• March 28, 2020, 08:39:14 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Hard Factory reset DNS-1560-04 1U-4 Bay Rackmount SMB NAS  (Read 2572 times)

kirion

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Hard Factory reset DNS-1560-04 1U-4 Bay Rackmount SMB NAS
« on: June 08, 2018, 09:30:27 AM »

Hi,

I need to hard factory reset DNS-1560-04 1U-4 Bay Rackmount SMB NAS.
My ex-SysAdmin "forgot" user and password.

Kind Regards
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48507
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Hard Factory reset DNS-1560-04 1U-4 Bay Rackmount SMB NAS
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2018, 11:29:51 AM »

Review the user manual for this information.

Find a case reset button anywhere in back of the unit or under the unit?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

kirion

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Hard Factory reset DNS-1560-04 1U-4 Bay Rackmount SMB NAS
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2018, 06:07:20 AM »

Hi FurryNutz,

I have search in the manual and the only option is by web gui.
The reset button is in the back of the unit.

I have searched in the web for options to reset and can't find it. Have tried from other units with no success.

Kind Regards

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48507
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Hard Factory reset DNS-1560-04 1U-4 Bay Rackmount SMB NAS
« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2018, 07:17:48 AM »

So the reset button in back doesn't do anything?  ???
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

kirion

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Hard Factory reset DNS-1560-04 1U-4 Bay Rackmount SMB NAS
« Reply #4 on: June 14, 2018, 07:44:29 AM »

Just reboot the storage! >:(
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48507
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Hard Factory reset DNS-1560-04 1U-4 Bay Rackmount SMB NAS
« Reply #5 on: June 14, 2018, 08:53:42 AM »

I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this. We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email. USA region has 24/7 online chat support.
Let us know how it goes please.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

kirion

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Hard Factory reset DNS-1560-04 1U-4 Bay Rackmount SMB NAS
« Reply #6 on: June 14, 2018, 09:02:40 AM »

I'm from Portugal and unable to get an answer from US support because they tell me to contact my local office.

I don't have local telephone support. I have created a support case about two weeks and did not get any answer.  >:(

Thank you for your help.
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2433
Re: Hard Factory reset DNS-1560-04 1U-4 Bay Rackmount SMB NAS
« Reply #7 on: June 14, 2018, 09:31:50 AM »

I believe this unit needs to be sent to D-Link to reset. I am trying to find a phone number for you but not having any luck.

Keep emailing them - like everyday. They should respond within 48 hours.
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2433
Re: Hard Factory reset DNS-1560-04 1U-4 Bay Rackmount SMB NAS
« Reply #8 on: June 14, 2018, 09:40:20 AM »

Found this number - +351 707 78 00 10
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2433
Re: Hard Factory reset DNS-1560-04 1U-4 Bay Rackmount SMB NAS
« Reply #9 on: June 14, 2018, 10:33:03 AM »

Actually I found the procedure:

1. The DNS-1560 has the VGA port in the back panel and you have to find a monitor and connect the VGA port.

2. Use a USB keyboard connect (also in the back panel)

3. Enter the login name: reset (lower-case)

4. The password is the MAC address "of the management port" (lower-case). MAC should be listed on a label on the unit.

5. The login password will be reset to the factory default.

« Last Edit: June 15, 2018, 06:48:47 AM by GreenBay42 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48507
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Hard Factory reset DNS-1560-04 1U-4 Bay Rackmount SMB NAS
« Reply #10 on: June 14, 2018, 10:41:24 AM »

Thank you Sir.  ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

kirion

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Hard Factory reset DNS-1560-04 1U-4 Bay Rackmount SMB NAS
« Reply #11 on: June 15, 2018, 06:41:58 AM »

Perfect! I have successfully reset the password.

The step 4 is incorrect - it is lower case.

Thank you for your help.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48507
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Hard Factory reset DNS-1560-04 1U-4 Bay Rackmount SMB NAS (RESOLVED)
« Reply #12 on: June 15, 2018, 06:47:46 AM »

Glad you got it working.

Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!