• December 16, 2018, 12:24:05 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: WiFi only works close to AP  (Read 405 times)

bigdee

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
WiFi only works close to AP
« on: November 14, 2018, 10:04:34 AM »

Hi Guys;
  I've run into a small problem here with my DCS-5020L. It seems I can only successfully connect to it if it is feet from my router. I have switched routers and got a brand new modem but the problem persists.
  Here's some things worth noting, keeping in mind there is nothing wrong with my network. I have several computers, phones and tablets connected bot DHCP and Static IP's..:
- I've tried to factory restore this device - the front LED makes it seem like the restore is working, but when I connect to it via network cable, my password is the same, but the IP changes to 192.168.0.20
- Tried to restore factory via camera backend.. Power LED stays solid red and never changes
- I've tried WPS. This works but after I unplug then plug back in where I want it, I am unable to connect to it
- I've upgraded the firmware - no joy
- I can see a UPNP entry in my router as long as Im close to the AP, but once I change house levels and plug back in, the entry never comes back
- I've manually added a port forward entry.. no joy - I can sometimes ping the IP but not always
  I fell like I've done pretty much everything.. Here is my router and camera setup

Router:
Private LAN IP Address: 192.168.0.1
Subnet Mask:  255.255.255.0
LAN DHCP Status: Enabled
DHCP Lease Time 1 week   
DHCP Start IP: 192.168.0.10
DHCP End IP: 192.168.0.240

Wireless: 2.4G
802.11 g/n mixed
Chennel 3
WPS Enabled

Camera:
From Factory restore: (will leave defaults for this test - setup will be beside AP, network cable plugged in)
DHCP set
IP: 192.168.0.21
Port 80

Wireless ON
AP - Selected Survey, found my AP, chose and entered password
Light solid green. Test OK

- Unplugged network cable
--Tested OK.. Walked upstairs with camera still plugged in (power, no network cable) tested OK

Unplugged power and brought upstairs.
--Light solid red, some audible clicks - never turns green.

Anyone have any guesses what's going on here? It's driving me crazy.. Just happened one day..

Any help is appreciated!!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46303
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: WiFi only works close to AP
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2018, 10:08:57 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your DCS? Look at the sticker behind or under the camera.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the DCSs web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

What Mfr and model is the main host router?
Try using channels 1, 6 or 11 on 2.4Ghz.
Set WPA2 and AES only on the main host router as well.

Disable any extender modes on the DCS camera.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

bigdee

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: WiFi only works close to AP
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2018, 05:03:32 PM »

Hi!
  Thanks very  much for the welcome and assistance! I apologize for my long delay..
Quote
  • What Hardware version is your DCS? Look at the sticker behind or under the camera.
HW Ver. is A1
FW Ver 1.01
Quote
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the DCSs web page under status.
I did recently install the newest 1.15.12
Quote
  • What region are you located?
I am in Canada
Quote
What Mfr and model is the main host router?
Hitron CODA-4582U
 
Quote
Try using channels 1, 6 or 11 on 2.4Ghz.
I was on channel 11, tried 1 and 6 - no change
Quote
Set WPA2 and AES only on the main host router as well.
Done.. No change

Quote
Disable any extender modes on the DCS camera.
Never had it


  I've been playing around with it for a while now.. I work in IT so I'm no stranger which is why this is bothering me so much.. lol However recently I did note something.. It seems that every time the camera loses power or is unplugged for more than 15 seconds (yes I counted) then the camera seems to revert back to 'some' defaults and by some, I mean some.. I found that these settings change:
Static IP: Back to DHCP which also sets port back to 80 - but does not revert to its .20 IP like it is in default, it does manage to maintain its previous IP lease
Password: Blanks the password
Wireless setup - becomes disabled
Day/Night Mode back to Auto from Disabled

  This seems to have only really happened after the firmware upgrade... I've been lightly searching for its original firmware to test but I'm unable to find that..
I'm not sure if there's a battery on-board or if it's a capacitor that holds the settings? Im guessing a capacitor.. I'll test if anyone has a schematic of it..

  Maybe I'm looking up the wrong tree all together? Ideas anyone?? I'm open to anything at this point!! I've already bought a new model (DCS-8525LH) which I already HATE because you're locked into using the dlink software which I find slow and useless since you also need can only record to a microSD card or purchase cloud space,, urgh.. In the mean time - I look forward to using my 5020L again if I can get it working..

  Thanks for the help guys!!
Dave
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46303
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: WiFi only works close to AP
« Reply #3 on: November 26, 2018, 02:07:36 PM »

Seems that this camera maybe faulty. I'll see if I can get some additional help on this.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Doctor Doom

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
Re: WiFi only works close to AP
« Reply #4 on: November 27, 2018, 05:41:22 AM »

Based on all the troubleshooting you have done, it definitely is not normal behaviour. It may be defective. If the product is still within the warranty period I would suggest contacting D-Link support for warranty service.
Logged