+  D-Link Forums
|-+  D-Link Xtreme N (Platinum Products)» DIR-655 » DNS relay
Username:
Password:
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: DNS relay  (Read 19244 times)
Salamander
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 10


« on: November 03, 2009, 04:40:57 PM »

I have the DIR-655.  How do you turn the DNS relay off?
Logged
brink668
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 8


« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2009, 05:18:05 PM »

Go into router setup: default is: 192.168.0.1
On the top menu Click on Setup"
Then on the left side menu click on "Network Settings"

Under Router Settings you should see:

Router IP Address:
Subnet Mask:
Device Name:
Local Domain Name:
Enable DNS Relay: Uncheck this box, click save settings back on top of the page.  Then if it asks you to reboot the router click Reboot Now.
Logged
Salamander
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 10


« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2009, 05:23:04 PM »

Thanks.  If I do this and make no other changes, will that mess up the wireless connection from my laptop?
Logged
brink668
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 8


« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2009, 06:16:20 PM »

Not sure... here the description for it:

DNS Relay
    When DNS Relay is enabled, the router plays the role of a DNS server. DNS requests sent to the router are forwarded to the ISP's DNS server. This provides a constant DNS address that LAN computers can use, even when the router obtains a different DNS server address from the ISP upon re-establishing the WAN connection. You should disable DNS relay if you implement a LAN-side DNS server as a virtual server.
Logged
MitchSchaft
Level 2 Member
**
Posts: 59



« Reply #4 on: November 04, 2009, 09:30:52 AM »

No, it'll work fine. Atleast it does on my laptop and Wii.
Logged
Sammydad1
Level 5 Member
*****
Posts: 721



« Reply #5 on: November 04, 2009, 10:26:13 AM »

if you have website filters in use, you need to have it enabled, othwise it doesn't see the filters; at least fw 1.21 does this.
Logged

DIR-655 A2, FW: 1.35NA
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Theme by webtechnica.com.