• September 21, 2019, 08:13:01 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Wrong Firmware on it how i get it proper  (Read 1486 times)

comet424

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Wrong Firmware on it how i get it proper
« on: August 13, 2018, 04:00:37 PM »

i have tried different tricks  i read  last one was using firefox  in windows safe mode with networking where it worked  to give me an error saying  wrong hardware ID
i bought this router 20 bucks

the router had  3.15 for C1rev    and i was able to downgrade to 3.10   but the sticker on the router  is a E1  needs 5.10
but when i try  nothiong works

i was going to try ddwrt  and openwrt  on it  and i cant even do that..   i event tried  TFTP command and wont connect

is there a trick to get the right firmware on it
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Wrong Firmware on it how i get it proper
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2018, 07:04:58 PM »

Try this:
Emergency Recovery Mode
If this fails, router is probably bad.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

comet424

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Wrong Firmware on it how i get it proper
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2018, 10:42:46 AM »

ya I had done that.. that's where it gives me Hardware ID Tag or whatever  error 
but it will downgrade to 3.10  but it wont goto the proper 5.10   it works as a 3.10C1    even though its a E1 version

wanted to put this OpenWRT or DDRWT on it but I cant  just the dlink version  310
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Wrong Firmware on it how i get it proper
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2018, 10:46:46 AM »

I presume once its loaded with the incorrect version, it would take some deeper methods to get it back to Rev E FW. Something we know have information on here in the forums.

Only thing you might try is to modify the Header ID in the FW if you have that knowledge...It could work. I remember someone in the DIR-825 forum mentioning that years ago. Where in that forum, I don't know.  ::)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

comet424

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Wrong Firmware on it how i get it proper
« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2018, 05:05:15 AM »

ya I not sure how to do that.. i know  hex editor stuff but only when told what to look for

very frustrating  it be nice  a upload  no matter what feature lol
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Wrong Firmware on it how i get it proper
« Reply #5 on: August 15, 2018, 06:51:24 AM »

 ::)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting