• July 04, 2020, 05:51:25 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: COVR 2202 extending Ethernet from B?  (Read 512 times)

Red-handed

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
COVR 2202 extending Ethernet from B?
« on: May 12, 2020, 09:25:06 AM »

Iím considering a COVR 2202 setup for the old brick home weíre moving into. Iíd like set up an Ethernet backhaul between the units for maximum speed and coverage.


With two Ethernet ports on both units, I wonder if you could connect the second Ethernet port on the B unit directly to a device? As I understand it, the recommended Ethernet chain is Modem -> COVR unit A port 1 -> unit A port 2 -> unmanaged switch -> unit B port 1. Can you connect a device to unit B port 2?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48926
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: COVR 2202 extending Ethernet from B?
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2020, 09:29:07 AM »

I think that will work. I only have 1 B point so I don't know for sure. Please let us know if daisy chaining that way works or not.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48926
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: COVR 2202 extending Ethernet from B?
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2020, 07:56:17 AM »

Any updates on this?  ???

Iím considering a COVR 2202 setup for the old brick home weíre moving into. Iíd like set up an Ethernet backhaul between the units for maximum speed and coverage.


With two Ethernet ports on both units, I wonder if you could connect the second Ethernet port on the B unit directly to a device? As I understand it, the recommended Ethernet chain is Modem -> COVR unit A port 1 -> unit A port 2 -> unmanaged switch -> unit B port 1. Can you connect a device to unit B port 2?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

plabrevo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: COVR 2202 extending Ethernet from B?
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2020, 01:47:49 AM »

On my slave B  unit, the first port is connect to the un-managed switch, and the second port is connected to a PowerLine device DHP-P601AV that extends my home network further down, so yes it works for me.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48926
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: COVR 2202 extending Ethernet from B?
« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2020, 06:32:11 AM »

Great. Hopefully it works as well for the OP.  ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Red-handed

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: COVR 2202 extending Ethernet from B?
« Reply #5 on: May 28, 2020, 05:27:33 PM »

After finally tracking down the power adapter for my switch, I wired units A and B together. Both have their white lights on, but Iím not sure that B is connecting via Ethernet. I connected an AppleTV 3 to the second port of B an restarted A. Now the AppleTV is connected to the network. It wasnít on WiFi, so itís definitely using Ethernet. When I check at covr.local, it shows that the AppleTV is connected on 5G. Not sure if that means B is connected only wirelessly. Or if thatís its way of showing itís connected to B. But it is connected.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48926
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: COVR 2202 extending Ethernet from B?
« Reply #6 on: May 29, 2020, 11:17:10 AM »

Ok. Sounds like it's working.

Only thing you might try is to turn down the power on the A point to see if this changes anything. ALso look at your switches activity LEDs when your streaming something connected at the B point. One indication if the switch has this, would be that the activity LED on the switch should be blinking a lot while streaming. This would indicate data flow from the B point to the A point.

This would be a good feature to have that I wish D-Link would implement, having the B point reflect a wired connection when it's Ethernet connected.  ::)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!