• November 15, 2018, 04:53:15 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DNS 320LW - Local Backup URL Issue  (Read 241 times)

Drayoute

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
DNS 320LW - Local Backup URL Issue
« on: November 01, 2018, 04:41:39 PM »

Hello all,

after some research sessions, I decided to post a message on the forum.
To make it simple, I use the local backup in LAN mode to backup some folders on my PC.
Until now, the backup was working well. Then for no reason, the process went wrong.
Since then, the URL test has ended with an error.
I would like to point out that password-protected sharing is already disabled, and that I can access my folders from another PC on the network.
Only the 320LW is unable to communicate with these folders

If anyone has an idea for a solution to the problem.

Thank you in advance

Drayoute
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46150
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DNS 320LW - Local Backup URL Issue
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2018, 06:56:31 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your DNS? Look at the sticker behind or under the device.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the DNSs web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

What Mfr and model is the main host router?

So you can access the folder on the DNS from one PC and not this one particular PC?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Drayoute

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: DNS 320LW - Local Backup URL Issue
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2018, 07:53:01 AM »

Hi,

What Hardware version is your DNS? Look at the sticker behind or under the device. A2
Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the DNSs web page under status. 1.11
What region are you located? I'm from France
What Mfr and model is the main host router?  I have the router from my ISP Orange (France) with model livebox 3 FR (Sagemcom)

So you can access the folder on the DNS from one PC and not this one particular PC? I want to setup a local backup on LAN. But i can access the folder on my Pc i want to save. When i test the URL, test result = fail.

I have no problem accessing my NAS from my PC. The problem occurs only from the NAS interface to access the directory of my PC to be backed up

Thx for your help !
Logged

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1400
Re: DNS 320LW - Local Backup URL Issue
« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2018, 06:23:56 AM »

Sorry but a few more questions.

1) have you tried accessing a different directory on your computer from the NAS local backup page?

2) can you access the directories of another computer from the local backup page of the NAS?

3) what operating system do you use on your computers?

4) does the NAS have a fixed IP address?  If yes is that IP outside the DHCP range of the livebox (I can't remember if you can set the dhcp range on a livebox it has been a rather long time since I set one up)?

I ask those questions to try and determine if it is a NAS problem, a network problem or something else.
The usual cause of what you are seeing is a change of IP address for the target computer or lately win 10 doing stupid things with SAMBA/CIFS.
 
Logged

Drayoute

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: DNS 320LW - Local Backup URL Issue
« Reply #4 on: November 04, 2018, 12:26:16 PM »

Hello Ivan,

1) have you tried accessing a different directory on your computer from the NAS local backup page? Yes, i tried to create new folder with access for everybody, doesn't work. I'm also sure that the authorized accounts on shared folders work. (This was the case before)

2) can you access the directories of another computer from the local backup page of the NAS? No, same issue

3) what operating system do you use on your computers? W10on my 2 computers

4) does the NAS have a fixed IP address?  If yes is that IP outside the DHCP range of the livebox (I can't remember if you can set the dhcp range on a livebox it has been a rather long time since I set one up)? They are on the same range (192.168.1.X)

For now, I would tend to think that the problem comes from Windows, since everything was working perfectly, and only windows was updated before encountering the problem.
Logged

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1400
Re: DNS 320LW - Local Backup URL Issue
« Reply #5 on: November 04, 2018, 01:03:50 PM »

From what you say I would agree with your assumption that win 10 is the problem.

I have friends that use win 10 on some of their computers that started having problems with SAMBA/CIFS.  We solved that problem by using the FTP server built into the NAS and FileZilla as the client on the computers (for that to work you need the NAS to be on a fixed IP address).  The other drawback is that it is not automated - you have to select what you need to copy to the NAS.  Their computers that don't have win 10 on them (win 7 Pro and Linux Mint) have continued working as normal with the net backup.

Sorry I don't have a magic wand that makes win 10 and most small NAS boxes work together - only Microsoft can do that if they ever decide to.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46150
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DNS 320LW - Local Backup URL Issue
« Reply #6 on: November 05, 2018, 06:41:37 AM »

Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Drayoute

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: DNS 320LW - Local Backup URL Issue
« Reply #7 on: November 05, 2018, 07:29:56 AM »

I have already seen this post and I have already checked these settings.
I will nevertheless test with a PC under Seven, and check if I have the patch presented in the second post.

Thanks for the help.
Logged