• September 20, 2019, 03:56:48 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Issues with the DIR 878 firmware v1.20  (Read 553 times)

Luizlp10

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Issues with the DIR 878 firmware v1.20
« on: August 08, 2019, 07:33:38 AM »

Region: Brazil/South America.

Hi there! I've been noticing some issues while using the dir 878 configuration page that I would like to share with you to see if there is any fix available. Sometimes my DNS servers manual inserted get reset to the ISP's DNS automatically for no apparent reason, which is pretty annoying because it happens all the time. Then, after configuring QoS devices and allocating them to their respective tiers, the router just duplicate some of those devices(sometimes) and does'nt allow me to save QoS settings(time-to-time). Also website filtering rules don't apply even after saving settings.

Overall I've been having a good performance with this router regarding speeds and range but I am feeling that this firmware is very unstable, specially if you consider that it always refresh to the main page even when I'm configuring it, which just does'nt make any sense at all.

Just wonder if some of you are experiencing anything like this too. Thanks for your attention!
« Last Edit: August 08, 2019, 07:35:24 AM by Luizlp10 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Issues with the DIR 878 firmware v1.20
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2019, 08:12:55 AM »

Link>Welcome!

What browser are you using when your configuring the routers web page?
Does this happen with IE11, FF or Opera as well?

  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
  Link> >FW Update Process

I would make contact with your regional D-Link support office and let them know of your experiences and what your seeing:
Link> Tech Support Contact Information
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Luizlp10

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Issues with the DIR 878 firmware v1.20
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2019, 09:05:14 AM »

Thanks for the reply. I am using Google Chrome but it also happens in Firefox and Microsoft Edge. I reseted the router to factory default after the issues started to appear but not before firmware v1.20 was installed.
Logged

edilima

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Issues with the DIR 878 firmware v1.20
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2019, 05:49:13 AM »

Region: Brazil/South America.

Hi there! I've been noticing some issues while using the dir 878 configuration page that I would like to share with you to see if there is any fix available. Sometimes my DNS servers manual inserted get reset to the ISP's DNS automatically for no apparent reason, which is pretty annoying because it happens all the time. Then, after configuring QoS devices and allocating them to their respective tiers, the router just duplicate some of those devices(sometimes) and does'nt allow me to save QoS settings(time-to-time). Also website filtering rules don't apply even after saving settings.

Overall I've been having a good performance with this router regarding speeds and range but I am feeling that this firmware is very unstable, specially if you consider that it always refresh to the main page even when I'm configuring it, which just does'nt make any sense at all.

Just wonder if some of you are experiencing anything like this too. Thanks for your attention!

Hey dude, I am also from Brazil and I also used DIR 878 on firmware v1.20.
In addition to the issues you found, I also found that SmartConnect toggle button on wireless settings does not appear on Chrome and whenever you turn it on using internet explorer, it resets the channel you previously set on 2.4Ghz network to AUTO.

Now on firmware v1.20 it seems you can only set 2.4 network to an specific channel of your choice if you set SmartConnect to OFF. Otherwise it will ALWAYS be set to AUTO. The odd thing is that 5GHz network channel is not set to AUTO. This bug only happens on 2.4 Ghz network.

Additionally, the auto firmware update toggle button located in admin seetings, also does not appear on Chrome.

Because of all these issues, I downgraded my firmware back to v1.12 until those issues get fixed.

On firmware v1.12, I am getting very good speeds. 732mbs on 2.4Ghz using channel bonding (40Mhz) and 1733 mbs on 5Ghz network using 80Mhz channel size (measured using inSSIDer app on windows). Looks like the router is using all its four streams :D
« Last Edit: August 09, 2019, 06:04:11 AM by edilima »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Issues with the DIR 878 firmware v1.20
« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2019, 06:12:33 AM »

I would find it hard to believe that your getting 1733Mbps on 5Ghz on the 878 since 160Mhz isn't supported as of yet. Let alone with only 80Mhz channel width.  ::) I presume you meant 1300Mbps?

On firmware v1.12, I am getting very good speeds. 732mbs on 2.4Ghz using channel bonding (40Mhz) and 1733 mbs on 5Ghz network using 80Mhz channel size (measured using inSSIDer app on windows). Looks like the router is using all its four streams :D
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

edilima

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Issues with the DIR 878 firmware v1.20
« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2019, 06:29:51 AM »

I would find it hard to believe that your getting 1733Mbps on 5Ghz on the 878 since 160Mhz isn't supported as of yet. Let alone with only 80Mhz channel width.  ::) I presume you meant 1300Mbps?

On firmware v1.12, I am getting very good speeds. 732mbs on 2.4Ghz using channel bonding (40Mhz) and 1733 mbs on 5Ghz network using 80Mhz channel size (measured using inSSIDer app on windows). Looks like the router is using all its four streams :D

No no no. It's 1733 mbs on 5Ghz !
The reason for that is because this hardware has four streams exactly like DIR 882. The only difference  between DIR 878 and DIR 882 is the lack of USB ports.

DIR 878 has actually the same speeds as DIR 882 which is AC2600. Same hardware, same chipset, only cut the USB ports.

I'm currently at work but I will post a screenshot as soon as I go home.
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2171
Re: Issues with the DIR 878 firmware v1.20
« Reply #6 on: August 09, 2019, 06:34:35 AM »

I will test this today.

What hardware revision do you have?

Also with 1.20 installed, please log into the router, then in the address bar type http://dlinkrouter.local./version.txt or 192.168.0.1/version.txt and let me know the exact firmware version and date.   
Logged

edilima

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Issues with the DIR 878 firmware v1.20
« Reply #7 on: August 09, 2019, 06:55:13 AM »

I am currently using v1.12B05. I was using v1.20 but I found the bugs I described above so I downgraded to v1.12B05. My hardware revision is A1
« Last Edit: August 09, 2019, 06:59:36 AM by edilima »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Issues with the DIR 878 firmware v1.20
« Reply #8 on: August 09, 2019, 07:08:21 AM »

Technically you can't achieve 1733Mbps with only 80Mhz on 5Ghz. 80Mhz maxes out at 1300Mbps. 1733Mbs requires 160Mhz.

And since the 878 stock FW doesn't support 160Mhz and with the recent post, will never support it coming from D-Link.  :(

I would find it hard to believe that your getting 1733Mbps on 5Ghz on the 878 since 160Mhz isn't supported as of yet. Let alone with only 80Mhz channel width.  ::) I presume you meant 1300Mbps?

On firmware v1.12, I am getting very good speeds. 732mbs on 2.4Ghz using channel bonding (40Mhz) and 1733 mbs on 5Ghz network using 80Mhz channel size (measured using inSSIDer app on windows). Looks like the router is using all its four streams :D

No no no. It's 1733 mbs on 5Ghz !
The reason for that is because this hardware has four streams exactly like DIR 882. The only difference  between DIR 878 and DIR 882 is the lack of USB ports.

DIR 878 has actually the same speeds as DIR 882 which is AC2600. Same hardware, same chipset, only cut the USB ports.

I'm currently at work but I will post a screenshot as soon as I go home.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2171
Re: Issues with the DIR 878 firmware v1.20
« Reply #9 on: August 09, 2019, 07:08:44 AM »

Did you upgrade through the UI or manually select the firmware file?

I got mine working. I upgraded from 1.12 to 1.20 (b05) through the UI (check for new firmware button). I did not reset it. I used all 4 browsers (IE 11, edge, chrome and firefox) and had no UI issues. Everything shows up and works properly.
Logged

Luizlp10

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Issues with the DIR 878 firmware v1.20
« Reply #10 on: August 12, 2019, 01:45:39 PM »

Thanks for all these replies, specially from my countryman. I'm having a great time using the DIR-878 regarding speeds in both bands, even using my STA's 3 rooms away from it. That problem with the SmartConnect (changing to auto in 2.4 GHz) is also happening but I really don't mind since I prefer to manualy configure my network settings.

Answering to you, GreenBay42, my version is V1.20 and date is 2019-05-16.

My first post issues are still hurting my experience with this great router. They seem to be simple to be corrected I think.
Logged

Luizlp10

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Issues with the DIR 878 firmware v1.20
« Reply #11 on: August 30, 2019, 02:08:52 PM »

I've done a factory reset and the dns is still resetting to ISP default without my permission after sometime. Also I've abandoned QoS feature because it just stops responding to any changes I make throughout the time. Really hope this simple but annoying issues get a fix soon enough.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Issues with the DIR 878 firmware v1.20
« Reply #12 on: September 03, 2019, 05:33:09 PM »

I would make contact with your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information on this. Possible you may need a RMA.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting