• September 17, 2019, 05:13:09 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Problem with login via LAN  (Read 11441 times)

sanssan

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Problem with login via LAN
« on: November 05, 2009, 01:05:42 AM »

Hi All

Im having a problems when I try to connect to my NAS via LAN. when I put the address \\192.168.1.104 the popup window appears with User name and Password. But User name field is off. There is only a field for Password. I cannot open the root directory.

If anyone has the similar problem please make a comment.

thanx a lot
Logged

privatebeavis

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Problem with login via LAN
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2009, 03:23:21 AM »

I just got mine delivered today. I set it all up and initially I had the same problem as you but it happened when I browsed to the device in windows explorer via Network->dlink->Volume-1 ... the name field was disabled.
When I run the address "\\192.168.1.32\" the user name field was enabled and it worked ok.

The only thing I did on the DLink was I set up a new user account & password and created network access entry for that user.
(I'm on Vista, not sure if that makes a difference)
Logged

gunrunnerjohn

  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2717
Re: Problem with login via LAN
« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2009, 07:32:37 AM »

What version of Windows?  You may run into problems with Home versions of Windows.
Logged
Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
Remember: Data you don't have two copies of is data you don't care about!
PS: RAID of any level is NOT a second copy.

sanssan

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Problem with login via LAN
« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2009, 12:44:35 AM »

I tried on XP and 2003 server. Everywhere the same problem. There is no field for User name. Only field for password. Even if you write \\(IP)  or \\NAS.
Logged

gunrunnerjohn

  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2717
Re: Problem with login via LAN
« Reply #4 on: November 06, 2009, 05:22:36 AM »

Well, that's certainly not normal!  I have no idea what's going on there, I'd reset the DNS-323 to factory defaults and see if you can change the behavior.  What firmware is this running?
Logged
Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
Remember: Data you don't have two copies of is data you don't care about!
PS: RAID of any level is NOT a second copy.

ECF

  • Poweruser
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: Problem with login via LAN
« Reply #5 on: November 06, 2009, 09:39:38 AM »

Are you able to access the config?
Logged
Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream

ao_tenshi

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Problem with login via LAN
« Reply #6 on: November 06, 2009, 10:31:42 AM »

I tried on XP and 2003 server. Everywhere the same problem. There is no field for User name. Only field for password. Even if you write \\(IP)  or \\NAS.

I have the EXACT same problem.  Im running WinXP Pro (NOT Home) w/ Firmware 1.07.  Anyone know if this is a Windows issue or DNS-323 defect?
Logged

gunrunnerjohn

  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2717
Re: Problem with login via LAN
« Reply #7 on: November 06, 2009, 10:37:18 AM »

Well, I have no problem logging into my DNS-323 or DNS-321 from a variety of Windows platforms, including XP-Pro, Vista-Ultimate, Vista-Home, and Windows 7 Ultimate.
Logged
Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
Remember: Data you don't have two copies of is data you don't care about!
PS: RAID of any level is NOT a second copy.

sanssan

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Problem with login via LAN
« Reply #8 on: November 07, 2009, 01:39:16 AM »

I have the EXACT same problem.  Im running WinXP Pro (NOT Home) w/ Firmware 1.07.  Anyone know if this is a Windows issue or DNS-323 defect?

Same with me. Firmware 1.07 and problem. I tried to reset but nothing changed.
Logged

gunrunnerjohn

  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2717
Re: Problem with login via LAN
« Reply #9 on: November 07, 2009, 09:58:10 AM »

I have to believe this is a Windows networking setting, hard to believe the DNS-323 would act differently for different people with the same firmware.  I presume you've tried resetting to factory defaults and reconfiguring the NAS?
Logged
Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
Remember: Data you don't have two copies of is data you don't care about!
PS: RAID of any level is NOT a second copy.

ECF

  • Poweruser
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: Problem with login via LAN
« Reply #10 on: November 09, 2009, 11:11:05 AM »

Are you entering http://192.168.1.104 in your web browser?
Logged
Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream

jdbos

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Problem with login via LAN
« Reply #11 on: November 09, 2009, 07:41:05 PM »

I wonder whether this isn't a problem with your browser, rather than the DNS-323.

1) Are you using a reasonably standards-compliant browser? (IE, Firefox, ...)
2) Have you set restrictive policies for cookies, popups or scripts?
3) Do you have any plugins that might be interfering with display of a web page? With Firefox, you can start the browser in "safe mode," with all plugins disabled. If you are using FF, you might want to try that. (Not sure whether IE has a similar feature.)
4) Browser password cache?
Logged

sanssan

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Problem with login via LAN
« Reply #12 on: November 10, 2009, 12:12:23 AM »

I have to believe this is a Windows networking setting, hard to believe the DNS-323 would act differently for different people with the same firmware.  I presume you've tried resetting to factory defaults and reconfiguring the NAS?

Yes I did.
Logged

sanssan

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Problem with login via LAN
« Reply #13 on: November 10, 2009, 12:14:22 AM »

Are you entering http://192.168.1.104 in your web browser?
Of course NO. :) \\192.168.1.104 in windows explorer.!!!
Logged

sanssan

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Problem with login via LAN
« Reply #14 on: November 10, 2009, 12:18:00 AM »

I wonder whether this isn't a problem with your browser, rather than the DNS-323.

1) Are you using a reasonably standards-compliant browser? (IE, Firefox, ...)
2) Have you set restrictive policies for cookies, popups or scripts?
3) Do you have any plugins that might be interfering with display of a web page? With Firefox, you can start the browser in "safe mode," with all plugins disabled. If you are using FF, you might want to try that. (Not sure whether IE has a similar feature.)
4) Browser password cache?

Guys. I can enter in configuration mode via Internet Explorer. I have problems when I try to log in the NAS via LAN. (windows explorer)
Logged
Pages: [1] 2