• August 20, 2019, 11:54:23 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Setting static IP on second device  (Read 785 times)

Sace

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Setting static IP on second device
« on: February 14, 2019, 01:09:04 AM »

Hello!

I was able to set the devices up quickly and could also give the first device (which is connected through ethernet cable with the router) a static IP. The second device is connected through powerline and got its IP through DHCP. It works in this constellation, but I want to set the IP of the second, powerline-connected device to static as well. How do I do this?

I have already tried 'reserving' the IP through the web interface of the first device (the second device shows up under the menu 'extender'). After clicking on Save, it says that for the changes to take effect, the device has to re-establish a connection. Only restarting did not help, what else do I have to do here?

The web interface of the second device shows much less information and the menu entry where I set the static IP on the first device is completely missing here.

Any help would be appreciated!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47698
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Setting static IP on second device
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2019, 07:01:06 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Setting a Static IP is set ON the device. Do you mean setting a DHCP IP address RESERVATION on the router? This is different from settings a STATIC IP address.
If your setting a IP address RESERVATION, find the connected devices tile on the device list and select the gray pen to edit the tile. Inside the tile is a slider button to select that will enable the IP address reservation for the device. Select Apply or Save.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Sace

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Setting static IP on second device
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2019, 07:43:03 AM »

Hello FurryNutz!

HW Version should be 1.00, Firmware is 1.01b08, the latest as of now. Location is EU/Germany.

I do not want to do a reservation on the DHCP (which is my router, not the first COVR-P2502 device connected to it), I want to set a static IP outside of DHCP Range for the other device (which is connected to the 'main device' through Powerline). I set the first device to IP 192.168.3.3 which is okay, the second device should have 192.168.3.4 but gets assigned an IP in the DHCP address range.

Where exactly can I set this on my second COVR-P2502 device? I already logged into the web interface of this device but the menu is very simple and does not allow as much configuration as the main configuration page at covr.local (or I missed the menu entry). Thanks for your help!
« Last Edit: February 14, 2019, 07:45:54 AM by Sace »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47698
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Setting static IP on second device
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2019, 08:57:24 AM »

To set static IP addresses out side of the routers default IP address pool, make sure the default pool is set for 192.168.0.100 thru .200. Then you can assign Static IPs on devices on either side of this pool. You only set static IP addresses on devices. The COVR remote extender does not have a place to set a static IP address. You can only set up Reserved IPs on the main COVR router base.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Sace

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Setting static IP on second device
« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2019, 01:11:51 PM »

Hello FurryNutz!
I feared that. Too bad that there is no way to set a static IP for the extender, but thanks for the insight anyways!

Have a good day!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47698
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Setting static IP on second device
« Reply #5 on: February 14, 2019, 02:30:59 PM »

It's not really needed I believe.

Good Luck.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting