• December 11, 2018, 02:02:10 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Extending Range, But No Internet  (Read 1043 times)

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 9 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1550
Re: Extending Range, But No Internet
« Reply #15 on: August 02, 2018, 01:36:59 PM »

The router is 192.168.0.50? This is usually the IP of the extender.

If you can connect directly to the router (wired or wireless) and just do the start > run > CMD > ipconfig

What is the default gateway IP?

What brand/model is your router?
Logged

RobertCB

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Extending Range, But No Internet
« Reply #16 on: August 02, 2018, 01:46:22 PM »

OK, thought you wanted me to connect to the DAP and check those IPs?

When I switch back to the router (the network I'm attempting to extend that has internet access), the DHCP Server is 192.168.1.1

When I connect to the DAP (the network I set up in the DAP's control panel), the DHCP Server is 192.168.0.50

Am I missing something here?  I cannot get to the DAP when connected to the router, and vice versa.
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 9 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1550
Re: Extending Range, But No Internet
« Reply #17 on: August 02, 2018, 02:05:46 PM »

OK the problem is they are on different subnets (192.168.0.x vs 192.168.1.x).

The repeater SHOULD be passing on the DHCP settings from your router to your clients and this is not happening.

Logged

RobertCB

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Extending Range, But No Internet
« Reply #18 on: August 02, 2018, 02:09:29 PM »

Excellent, problem diagnosed!

Now, would you have any idea how to go about fixing this?  Can I change that setting in the DAP?  Or will it need to happen in the router?  I do not have access to the router's settings, and fear that it will not be possible to change it there (office environment).
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 9 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1550
Re: Extending Range, But No Internet
« Reply #19 on: August 02, 2018, 02:16:24 PM »

Sorry I clicked Post before finishing...

Just to verify your settings on the extender:

Log in and go to SETUP > Wireless Setup.  Make sure the wireless mode is Extender.

Unfortunately I do not have a unit. I asked a tech and they do not have any of these in inventory.

When you do log into your extender, under SETUP, do you have a Network Settings option?
Logged

RobertCB

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Extending Range, But No Internet
« Reply #20 on: August 02, 2018, 02:19:02 PM »

Just got back in from the location of the DAP, so I'll have to head back out to connect to it.  But I can confirm that I'm on "Extender" in the settings.

Is there a way for me to attach an image to a post?  I can send you a screen grab of the settings?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46284
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Extending Range, But No Internet
« Reply #21 on: August 02, 2018, 02:24:46 PM »

Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 9 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1550
Re: Extending Range, But No Internet
« Reply #22 on: August 02, 2018, 03:08:11 PM »

Also, when connected to the Extender, go to start > run > CMD > type ipconfig. Is the IP address 192.168.0.xxx or 192.168.1.xxx? 

If it is 192.168.0.xxx, at the prompt type ipconfig /release. Wait a few seconds. This will clear your DHCP settings on your computer.
Now type ipconfig /renew. This can take a minute. Your new IP settings should display and hopefully you get a 192.168.1.xxx IP address. Try connecting to the Internet.

If the renew process takes a long time and then times out. The router and extender are not connected properly. Log in to the extender and go to SETUP > Setup Wizard and rerun it.

How far is the extender from the router?
Logged

RobertCB

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Extending Range, But No Internet
« Reply #23 on: August 13, 2018, 11:56:16 AM »

Sorry for the delay, I was out on vacation last week and am now picking up where we left off....

I've connected to the DAP and verified that there is a WIreless Settings" panel.  Here is a screenshot of it:

https://ibb.co/hZWSgU



Could I be having issues with the way the IPv6 is set?

(EDIT: Sorry, but the instructions/IMG code is not working in my post for the screenshot, so I just linked it)
« Last Edit: August 13, 2018, 12:00:00 PM by RobertCB »
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]