• August 18, 2019, 02:03:27 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Can't access DNS323 from one Win7 PC anymore  (Read 1675 times)

dsa44

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Can't access DNS323 from one Win7 PC anymore
« on: January 06, 2019, 04:43:57 PM »

My ole trusty DNS323 is still viewable, readable, writeable, configurable from one Win7 pc on the network, so I think the unit is good. But from my main PC, it will show up in 'Network", is also mapped in "my Computer", the dlink tool can see it, and I can even drag and drop files onto the "drive" and they copy over!  Even Quicken software will auto-backup to the NAS. 
But I cannot open an explorer window or navigate to it from web browser.
It is configured as a static ip 10.0.0.25. And Raid 1 array.  I can ping it and gets reply.
I tried turning off the firewall, disable AV and other things.
I must conclude that it is something with my Win7 installation on this particular PC that will not allow me to navigate its contents.
I just cannot figure it out.
Help appreciated.
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2141
Re: Can't access DNS323 from one Win7 PC anymore
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2019, 07:35:31 AM »

It is possible the SMB 1 got disabled on the Windows machine.

Open Control Panel > Programs & Features > Turn Windows features on or off.

In the list of options, check SMB 1.0/CIFS File Sharing Support (Client is the only one that needs to be checked) and click Ok.
Logged

dsa44

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Can't access DNS323 from one Win7 PC anymore
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2019, 08:21:04 AM »

Thank you for the suggestion, but I don't even see that option on my Win7 pc.... I can't seem to find the "insert image" link here to show you the options in the "Turn Windows features on or off"
But SMB is not in there.  Is that a function specific for Win10?
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2141
Re: Can't access DNS323 from one Win7 PC anymore
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2019, 08:51:09 AM »

OOPS yes you are right. Sorry it is early and the caffeine hasn't hit me yet.

Windows 7 should have it enabled by default and you need to edit the registry to enable/disable it. Possibly it did get disabled through a Windows update or 3rd party program or most likely something else is happening with the computer being able to see folders on the DNS-323. If you do enable it in the registry and it doesn't work, then let us know.

USE AT YOUR OWN RISK:

Go to https://www.howtogeek.com/321072/how-to-disable-smbv1-and-protect-your-windows-pc-from-attack/ and scroll down to How to Disable SMBv1 on Windows 7 by Editing the Registry. Set the value to "1" to enable instead of zero.


You said you mapped a drive in my computer. When you click on that can you see the folders and files on the DNS-323 and it works normal? If you are only having issues with a web brower, the browser is the issue.

What browsers have you tried?

« Last Edit: January 07, 2019, 08:55:33 AM by GreenBay42 »
Logged

dsa44

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Can't access DNS323 from one Win7 PC anymore
« Reply #4 on: January 07, 2019, 09:43:38 AM »

I tried the SMB registry entry, but no luck. (after reboot)
Tried switching ports on the router too.
I was able to map the drive, and it is listed under "my Computer" and "network", and occasionally the roots of BT (share) and Volume_1 (share), wb-page (share) will be listed, but it will not open in an explorer window so I cannot see the contents.  Tried both thru "my computer" and "network"
It tries for some time and then gives the error, "Dlink\Volume_1 is not accessible. You might not have permission to use this network resource. Contact the administrator to see if you have access permissions"  "The specified network name is no longer available"
I have tried to get to the web gui with chrome, firefox and explorer, and it just times out.
Thx.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47683
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Can't access DNS323 from one Win7 PC anymore
« Reply #5 on: January 07, 2019, 09:55:41 AM »

Can you access it with a different PC or Mac by chance?

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2141
Re: Can't access DNS323 from one Win7 PC anymore
« Reply #6 on: January 07, 2019, 10:02:16 AM »

Yes he can from another Win7 machine. The issue is on his PC but have to figure out what.
Logged

dsa44

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Can't access DNS323 from one Win7 PC anymore
« Reply #7 on: January 07, 2019, 10:03:21 AM »

Yes indeed.  I have full access via windows explorer and web gui from another wired win7 pc and a wireless win10 laptop.   Its just my main pc is no longer able to view.  It's got to be something in this win7 unit.
The only thing I have done recently was swap in a new wireless router, but all the parameters are unchanged.
The Nas is listed as connected, just not viewable on this one win7 pc. 
I am almost at the point of trying a repair install....but that seems extreme.
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2141
Re: Can't access DNS323 from one Win7 PC anymore
« Reply #8 on: January 07, 2019, 10:04:56 AM »

Have you tired multiple browsers (IE 11, firefox, chrome, etc)?
Logged

dsa44

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Can't access DNS323 from one Win7 PC anymore
« Reply #9 on: January 07, 2019, 10:28:39 AM »

Yep tried that too....
I have tried to get to the web gui with chrome, firefox and explorer, and it just times out.  (web gui works fine from the other pcs.)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47683
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Can't access DNS323 from one Win7 PC anymore
« Reply #10 on: January 07, 2019, 10:52:33 AM »

Something on this one PC has broke or causing the connection to no be make.

Ensure that all security software is temporarily disabled on the PC?

Try disabling then re-enabling SMBv1 using this method:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=65722.0

If your good at looking at WireShark, you might set up this PC for wireshark, start a trace, then attempt to get to the DNS ui and see if you notice anything with in WS about anything blocking or not connecting to the IP address for the DNS.

Was there a recent update or any configuration that you might have done that you remember doing on this PC that could have caused this?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

dsa44

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Can't access DNS323 from one Win7 PC anymore
« Reply #11 on: January 07, 2019, 01:33:06 PM »

Since this is win7, I don't have that option for smb, but tried the regedit as noted above.
It must be something specifically wrong or corrupted with this Win7 software.
I unplugged the hdd, popped in an old one and did a fresh install of win7, and the pc sees the NAS just fine.  So its not a setting in the router, or the NAS.
Rebooted with the original hdd, and...no more NAS access.
I honestly don't know what to make of wireshark at this point.
I guess I could try a repair install of win7.
The thought of a fresh install, and reloading all my programs and settings is daunting.
I wish I could figure out what is amok inside of the win7....!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47683
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Can't access DNS323 from one Win7 PC anymore
« Reply #12 on: January 07, 2019, 01:41:34 PM »

What version of 7 are you using? Home?
I know my version of 7 as the SMB under the programs where you can add or remove windows features. However my 7 is Ultimate x64.

Overall, sounds like your particular image of 7 is hosed when it comes to SMB. You might try a search online for SMB repair or troubleshooting before you try a repair of Windows using it's installation disk, as last resort.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

dsa44

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Can't access DNS323 from one Win7 PC anymore
« Reply #13 on: January 07, 2019, 02:04:44 PM »

I am also running Win7 Ultimate Sp1 64bit....but I don't have the smb option in windows add/remove
I will search around about trying to fix smb before I try a repair/install....
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47683
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Can't access DNS323 from one Win7 PC anymore
« Reply #14 on: January 07, 2019, 02:14:46 PM »

Then the SMB enable and disable is on your version of 7.
Looked under adding Windows Features. Should be there as seen in the linked picture.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: [1] 2