• August 05, 2020, 07:41:58 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Router Admin IP Changed?  (Read 705 times)

rgraves

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Router Admin IP Changed?
« on: February 07, 2020, 08:34:36 AM »

I recently tried to login to my DLINK DIR-850L router admin page.  I'm sure the IP was 192.168.0.1 however it would try to load for several minutes and fail.

I found out that the IP is 192.168.100.1 but I did not change that.  The only thing that has changed is our ISP came and upgraded our modem recently since they have upgraded the infrastructure in our neighborhood.  Would that potentially cause the router IP to change?

Just want to make sure it isn't something malicious.  I was still able to log in once I found the new router IP so I'm hoping it has something to do with the cable modem upgrade.

Thoughts?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49031
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Router Admin IP Changed?
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2020, 09:15:36 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

rgraves

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Router Admin IP Changed?
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2020, 09:52:14 AM »

Hardware version A1
Firmware 1.20WW (last one available in my region)

Region: Canada

ISP: Cable
Cable Modem: Hitron

Upon closer inspection of the modem, it says its web address is 192.168.0.1 so I'm guessing that's why my router's IP was changed.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49031
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Router Admin IP Changed?
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2020, 09:54:40 AM »

Yes, if the modem has a built router, and has a 192.168.0.1, the DIR router will change it's IP address since it be default uses .0.1.

  • If the ISP modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT and How NAT Works. Call the ISP and ask to see if the ISP modem can be bridged. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ. Also check the routers DHCP IP address maybe conflicting with the ISP modems IP address of 192.168.0.1. Check to see if this is the same on the ISP modem, and if modem can't be bridged, change the DIR router to 192.168.1.1 or .0.254.
    Example of a D-Link router configured for PPPoE with ISP Modem bridged: PPPoE Configuration on a Router
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!