• December 12, 2019, 01:55:03 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: cannot access 192.168.0.1 router page  (Read 15345 times)

abmjr237

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
cannot access 192.168.0.1 router page
« on: April 22, 2018, 11:59:53 AM »

Have D-Link DI-604 wired router. Windows XP. Spectrum cable internet.

My router seems to work fine - normal internet access for desktop computer. I cannot, however, access the 192.168.0.1 router admin web page through either Firefox or Chrome - I get a timed out/ no access error page. I have rebooted/reset both router and modem many times with same result.
- ipconfig confirms default router address of 192.168.0.1
- ping 192.168.0.1 confirms router recognition.

Please help.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47982
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: cannot access 192.168.0.1 router page
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2018, 12:07:35 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?

What is the Mfr and model # of the ISP modem?
Try IE11 with compatibility mode set?
Is the PC connected via LAN cable with the router?

This is a old router. Maybe time to upgrade.


Have D-Link DI-604 wired router. Windows XP. Spectrum cable internet.

My router seems to work fine - normal internet access for desktop computer. I cannot, however, access the 192.168.0.1 router admin web page through either Firefox or Chrome - I get a timed out/ no access error page. I have rebooted/reset both router and modem many times with same result.
- ipconfig confirms default router address of 192.168.0.1
- ping 192.168.0.1 confirms router recognition.

Please help.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

abmjr237

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: cannot access 192.168.0.1 router page
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2018, 09:33:45 PM »

Thanks for the quick response. To answer your questions:

I am in the South Carolina. Why do you ask my region?
Modem, a new one from Spectrum: Technicolor, model # DPC3216C
IE won't run on my XP computer. Why would the browser matter?
My PC is connected by ethernet cable to the router, which is connected to the modem by ethernet cable.
My D-Link router seems to work fine. I just cannot access the router admin web page.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47982
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: cannot access 192.168.0.1 router page
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2018, 10:26:22 PM »

Try different browsers that will run on XP. Also XP is out of date and not supported anymore either.
Try a different PC to connect to the routers web page.
What is the IP address your getting on the PC?
A factory reset should also work.
Have you powered OFF the router for 1 minuted fully then powered it back on?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2254
Re: cannot access 192.168.0.1 router page
« Reply #4 on: April 23, 2018, 10:12:57 AM »

On your XP computer, click on Start > Run. In the box type cmd and press enter. A box will appear with a cursor. Type ipconfig and press enter. What is the DEFAULT GATEWAY ip address? If it is not 192.16.0.1 then the router address changed. Type in the default gateway address in your browser to access the router.

Also, in your browser (try Internet explorer) and enter http://dlinkrouter.local.

There must be a period at the end of local for XP.
Logged

abmjr237

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: cannot access 192.168.0.1 router page
« Reply #5 on: April 23, 2018, 11:45:04 AM »

As I said in my original post, I checked the default gateway and it is 192.168.0.1 as it should be according to the router's installation guide.

I have tried 192.168.0.1 in both Firefox and Chrome (cannot use IE in XP) with the same result: "The connection has timed out. The server at 192.168.0.1 is taking too long to respond."  dlinkrouter.local. results in this message:  "Server not found. Firefox canít find the server at www.dlinkrouter.local."

ipconfig results:

C:\Documents and Settings\HP_Owner>ipconfig

Windows IP Configuration
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

        Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : sc.rr.com
        IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.102
        Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
        Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1



ping results:
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\HP_Owner>ping 192.168.0.1

Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=127
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=127
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=127
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=127

Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2254
Re: cannot access 192.168.0.1 router page
« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2018, 12:17:29 PM »

hmm strange. Do you have other computers to test from?

The router UI is pretty much basic HTML 4 with some javascript so not sure why chrome and firefox are not working. Do you have a large amount of add-ons for the browser? Internet security software like norton?

Actually the dlinkrouter.local. was not implemented into that router or any of the DI-series.

I assume you can go to any website without issues?

This router was discontinued over 10 years ago unfortunately. I am not sure if there is an emergency/crash recovery you could try to reflash the firmware file. Try with another computer and if you get the same results the router is most likely defective. 



Logged

abmjr237

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: cannot access 192.168.0.1 router page
« Reply #7 on: April 23, 2018, 01:26:08 PM »

No, I don't have another computer to use right now. No problems loading other regular web pages in Firefox or Chrome.

Up until this past week I was able to access the router page with no problem. A Google search shows that in general this is a fairly common problem, but I could not find a fix for my particular case where the router seems to be working fine with normal internet access.

A stupid question: where is the web page for 192.168.0.1 - is this hosted on the web or is it just a local thing on the router itself?

Thanks.
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2254
Re: cannot access 192.168.0.1 router page
« Reply #8 on: April 23, 2018, 01:47:53 PM »

The "web page" is on the board (ROM) of the router itself (firmware), You do not have to be connected to the internet to access it.

The web UI uses HTML so any web browser will be able to "access" it.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47982
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: cannot access 192.168.0.1 router page
« Reply #9 on: April 23, 2018, 01:49:19 PM »

Might try an older version of FF and see.

It should be accessible from any browser, however newer browsers may have newer code that may not be compatible with old HTML code. This is why IE11 in compatibility mode works for D-Links older routers.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

abmjr237

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: cannot access 192.168.0.1 router page
« Reply #10 on: April 23, 2018, 03:04:15 PM »

Now I understand why you have been asking about the browser used. I just tried using Netscape Navigator 8.0 from 2005, but it gave me the same result - timed out to a request for 192.168.0.1. Netscape still works for regular web sites, but not well.

Not sure what to do next. Is there some way to check under Windows XP whether the router is working properly? I've searched around Device Manager, etc. but can't find anything.

I hate to buy another router if I don't know what the problem is now and if I don't need to.
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2254
Re: cannot access 192.168.0.1 router page
« Reply #11 on: April 23, 2018, 03:19:14 PM »

If you know someone maybe with a laptop that could connect to the router and see if the problem follows the router or the computer. I am guessing it is the router based on the information you have supplied.

Were there any changes to XP or did you install ANY new software since the last time it worked?

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47982
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: cannot access 192.168.0.1 router page
« Reply #12 on: April 23, 2018, 03:48:26 PM »

Ya, would need to check with a different PC to see if this is a router or PC issue.

Seems like the web ui is hung up or stopped if another PC can't access the UI.

Maybe time for a new router. Its getting old and is probably a bottle neck on your ISP service and your network.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

abmjr237

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: cannot access 192.168.0.1 router page
« Reply #13 on: April 23, 2018, 06:41:22 PM »

Thanks to both of you for the quick responses. I will try to find a laptop to borrow to see how the router works with it and will report back.

No changes to XP recently. The only new software installed was the annual H&R Block tax program that was downloaded and installed the end of March.
Logged