011, 02:24:26 PM »

Understand that...
Well I know that to get Filters to work, you need to do the following:
1. Setup reserved IP addresses for each device under Setup/Networking.
2. Setup a schedule time frame that you want to use.
3. Then set up network access control filters using the IP addresses and the schedule that you created.

In that order.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

bearly

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Wireless laptops loose network connection
« Reply #28 on: July 20, 2011, 02:31:49 PM »

so bottom line is to run everything I have a new router is probably a good idea. any suggestions Dlink or others
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Wireless laptops loose network connection
« Reply #29 on: July 20, 2011, 02:37:58 PM »

You care about IPv6 or know about it or does your ISP support it?

I would take a look at the DIR-825. I just got this and using it now. Great router.
Has both simultainious 2.4 and 5Ghz radios for WiFi.
Has QOS engine and prioritizes devices.

I'm going to be getting this soon I think to test out: DIR-657
http://amplifi.dlink.com/products/DIR-657

If your not really concerned about IPv6 or 5Ghz WiFi. It ahs both 2.4 and 5Ghz WiFi but you and only use one or the other. I love my DGL-4500. Been the best router for gaming and general internet man. Been told the DIR-657 is somewhat the follow on to it. Will see.

Not sure what you can afford. There are places online to find good deals and such. Let me know what you think. I kinda have a feel of your needs. These routers would be good for you.
« Last Edit: July 20, 2011, 02:39:36 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: 1 [2] 3