• October 23, 2014, 12:53:27 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: NTP incompatibility  (Read 2061 times)

SixFive7

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
NTP incompatibility
« on: October 05, 2009, 11:27:34 AM »

Hi There,

Just wanted to let you know that when you set the ntp server to pool.ntp.org the router ends up in a reboot loop. NTP seems to work just fine with other ntp servers. Maybe it is because pool.ntp.org returns multiple servers? I don't know.
My DIR-655 works fine on 1.32NA and I can reproduce the bug any time. Any suggestions?

Thanks already,
SixFive7
« Last Edit: October 05, 2009, 11:29:07 AM by SixFive7 »
Logged

kthaddock

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 264
Re: NTP incompatibility
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2009, 11:32:33 AM »

I use  SE.POOL.NTP.ORG works as a clock !!!    ;D
Logged
ASUS RT-N16  FW: DD-WRT v24 17140-vpn M NEWD-2 K2.6 -kong.
DIR-655 H/W: A3 FW: 1.31EUB02 This FW is working !
Never argue with a burk. They drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience
Di-624+ FW: 2.10

SixFive7

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: NTP incompatibility
« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2009, 11:40:37 AM »

Wow, what a "timely" reaction..
However I dont live in Sweden and more important: The router shouldn't reboot over and over because of an ntp server.

Your right though,
SE.POOL.NTP.ORG does work :)
Logged

EddieZ

  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2500
Re: NTP incompatibility
« Reply #3 on: October 05, 2009, 12:01:39 PM »

Do a search in the 655 forum. You will find that this subject has been discussed extensively.
Logged
DIR-655 H/W: A2 FW: 1.33

kthaddock

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 264
Re: NTP incompatibility
« Reply #4 on: October 05, 2009, 01:17:30 PM »

Wow, what a "timely" reaction..
However I dont live in Sweden and more important: The router shouldn't reboot over and over because of an ntp server.

Your right though,
SE.POOL.NTP.ORG does work :)

Okey but if you don't want to use swedish servers you can take a look here:
http://support.ntp.org/bin/view/Servers/NTPPoolServers

I'm watching this  ;D
Logged
ASUS RT-N16  FW: DD-WRT v24 17140-vpn M NEWD-2 K2.6 -kong.
DIR-655 H/W: A3 FW: 1.31EUB02 This FW is working !
Never argue with a burk. They drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience
Di-624+ FW: 2.10

EddieZ

  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2500
Re: NTP incompatibility
« Reply #5 on: October 05, 2009, 01:58:49 PM »

The nice thing of NTP is that you can use any server....and they will give you exactly the same time  ;)
Logged
DIR-655 H/W: A2 FW: 1.33