+  D-Link Forums
|-+  D-Link FAQ» Router FAQ» Archive» How do i make my xbox 360 top priority on my router
Username:
Password:
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: How do i make my xbox 360 top priority on my router  (Read 13059 times)
Melvynray
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 11


« on: August 25, 2009, 10:58:59 AM »

I have my xbox running wireless on a the d-link via the linksys wireless n gaming adapter which is a heck of a lot better than the xbox wireless g adapter.

How do i make my xbox top priority over the 3 tivo's and 2 laptops on the wireless network? WHere in settings do i go?
Logged
anon
Level 3 Member
***
Posts: 263


« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2009, 02:04:50 PM »

DGL-4500 Gaming and Gamefuel for XBL.
« Last Edit: August 27, 2012, 12:08:36 PM by FurryNutz » Logged
Melvynray
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 11


« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2009, 03:54:10 PM »

In the main menu you go under ADVANCED> GAMEFUEL> ADD GAMEFUEL RULE. You can also click on HELP in the main menu for more info.
im a newb. what happens from there?
Logged
Melvynray
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 11


« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2009, 05:11:17 PM »

Can someone please post up a example of how it looks. ive been searching for hours on how to do it.
Logged
aerylexa
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 13


« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2009, 07:42:45 PM »

GameFuel Rules List
     Name    Priority    Local IP Range    Remote IP Range    Protocol / Ports         
   PS3    1    192.168.0.1xx - 192.168.0.1xx    0.0.0.0 - 255.255.255.255
   Any
0 / 65535
0 / 65535
   Edit    Delete
   XBOX360    2    192.168.0.1xx - 192.168.0.1xx    0.0.0.0 - 255.255.255.255
   Any
0 / 65535
0 / 65535
   Edit    Delete                                                                       

Thats how my gaming systems are set up in gamefuel. Set your xbox to priority 1.
Logged
Melvynray
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 11


« Reply #5 on: August 25, 2009, 08:34:42 PM »

thanks so much!
Logged
aerylexa
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 13


« Reply #6 on: August 26, 2009, 02:21:22 PM »

no prob.
Logged
Reinvented
Level 4 Member
****
Posts: 437


« Reply #7 on: August 26, 2009, 04:16:02 PM »

If you can't understand that..

Enabled
Name: XBox 360.  (technically, you could reserve all of your consoles, and just have a whole range, and have it all set for the same priority.)
Priority: 64 (I wouldn't set it to 1)
Protocol: Any
Local IP Range: 192.168.0.x - 192.168.0.x  (if you reserve your XBox 360's, you can set a whole range)
Local Port Range: (this should be greyed out, if you chose ANY)
Remote IP Range: 0.0.0.0 - 255.255.255.255
Remote Port Range: (this should be greyed out also)
Logged
Melvynray
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 11


« Reply #8 on: September 09, 2009, 08:33:25 PM »

If you can't understand that..

Enabled
Name: XBox 360.  (technically, you could reserve all of your consoles, and just have a whole range, and have it all set for the same priority.)
Priority: 64 (I wouldn't set it to 1)
Protocol: Any
Local IP Range: 192.168.0.x - 192.168.0.x  (if you reserve your XBox 360's, you can set a whole range)
Local Port Range: (this should be greyed out, if you chose ANY)
Remote IP Range: 0.0.0.0 - 255.255.255.255
Remote Port Range: (this should be greyed out also)

why not set it to 1?
Logged
Reinvented
Level 4 Member
****
Posts: 437


« Reply #9 on: September 10, 2009, 10:41:33 AM »

why not set it to 1?

Because it can starve other things of bandwidth, and you could end up with dropped or re-transmitted packets/errors.  When it has to prioritize over other things, it can end up erroring out, and increasing latency.
Logged
noifwoao
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #10 on: September 17, 2009, 01:12:51 PM »

How do you know if its working correctly?And do i have to also add xbox live to gaming rules and what setting if i do?
« Last Edit: September 17, 2009, 01:27:28 PM by noifwoao » Logged
philwoz98
Level 2 Member
**
Posts: 62


« Reply #11 on: September 17, 2009, 04:04:04 PM »

I think you can check by logging into your router and going to the last tab on the top right which I believe is tools and the go to internet sessions. It will show all your ip addresses and there priorty. When two devices are being used at the same time then the priortitys will take affect, and they will show up with that new priority number. But if you are only using one device it will come up as 128, which is a default setting.

Not 100 percenton on this but I think it only affects upload speeds and not download speeds. An example would be grabit or usenet. Please correct me on this if I am missleading.

I was wondering the same thing as for the game rule?

My question is opening all the ports to pc
dangerous and how do they work. 
Logged
noifwoao
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #12 on: September 17, 2009, 04:16:07 PM »

I tried the game rule and it would recieve the signal from xbox live but not return it and kick me off live so im gunna leave it alone unless somone can comeup with a way to set it up so it works correctly?
Logged
philwoz98
Level 2 Member
**
Posts: 62


« Reply #13 on: September 17, 2009, 07:06:30 PM »

hmmmm, I am running two xbox's off of my router (FW 1.15) and I enabled a game rule for both while using gamefuel with no problems. Not sure what would cause it, what type of Firmware are you using?
Logged
noifwoao
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #14 on: September 17, 2009, 09:31:08 PM »

I have firmware 1.12. It runs amazing when gaming rules are off . If I turn it on xbox live will not connect at all.
« Last Edit: September 17, 2009, 09:32:42 PM by noifwoao » Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Theme by webtechnica.com.