• March 18, 2019, 11:21:38 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Can't view remotely  (Read 788 times)

rstark18

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
Can't view remotely
« on: December 12, 2018, 03:34:41 PM »

Hi have a friend I'm trying to help.
He has one 5222 that he wants set up. He just moved and wants to set it up again. It was working fine at his old place.
He has set it up manually in the past (not using mydlink). He has opened a port on the router (Spectrum RAC2V1K) and set that port info in the camera.
He can not see the camera outside of his LAN but can see it inside of his LAN. Any ideas?
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 9 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1901
Re: Can't view remotely
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2018, 07:28:18 AM »

Using HTTP or RTSP?  Using default ports or custom?

If you are using the default, change to a custom and port forward it in the router. Some ISPs may block or filter RTSP traffic so use a port between 1024 to 65535.

How are you testing it?

Are you using 3rd party software/app or just a web browser?
Logged

rstark18

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
Re: Can't view remotely
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2018, 07:33:06 AM »

Using HTTP or RTSP?  Using default ports or custom?

If you are using the default, change to a custom and port forward it in the router. Some ISPs may block or filter RTSP traffic so use a port between 1024 to 65535.

How are you testing it?

Are you using 3rd party software/app or just a web browser?
1. HTTP
2. Custom port (1223). Port forward has been set up in router.
3. He is using JustConnect to test his cam.
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 9 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1901
Re: Can't view remotely
« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2018, 08:22:18 AM »

Hmm well verify the WAN IP is set in the app but I do not think you can change the port in the app. In the router you will need to port forward public port 80 to local port 1223.

Actually I believe in the app for the address enter the public IP plus :1223  (ie. 1.2.3.4:1223) then just port forward using 1223 as the public and private ports.

Is he only using the Spectrum router or is there another router?

« Last Edit: December 13, 2018, 08:25:49 AM by GreenBay42 »
Logged

rstark18

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
Re: Can't view remotely
« Reply #4 on: December 13, 2018, 09:05:45 PM »

Hmm well verify the WAN IP is set in the app but I do not think you can change the port in the app. In the router you will need to port forward public port 80 to local port 1223.

Actually I believe in the app for the address enter the public IP plus :1223  (ie. 1.2.3.4:1223) then just port forward using 1223 as the public and private ports.

Is he only using the Spectrum router or is there another router?
Yes in JustConnect we are entering his external ip from Spectrum in the form of X.X.X.X:1223 (he has ddns but we are not using that yet for troubleshooting reasons).

He is using a Spectrum router (rac2v1k)( https://d15yx0mnc9teae.cloudfront.net/sites/default/files/RAC2V1K%20Askey%20Wave%202.pdf )
We are setting the router up this way:
Services: DCS5222L
Public IP: X.X.X.X (his Spectrum IP)
Port Range: 1223
Local IP: 192.168.1.89
Local Port: 1223
Protocol: TCP
Logged

rstark18

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
Re: Can't view remotely
« Reply #5 on: December 13, 2018, 09:24:31 PM »

In the settings above the public ip setting is actually not available to be entered. It just has a refresh symbol that does nothing when pressed. After applying the rule the setting shows as:
Public IP: ---
Logged

rstark18

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
Re: Can't view remotely
« Reply #6 on: January 11, 2019, 03:25:15 PM »

I was just revisiting this with my friend. We have tried everything we can think of without luck. He can view the cam locally but it seems as though no ports are being forwarded even though the rule is in place. CanYouSeeMe.org does not see the port as open. I've done port forwarding on MANY routers and have never run into an issue like this
Logged

kols

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Can't view remotely
« Reply #7 on: January 12, 2019, 06:36:08 AM »

I have the same issue and nothing seems to help solve it...
Logged