• November 17, 2018, 06:43:20 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Set config timeout error  (Read 960 times)

am.john

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Set config timeout error
« on: July 06, 2018, 01:02:46 AM »

Unable to control my dcs5020l camera anymore, keep getting a set config timeout error, this seems to have happened since the last update to the app, been like this for weeks now ?.
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 8 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1496
Re: Set config timeout error
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2018, 07:09:46 AM »

What version of the app are you using?

What version iOS or Android are you using?

Does this happen from multiple devices? Only this camera?

At what point do you get the error message?
Logged

am.john

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Set config timeout error
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2018, 08:45:32 AM »

Latest release of the app 3.8.7 build 2499. Happens on all iPhones and all version of iPad.

Started after the last update of the app.

Only happens on this model of camera

Happens when you press the remote control button, but will also happen if just left for a period of time, usually after 10-15 seconds.
« Last Edit: July 08, 2018, 11:53:10 PM by am.john »
Logged

am.john

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Set config timeout error
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2018, 11:21:40 PM »

Any update on this ?.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46158
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Set config timeout error
« Reply #4 on: July 11, 2018, 06:39:30 AM »

Has the camera been rebooted. Might try a factory reset, remove from the mydlink services, then re-add it and then try the app again...
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 8 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1496
Re: Set config timeout error
« Reply #5 on: July 11, 2018, 08:47:09 AM »

I sent this to a tech and will report this to the mydlink team.

Also contact tech support in your region so they can also report the issue to the mydlink team.
« Last Edit: July 11, 2018, 08:49:01 AM by GreenBay42 »
Logged

am.john

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Set config timeout error
« Reply #6 on: July 15, 2018, 10:24:26 AM »

Have tried doing complete reset, but still no better. Seems to be that the controls for moving camera are the last to load within the app, depending how quick these load determines how quickly it times out. Some days better than others.
Logged

am.john

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Set config timeout error
« Reply #7 on: July 18, 2018, 11:23:08 PM »

As this has now been unusable for weeks now, I have decided to junk all my drink cameras and go to an alternative make  :( :(
Logged

am.john

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Set config timeout error
« Reply #8 on: July 21, 2018, 10:26:54 AM »

***Update****
Possible cause, I have now been able to trace a bit further this issue. It only happens on mobile networks, works absolutely when remotely connecting via a Wi-fi Network, any Wi-fi network on your phone or  iPad works fine, but when connecting via a 4G cellular network it does not work, I get the config error. I have confirmed this issue exists with a number of different cellular networks.

Over to you guys.........
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46158
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Set config timeout error
« Reply #9 on: July 21, 2018, 12:50:04 PM »

What cell service provider are you using?
I'm on ATT and its working for me, however I don't have your same model cameras though... :-\
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

am.john

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Set config timeout error
« Reply #10 on: July 22, 2018, 10:59:22 AM »

I have tried it on 3 different carriers and gave problems on all of them, however as of today it’s now not working on wi-if, it does seem to vary day to day ?.
Logged

am.john

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Set config timeout error
« Reply #11 on: July 22, 2018, 12:55:21 PM »

I would also comment that all the other cameras on the same network work ok with no problems, it’s just the dcs5020L, and it seems to be down to the speed that the various controls take to load.
Logged

am.john

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Set config timeout error
« Reply #12 on: July 25, 2018, 07:16:28 AM »

So today, there was a firmware update available for this camera, downloaded it and installed it, now it works fine, hopefully it’s stable and will hold up now.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46158
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Set config timeout error (RESOLVED)
« Reply #13 on: July 25, 2018, 07:18:31 AM »

What version of FW are you seeing now?
Is it the same as listed here for your model camera?

Glad it working now. Enjoy.
 ;)
« Last Edit: July 25, 2018, 07:20:12 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 8 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1496
Re: Set config timeout error
« Reply #14 on: July 26, 2018, 07:17:30 AM »

Let us know how that firmware works out. There were a bunch of security fixes and they updated the mydlink agent as well as updated the certificates which were probably causing your issues.

http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=73920.0
Logged