+  D-Link Forums
|-+  D-Link Xtreme N (Platinum Products)» DAP-1522» greyed out options
Username:
Password:
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: greyed out options  (Read 3300 times)
josh
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 11


« on: September 06, 2009, 04:10:28 AM »

In setup -> wireless, why are the options

"802.11 band",
"802.11 mode",
"enable auto channel scan",
"wireless channel",
"transmission rate",
"visibility status"

greyed out ? (i.e. not accessible)
Logged
lizzi555
Level 5 Member
*****
Posts: 614


« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2009, 04:23:52 AM »

You are using bridge mode ?
In bridge mode the DAP acts as a client and these options are set by the AP the DAP connects to.
You only can choose the network you want to connect to.
Logged
josh
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 11


« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2009, 04:39:44 AM »

yes bridge mode

my dir-825 has both 2.4 and 5 GHz radios on, but i want to force my dap-1522 bridge to use 5 Ghz
Logged
lizzi555
Level 5 Member
*****
Posts: 614


« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2009, 05:22:32 AM »

Just open the Setup/Wireless menu and click on Site Survey.
It will show you both of your SSIDs.
Check the 5 GHz SSID and click connect.
Enter your wireless password and save the settings.

Now the DAP will connect to your 5GHz network each time.

Check that there is no MAC filter in the DIR which prevents connection.
Logged
josh
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 11


« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2009, 05:36:56 AM »

SSIDs are not broadcasted
Logged
lizzi555
Level 5 Member
*****
Posts: 614


« Reply #5 on: September 06, 2009, 06:22:46 AM »

Then just enter the SSID manually. Add your encryption and key and save the settings.

I didn't try up to now whether the DAP works with a host AP using hidden SSID.

As there is no security win if you hide your SSID consider broadcasting it.
Only real security is your encryption and this should be WPA2-PSK only (AES), also because this is supported by the hardware and causes almost no slowdown.
Logged
josh
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 11


« Reply #6 on: September 06, 2009, 06:59:01 AM »

hidden SSID is supported since firmware 1.20

if you enter SSID manually, it falls back to 2.4 if both 2.4 and 5 radios are active on gateway
Logged
lizzi555
Level 5 Member
*****
Posts: 614


« Reply #7 on: September 06, 2009, 07:13:34 AM »

Even if both SSIDs are different ?

Edit:

Another way could be to broadcast 5 GHz SSID, connect via site survey and save settings and then hide SSID again.
I can't try out because I'm not at home. No access to the DAP  Sad
« Last Edit: September 06, 2009, 07:59:14 AM by lizzi555 » Logged
josh
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 11


« Reply #8 on: September 11, 2009, 12:43:24 AM »

good idea, thanks
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Theme by webtechnica.com.