• July 14, 2020, 12:50:28 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 2 [3]

Author Topic: New - COVR-2202 Firmware v1.04 Build09 Released  (Read 4819 times)

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2503
Re: New - COVR-2202 Firmware v1.04 Build09 Released
« Reply #30 on: April 28, 2020, 02:19:53 PM »

Yes ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS contact D-Link support. Drill them. Squeaky wheel gets the oil right? or something like that. Look at it from D-Link's view. They sell say 6 million (for example) Covr-2202s globally. Three people on a forum are complaining about a feature. Honestly are they going to spend the thousands and thousands of dollars it costs for firmware to appease the 3 people? Probably not. But if they are getting phone calls from multiple regions, then they will move on it.

Remember too terminology is different in other parts of the world, and since 75% of D-Link products are global, they try to use common terms to fit everyone. Not sure if that is the reason with this vendor but I will go with it :)

 
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48964
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: New - COVR-2202 Firmware v1.04 Build09 Released
« Reply #31 on: April 28, 2020, 02:43:54 PM »

Ok. Will do.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48964
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: New - COVR-2202 Firmware v1.04 Build09 Released
« Reply #32 on: April 28, 2020, 04:12:56 PM »

Ok, So I have some more info to add to this, and not sure if it helps any. I stumbled on this today with the 2202 A point and DNS Relay disabled and connected as a 2ndary router behind another router.

DNS relay disabled seems to work correctly behind two routers that uses a IP address setting of 192.168.0.1 on the main host router, and 192.168.77.1 on the 2nd router and the A Point router is set to 192.168.1.1 being connected behind the 2nd router.

DNS relay disabled fails to work behind one router that uses a IP address setting of 192.168.0.1 on the main host router and the 2202 A Point is set to 192.168.1.1.

I know this isn't ideal or normal configurations.

For Item #1 DNS Relay issue:
With DNS Relay Disabled and with or with out manual DNS Addresses filled in under Internet/Advanced Settings:
Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : ISIS
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Ethernet Connection (2) I219-V
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . :
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2d7e:2bb:5567:1566%11(Preferred)
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100(Preferred)
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, February 25, 2020 4:55:46 PM
   Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, March 3, 2020 4:55:46 PM
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
   DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
   DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . :
   DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . :
   DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
                                       fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
                                       fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
   
I get no internet connections on 3 different PCs. I see no IPV4 DNS Server entry for IPconfig. IPv4 DNS Server entry under windows Adapter/Status for the adapter is empty.
 
With DNS Relay enabled:
Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : ISIS
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Ethernet Connection (2) I219-V
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . :
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2d7e:2bb:5567:1566%11(Preferred)
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100(Preferred)
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, February 25, 2020 5:02:56 PM
   Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, March 3, 2020 5:05:49 PM
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
   DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
   DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . :
   DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . :
   DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

I get internet connections on all 3 test PCs. I see a IPV4 DNS Server entry for IPconfig. IPv4 DNS Server entry under Adapter/Windows/Status for the adapter is present and is 192.168.1.1.
 
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48964
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: New - COVR-2202 Firmware v1.04 Build09 Released
« Reply #33 on: April 29, 2020, 09:45:10 AM »

Would be great if D-Link could add a icon status listing for when B points are wired vs wireless on there COVR systems that support Ethernet connected B points.  ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Ultra

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: New - COVR-2202 Firmware v1.04 Build09 Released
« Reply #34 on: May 14, 2020, 05:43:40 AM »

Anyone got an issue where the slave disconnected from the Master A and needs a restart to reconnect? It suddenly goes blinking yellow and needs a restart to get it going again.
Logged

MDU91

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: New - COVR-2202 Firmware v1.04 Build09 Released
« Reply #35 on: May 14, 2020, 07:42:54 AM »

I have the exact same problem. Bought a 2202 today and the slave doesn't stay connected longer than 5 min. Initially it was also showing me crappy speed ~10mb from a line which is rated at 1000mb. The A unit which is around 10 meters away shows decent speeds ~95 mb.
Initially i had a dual band router which had coverage problems due to my concrete walls. Now I saw a comment from FurryNutz saying they are too close to eachother, how is that even a problem? Does it states anywhere that you should have a minimum distance? I really doubt that overlapping the signal would cause the slave unit to totally disconnect and never reconnect (ok let's say it disconnects but why it doesn't reconnect, isn't this more firmware related than config? ). I will contact customer service as from my perspective this is making it unusable.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48964
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: New - COVR-2202 Firmware v1.04 Build09 Released
« Reply #36 on: May 14, 2020, 07:55:42 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?
  • Has a Factory Reset been performed?
  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
  Link> >FW Update Process


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by that maybe causing interferences?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area that maybe causing interferences? Link> Use a WiFi Scanner to find out. How many?

Since you state that your walls are made of concrete, this will be a factor and impact good operation of the B point with the A point. You may move the B point closer to see if the B Point stops this behavior.

Any chance of connecting the B Point to the A point via ethernet cable?


I have the exact same problem. Bought a 2202 today and the slave doesn't stay connected longer than 5 min. Initially it was also showing me crappy speed ~10mb from a line which is rated at 1000mb. The A unit which is around 10 meters away shows decent speeds ~95 mb.
Initially i had a dual band router which had coverage problems due to my concrete walls. Now I saw a comment from FurryNutz saying they are too close to eachother, how is that even a problem? Does it states anywhere that you should have a minimum distance? I really doubt that overlapping the signal would cause the slave unit to totally disconnect and never reconnect (ok let's say it disconnects but why it doesn't reconnect, isn't this more firmware related than config? ). I will contact customer service as from my perspective this is making it unusable.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

MDU91

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: New - COVR-2202 Firmware v1.04 Build09 Released
« Reply #37 on: May 14, 2020, 03:12:49 PM »

Thank you for the fast reply FurryNutz!
Just realised that I did not use the standard format, so here it is:
  • Europe based (Romania)
  • No factory resets done, I've set it up one time after taking it out of the box
  • My ISP is a romanian telecom company RCS&RDS, the internet is over optic fiber untill my door step where it enters a converter, but I do not know the brand of it.
  • I have another dual band router to which the 2202 A unit is connected. There are also other wifi networks (~5) in the area
I will try tommorow to change the location of point B and also to connect it via a ethernet cable. Do you think that resetting to factory settings so I could use it as a router and remove my old router could help? Thanks alot for the help!

[/list]
Logged

Ultra

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: New - COVR-2202 Firmware v1.04 Build09 Released
« Reply #38 on: May 15, 2020, 02:34:18 PM »

What region are you located in? Middle East
Has a Factory Reset been performed? Yes two times Already
Firmware latest 1.04 no new update is available
No can't connect ethernet to it (physically can't)
The incidents happen at random times sometimes once a week, another time twice a day the exact scenario is as follow:
the network I working perfectly suddenly the salve(point B) disconnects the LED turns Yellow Blink the guest network is activated (usually it's off) (but not working), the ping to the main Master A is available but web interface connection isn't available, and nothing works until I restart point B so it reconnects to Master A (Nothing is changed whatsoever to make it do such thing) Logs shows nothing about dropping the connection.

Logged

MDU91

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: New - COVR-2202 Firmware v1.04 Build09 Released
« Reply #39 on: May 23, 2020, 08:47:59 AM »

So i've managed to do some testing with it and found out that the distance was not a problem, it will even drop when placed near each other. With the ethernet cable linked, point B runs perfectly. Now, for a couple of days, I gave up on point B and left if in a corner still connected. During the first day he would drop as soon as I would connect to it and put it to some stress. What is really strange is that after a couple of day it stabilized, I see no more drops, ping and speed are clockwise, everything runs smoothly. It's as if he needed time to accomodate :)). For now I will let it be and if it starts disconnecting again I will run an ethernet cable to it.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48964
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: New - COVR-2202 Firmware v1.04 Build09 Released
« Reply #40 on: May 23, 2020, 09:12:58 AM »

OK. Keep an eye on it...if you think it needs attention, I would contact D-link support and ask about an RMA.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

plabrevo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: New - COVR-2202 Firmware v1.04 Build09 Released
« Reply #41 on: May 24, 2020, 11:09:46 AM »

They sell say 6 million (for example) Covr-2202s globally. Three people on a forum are complaining about a feature. Honestly are they going to spend the thousands and thousands of dollars it costs for firmware to appease the 3 people? Probably not. But if they are getting phone calls from multiple regions, then they will move on it.

If they sell 6M with a $200+ price tag, they better fix it.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48964
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: New - COVR-2202 Firmware v1.04 Build09 Released
« Reply #42 on: May 24, 2020, 12:58:11 PM »

"But if they are getting phone calls from multiple regions, then they will move on it."
So be sure to contact D-Link support and voice your experiences to them.

They sell say 6 million (for example) Covr-2202s globally. Three people on a forum are complaining about a feature. Honestly are they going to spend the thousands and thousands of dollars it costs for firmware to appease the 3 people? Probably not. But if they are getting phone calls from multiple regions, then they will move on it.

If they sell 6M with a $200+ price tag, they better fix it.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!
Pages: 1 2 [3]