• October 22, 2014, 06:49:16 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Home network with two routers  (Read 12388 times)

unawfu

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Home network with two routers
« on: December 26, 2009, 01:42:16 PM »

I have a home network that I need to have two routers:
internet line into a linksys router downstairs (ports: network printer, laptop, vonage box, DIR-625 router). On the DIR-625 router upstair, I have two desktops and one laptop connected.

I would like to be able to share files between the computers upstairs and the one downstairs but, it appears that there are two separate networks. I think I should configure the d-link router as a bridge or client and make the linksys primary but, I don't know how to do this.

Can anyone help?

Thanks.
Logged

keithdphan

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Home network with two routers
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2010, 07:10:25 AM »

set your linksys to assign static ip to the dlink.  then go into the dlink router setup/network settings and uncheck "enable dhcp server".  then on the dlink router unplug the cable to the internet port and plug it into an available lan port.  your linksys will now do all the dhcp duties and the dlink will be just access point.
Logged

unawfu

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Home network with two routers
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2010, 02:02:12 PM »

thanks.  to clarify, what exactly should I do on the Linksys router? how do I "assign a static IP" to the d-link router?

Any help is appreciated.
Logged

drscott

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Home network with two routers
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2010, 11:02:17 PM »

thanks.  to clarify, what exactly should I do on the Linksys router? how do I "assign a static IP" to the d-link router?

Any help is appreciated.

What type of router you are using?

You need to access the router web-based user interface, access http://192.168.1.1
 
On the setup page, you will see the router IP: 192.168.1.1, (this is the default), then you can change the IP address of the router then save settings. Please take note after saving the changes on the router, you need to re-access the page using the new IP address.

Thanks
 DrScott

Logged

yoni

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Home network with two routers
« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2010, 04:27:54 AM »

Hello, sorry to jump in , but i have almost the same case.

I have two routers dlink, a DIR-625 and a DI-634M. One is in my home the second in an external room. I have a cable already in place between the two place. I need to hook them so the main router (DIR-625 in the external room now) connect to the internet and share the access with the DI-634M in the house used as an access point.

1/ The DIR-625 is connected to the modem and set as pppeo connection and dhcp server. Is it ok or should i consider using the DI-634M as main ?

2/ How to connect them together (WAN or LAN?) and how should i set them to work together ?

Thanks in advance
Bernard
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28173
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: Home network with two routers
« Reply #5 on: August 31, 2012, 01:29:55 PM »

Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting