• February 18, 2020, 04:38:36 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Ethernet backhaul indicator?  (Read 589 times)

eelpout

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Ethernet backhaul indicator?
« on: October 27, 2019, 01:07:22 PM »

(I'm on v1.04 of the firmware)

Is there anything in either the web or app interface to indicate whether or not the WiFi or Ethernet backhaul is in use on the 2200? The best I can tell is if I plug in Ethernet into a LAN port (and reboot the Point) the "quality" of the link flips from Good to Excellent, but that's it. If there isn't, maybe there should be? :)

Also another request. it would be great if there was some indication of which Covr a client is connected to.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48326
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Ethernet backhaul indicator?
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2019, 11:19:11 AM »

The 2200 system doesn't support ethernet backhaul. Only the 1203 system does.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

eelpout

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Ethernet backhaul indicator?
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2019, 12:30:45 PM »

Quote
The 2200 system doesn't support ethernet backhaul. Only the 1203 system does.

actually it does as I'm using it now and D-Link support confirmed it for me.  I'm on v1.04 so maybe it's a newer feature. :)

D-Link support said they'll "forward this suggestion to HQ" of an indicator for a possible future release.

FYI: to make it work you have to make sure the Covr "A" unit has the Ethernet cable to your switch plugged into the #2 (LAN) port, not the #1 (WAN).
« Last Edit: October 28, 2019, 12:56:18 PM by eelpout »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48326
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Ethernet backhaul indicator?
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2019, 02:33:40 PM »

Ya I see that release notes say backhaul support however it wasn't specific. I know it wasn't supported before. This is good to hear.

I'll have to try this out again with mine.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48326
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Ethernet backhaul indicator?
« Reply #4 on: October 28, 2019, 03:07:35 PM »

Ok, Admin confirmed ethernet backhaul support. I updated the FW release notes here to reflect this.

Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

eelpout

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Ethernet backhaul indicator?
« Reply #5 on: October 28, 2019, 03:31:22 PM »

Ok, Admin confirmed ethernet backhaul support. I updated the FW release notes here to reflect this.

Enjoy.  ;)
  ;D
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48326
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Ethernet backhaul indicator?
« Reply #6 on: October 31, 2019, 01:17:29 AM »

Well I tired to connect my 2202 system only tonite. Had a hard time with just the A point router. Seems to be an odd issue with DNS relay being disabled. I had to clear out and flush DNS caches on PCs to make them work and get internet access. After I thought I had things running ok, I connected the B point to a switch I had at my desk just long enough to see the COVR led turn WHITE. I noticed that there was down activity on the switch and on two PCs connected to this switch after the B point seemed to be connected and up and running. So I figured, lets see what happens when I took it and connected it downstairs in the basement behind 5 LAN switches. The B point seem to connect and came to ready while connected to the switch in the basement. However my iphone and pad would not get internet access for unknown reasons. Also saw the Dlink guest network appear as well. This isn't enabled on the A point router. I had DNS relay disabled on the A point router. I turned DNS Relay back on and finally got internet access with the B point. However the system seem to be very unstable for unknown reasons. The A point WiFi seem to stop working as I noticed my cameras had gone off line. I had power cycled them as they would not re-connect to the SSID name and PW previously used with other routers.

So I figured there was something wrong with the B point being wire connected. So I disconnected it and let it re-sync wirelessy to the A Point router. It did and my iphone and pad were able to get internet access. Speedtest was kind of bad. Nothing seen over 95Mpbs with them connected to the B point.

I was hoping to keep the 2202 system online and let it run however my confidence in the wired back haul and stability with DNS Relay left me no choice to remove it and come back to this this weekend and see if I can figure out whats going on. I have other Non D-Link routers and they have worked well with wired back haul using these same switches with no issues. Possible having switches in between could be problematic.

More to come.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!