• November 13, 2019, 08:34:20 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: just got a 4100  (Read 14275 times)

jroll13

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: just got a 4100
« Reply #15 on: January 27, 2011, 06:37:41 AM »

I was wondering the static ip I use for the xboxes should those be made up within the router and reserved then set on the xboxes?

 The way I've done it now is just made up 2 on the xboxes that were in range and plugged them in for the gamefuel settings.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47904
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: just got a 4100
« Reply #16 on: January 27, 2011, 07:35:55 AM »

Set up the static IP addresses on the router. Set the networking options on the xboxes to automatic. Don't set manual on them. They will get the IP addresses from the router automatically when turned on. Set up everything on the router. Leave the xboxes automatic.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

jroll13

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: just got a 4100
« Reply #17 on: January 27, 2011, 07:43:29 AM »

Ok the guide I don't think goes over how to do that so how do I?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47904
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: just got a 4100
« Reply #18 on: January 27, 2011, 07:59:56 AM »

First, make sure you set the xbox networking to automatic. Then shut them off.

Then open the 4100's web page and got to Basic/Network Settings.
Look at the last section called Number of DCHP Clients. You might see a list of IP addresses for devices you have connected to the router. Select Revoke next to each entry. Find the one that matches your PC. Don't revoke it. If you not the entries for the xboxes, just revoke those. Refresh the page.

After all is cleared out. Turn on one xbox only. Give it a minute. Refresh the routers web page. You should see a new entry listed. This time select the Reserve option to the right for this entry. This will auto fill in the information in the Add DHCP Reservation section. At this time you can give it a different IP address if you wish or keep the current one. Give a name for Computer Name. Something like Xbox1 or LivingRoomXbox, can be anything. Select the SAVE button. This 1st xbox now has a reserved IP address. Simple huh. Do the same for the next xbox.

Remember the IP addresses for each xbox and then you can go back in and Add or Edit the Gamefuel rules so that they are entered in correctly there. If you already have rules set up, just select the first rule and select the Edit option to change the Source IP address information for each xbox. Make sure the names are entered in correctly for each box so you can easily ID each one.

Follow the Sticky from this point on if you need to. I would make sure that Dynamic Fragmentation is off and Firewall settings are set to Endpoint Independent for both TCP and UDP.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

jroll13

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: just got a 4100
« Reply #19 on: January 27, 2011, 04:57:05 PM »

ok I did that but now netflix wont stream the videos on either xbox
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47904
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: just got a 4100
« Reply #20 on: January 28, 2011, 08:08:29 AM »

Is uPnP enabled under Tools/Adavanced Networking?
Also is Multicast Streams enabled or disabled? I think I have this enabled on my 4500, however not sure at the moment as I haven't looking at this setting in a while.

Just seems like there is a minor set up issue here and just need to track the issue down. I wish I had a way of reviewing your configuration file. I've been able to help people on the 4500. I don't have a 4100 or we'd have you up and running by now. Maybe we can chat live and see if we can get this cleared up. I can at least use the DLink emulators to see what your router is like.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

jroll13

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: just got a 4100
« Reply #21 on: January 28, 2011, 08:44:05 AM »

I know uPNP is enabled multicast not sure. Xbox live gamertag mk12 mod 1.
Logged

jroll13

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: just got a 4100
« Reply #22 on: January 28, 2011, 08:47:18 AM »

I know DNS RIP isn't enabled not sure about DNS relay
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47904
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: just got a 4100
« Reply #23 on: January 28, 2011, 08:54:34 AM »

DNS relay should be enabled. If this isn't enabled, this could be an issue.

Sent you friend request.

Might have to chat over Yahoo or maybe on phone...Check out DNS relay. Think were close to what ever the settings are. Just need to get them dialed in.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

jroll13

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: just got a 4100
« Reply #24 on: January 28, 2011, 09:06:50 AM »

Ill be on sometime over four only other option is phone
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47904
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: just got a 4100
« Reply #25 on: January 28, 2011, 09:39:27 AM »

Ok I get home around 5pm mountain time. I'll look for you on XBL and go from there.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

jroll13

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: just got a 4100
« Reply #26 on: January 31, 2011, 07:50:41 AM »

Ok so found out my 4100 had a lot of errors on the lan side and it was causing all the problems. Bought a new router to test everything and all is working fine now.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47904
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: just got a 4100
« Reply #27 on: January 31, 2011, 08:31:17 AM »

Time to send the 4100 back. Sorry it didn't work out.  :-\
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

HisSvt2

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: just got a 4100
« Reply #28 on: January 31, 2011, 04:48:03 PM »

this setting fixes all gaming issues with xbox live

NAT Endpoint Filtering
UDP Endpoint Filtering :  Endpoint Independent  Address Restricted  Port And Address Restricted 
TCP Endpoint Filtering :  Endpoint Independent  Address Restricted  Port And Address Restricted 

SET both to endpoint independent and reboot and bam no more live issues!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47904
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: just got a 4100
« Reply #29 on: February 01, 2011, 07:43:43 AM »

Good to hear that you found the issue with yours. We had tried that with JRolls but didn't seem to fix the issue. His was connecting and getting good signal however the Voice was lagging out and kept cutting in and out while playing. Was the only thing. He's bought a different router and thats working for now. I'm hoping he might get into a 4500  ;D
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: 1 [2]