• September 26, 2020, 02:49:54 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: 5Ghz channels missing  (Read 1084 times)

mrwulf

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
5Ghz channels missing
« on: April 20, 2020, 11:44:44 AM »

Hi all,

A D-Link DIR-882 user here on the other side of the pond in the UK.

I am running V1.20 EU firmware and when I select my 5Ghz band, there's a huge gap between CH 52 and CH149 missing.

Is there a reason for this?

Thanks
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49210
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 5Ghz channels missing
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2020, 03:57:50 PM »

Some other countries don't support DFS channels. So these are not available for some regions and may be not not listed in the FW.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wireless_channels
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

mrwulf

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: 5Ghz channels missing
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2020, 11:45:32 PM »

Some other countries don't support DFS channels. So these are not available for some regions and may be not not listed in the FW.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wireless_channels

I have tried EU and US firmware, even the beta.

There's no option for DFS on either firmware.
Logged

mrwulf

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: 5Ghz channels missing
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2020, 02:33:43 AM »

In the UK we channels 36-64 (Band A) and Channels 100-140 (Band B) are unlicensed.

I'm not getting above channel 48 on Band A and none of Band B on the UK firmware.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49210
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 5Ghz channels missing
« Reply #4 on: April 21, 2020, 05:46:40 AM »

Something to contact your regional D-Link support office about and ask...
Link> Tech Support Contact Information
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2543
Re: 5Ghz channels missing
« Reply #5 on: April 21, 2020, 06:44:40 AM »

What is your channel width selected at? If you change to 20MHz and reboot, do the channels come back?

Also are you talking about the channel drop-down not displaying the channels or are you scanning wifi signals?
Logged

mrwulf

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: 5Ghz channels missing
« Reply #6 on: April 24, 2020, 12:44:13 AM »

Ok, a bit more information.

I have tried EU and US firmware. Both do not display the missing channels in the drop down box.

Channel width has been changed down to 20/40mhz, it makes no difference.

Do the US routers have the DFS option? I've got a feeling it is stuck on US firmware some how.

Every firmware upgrade I have done has been by the D-Link Recovery method.

I have opened a support ticket with D-Link UK.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49210
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 5Ghz channels missing
« Reply #7 on: April 24, 2020, 09:34:15 AM »

Yes the 882 has a DFS enable button on mine.
I believe some parts of EU don't support DFS channels thus will not be seen or supported in those regions.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

mrwulf

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: 5Ghz channels missing
« Reply #8 on: April 29, 2020, 12:37:47 PM »

I have tried going down to V1.04 and then doing the built in firmware upgrade. Same thing.

« Last Edit: April 29, 2020, 01:24:51 PM by mrwulf »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49210
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 5Ghz channels missing
« Reply #9 on: April 29, 2020, 02:56:38 PM »

I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this.
Link> Tech Support Contact Information
We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Let us know how it goes please.

I have tried going down to V1.04 and then doing the built in firmware upgrade. Same thing.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

mrwulf

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: 5Ghz channels missing
« Reply #10 on: May 08, 2020, 12:41:11 PM »

Ok, I am pretty sure this is related to DD-WRT.

I have in the past had DD-WRT running on the router and returned to stock without issue. It appears something is amiss this time though.

I do my firmware flashes via the D-Link Recovery portal at all times. I rolled back to DIR882A1_FW104B02_Middle_FW_Unencrypt from a fresh install of DD-WRT earlier and the channels returned. I then did the automatic update back up to v1.2 and the channels disappeared again.

I have since tried DIR882A1_FW104B02_Middle_FW_Unencrypt and 1.2 again from a factory reset and the channels are missing again. I have noticed the 2.4 and 5Ghz lights on the router are flickering, not a feature of stock D-Link firmware.

Any tips on what I can do next?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49210
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 5Ghz channels missing
« Reply #11 on: May 08, 2020, 02:22:46 PM »

What happens if you update to v1.30, factory retest and check again?

Just checked mine, after disabling SC and DFS, channels 149 thru 165 are available. v1.30
« Last Edit: May 08, 2020, 02:31:27 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

mrwulf

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: 5Ghz channels missing
« Reply #12 on: May 11, 2020, 02:22:22 AM »

I went from a really old version of DD-WRT to 1.3 out of sheer curiosity and still no sign of Channel 100. The gap from 48 to 143 still exists.

Running out of ideas.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49210
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 5Ghz channels missing
« Reply #13 on: May 11, 2020, 12:12:02 PM »

I would contact your regional D-Link support office and ask about this:
Link> Tech Support Contact Information
We find that online chat or phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Let us know how it goes please.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!