• August 15, 2018, 09:20:36 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: D-Link 895 and bt iptv  (Read 648 times)

Scorps75

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
D-Link 895 and bt iptv
« on: April 17, 2018, 04:34:41 AM »

Hello all :)

I very recently purchased the above router and im trying to get it working with UK BTTV, i have tried enabling ipv4 and 6 multicast, putting the youview tv box in a dmz and still cant get the paid tv channels to work.
The box has internet access but no subscription channels will come through. I have read something about needing igmp snooping. Im in fttp connection 300 d and 31 up. The ont modem provided by bt is a permanent fixture and then we connect using the wan cable connection.
The router came with latest version of firmware on board so not had to do any updates etc - version DIR-895L HW:A4 FW:1.21.

All and any help appreciated.

is 1.21B05 newer than 1.21 firmware?
« Last Edit: April 17, 2018, 04:40:01 AM by Scorps75 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45441
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: D-Link 895 and bt iptv
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2018, 08:54:20 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem/ONT Mfr. and model # do you have? Built in router here by chance?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Scorps75

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: D-Link 895 and bt iptv
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2018, 10:08:12 AM »

Hello,

I am using BT internet and im England UK, the ONT modem is provided by BT and cant be changed.

We have FTTP and have speeds of 300 d and 31 up. The Router connects via wan port to and from modem.

The ONT is not a built in router as BT provide a separate Smart hub v 6 to use as the router, however this has poor gaming performance and wifi issues so wanted to use my own device like the 895l.

Also i have noted some issues with the 895l.
i was monitoring my sons PS4 connected via a 1 gb ethernet cable while he was downloading an update. The upstream was showing as 2.4gb used and the downstream was showing as less than 10mbs downloaded. I was also wondering why all of a sudden an update was taking 10 minutes instead of the usual 1 or 2 minutes depending on size of file.
I had set up qos and set the speed of our connection as 300 down and 30 up, however because the 895 seems to have these in reverse for some odd reason, the speed was being limited by qos.

So basically the upstream value and downstream value have been reversed and show incorrectly, so i set the qos so the 895 shows the up as 300 and down as 30 and voila the throughput speed returned to normal. Are D-link aware of this issue?

Also the 895 loses ipv6 randomly, some times its there and working 10/10 on the ipv6 test site and then another time (minutes later) the ipv 6 on the 895 shows no ip and the ipv test site shows 0/10 and no ipv6 detected.

Very odd behaviour so far, wondering if there are other issues im unaware of that cause me problems?
« Last Edit: April 17, 2018, 10:16:02 AM by Scorps75 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45441
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: D-Link 895 and bt iptv
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2018, 10:25:08 AM »

You might do the following, Reset the router and set up from scratch. Don't enable QoS. Just leave it alone.
See if this doesn't anything different.

I would contact the ISP and ask them how IPv6 should be configured, there are different protocols for IPv6, DHCP. Stateless, SLAAC an such. Ask them what should be used on this model router. Tell them what options it has for IPv6 and configure accordingly.

So the DIR-895 is connected directly to the ONT and not this HUB router correct?

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Scorps75

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: D-Link 895 and bt iptv
« Reply #4 on: April 17, 2018, 11:23:24 AM »

Yes direct to ont and the other bt smart hub has been replaced with this 895 d-link, i purchased the router partially on the basis of the qos so hope this works as intended ?

I can reset the router again tomorrow once children have finished their evenings gaming lol

This was set up from scratch when delivered just so your aware.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45441
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: D-Link 895 and bt iptv
« Reply #5 on: April 17, 2018, 11:26:54 AM »

Yes, I know the router comes using default settings. However you said you set up QoS so this changes things.

Please try the reset when you get a chance with out doing anything with QoS and let us know how it goes.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Scorps75

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: D-Link 895 and bt iptv
« Reply #6 on: April 18, 2018, 01:27:05 AM »

Morning :)

I have reset the 895 router and connected to the internet, not touched qos and started up my BT TV box.

The paid channels again dont work, so i turned on ipv4 multicast and rebooted both devices and still no tv content.

So i set up 2 port forwarding rules i took a screenshot of from the BT smart hub before i disconnected it and put the 895 on, rebooted and still no joy.

So im still in the same boat where the tv does not work.

put bt smart hub back on and tv works straight away.
« Last Edit: April 18, 2018, 01:54:19 AM by Scorps75 »
Logged

Scorps75

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: D-Link 895 and bt iptv
« Reply #7 on: April 18, 2018, 05:42:15 AM »

Having read around more i see the same code error has been logged on the bt forums with the dlink 822 router as well and so i have now returned the product for a full refund as its clearly not going to work.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45441
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: D-Link 895 and bt iptv
« Reply #8 on: April 18, 2018, 08:16:13 AM »

Look into some IPTV protocols and IGMP. I believe there maybe issues with IPTV and IGMP and routers.

Good Luck.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting