• December 02, 2020, 02:06:44 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: D-Link Error Window  (Read 1618 times)

XLjedi

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
D-Link Error Window
« on: March 15, 2020, 09:37:19 AM »

Before I start ranting... 

Is this pop-up window with no close or "X" buttons actually something you all designed?



It looks to me very much like some sort of trojan horse virus or malware...  If so, I will look for ways to remove it.

If it is a legitimate D-link window...  I don't even know where to begin with the bashing?  It would probably start with several unprintable expletives.  I have to assume it's a virus.  It appears on EVERY single startup, and can only be removed by Ctrl-Alt-Del ending the program.  I have not followed the "click-me stupid" advice of the window for the obvious reason.
 
« Last Edit: March 15, 2020, 09:39:46 AM by XLjedi »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49375
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: D-Link Error Window
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2020, 10:02:52 AM »

What product are you try to register?
What browser are you using?
What registration process are you using? Built in or on the web site?

With all the problems going around with the CD19 virus, possible that there maybe some service interruptions which maybe unexpected.

I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this.
Link> Tech Support Contact Information
We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

XLjedi

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: D-Link Error Window
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2020, 05:07:29 PM »

I'm not trying to register anything! 

I just got a new ASUS mobo, and after a week or two... this damn window now pops up everyday.  Browser doesn't matter, this stupid window comes up at boot, before any browser is even open.  Windows appears and this damn uncloseable window pops-up.

It's been doing this for weeks now...  can't blame it on Corona.  I'm  finally getting tired of the Ctrl-Alt-Del every single day.

Is this something D-Link puts out?  I posted the window so people could see it, difficult to show a picture of the window to someone over the phone.  That is the complete window BTW, a white unclickable box (except that single link I won't click) no border nothing. 

« Last Edit: March 15, 2020, 05:15:23 PM by XLjedi »
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2590
Re: D-Link Error Window
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2020, 09:29:14 PM »

I have never seen that window before. Do you own any D-Link products? Any new software installations?

Have you run a virus scan?

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49375
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: D-Link Error Window
« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2020, 10:05:54 PM »

Run MalwareByte scan as well.
Clear your browser caches.

Doe this appear on any other device or just the one?
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

XLjedi

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: D-Link Error Window
« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2020, 05:00:47 AM »

Just on this device...  the only new software would be the chipset software that came with the ASUS ROG mobo.  The mobo has built-in WIFI and I thought it might be related to that somehow?

I will run the virus scans and see if it clears out.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49375
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: D-Link Error Window
« Reply #6 on: March 16, 2020, 06:04:57 AM »

Unless it's a D-Link wifi chip set which D-Link doesn't produce any wifi that are build in on PC motherboards.  ::)

What are you doing and what are you using when this window appears?
Odd that you see this if you don't have any D-Link products.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2590
Re: D-Link Error Window
« Reply #7 on: March 16, 2020, 06:18:14 AM »

Possible scam tech support malware using D-Link's name. D-Link does not manufacture for Asus.
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2590
Re: D-Link Error Window
« Reply #8 on: March 16, 2020, 07:51:28 AM »

Did you ever contact any tech support related to D-Link? Unfortunately there are a lot of fake tech support centers posing as D-Link and other companies.
Logged

XLjedi

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: D-Link Error Window
« Reply #9 on: March 19, 2020, 03:58:50 PM »

Dunno...  Windows update a day or two ago and it stopped appearing.  I suspect it was some sort of malware and the update squashed it.

Gone now, so all is well.  I'll just chalk it up to malware.
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2590
Re: D-Link Error Window
« Reply #10 on: March 20, 2020, 08:03:10 AM »

Thanks for the update.
Logged