• September 25, 2018, 12:55:20 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DSL-2750U locked me out after Enabling Access Control Mode  (Read 1021 times)

boing

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
DSL-2750U locked me out after Enabling Access Control Mode
« on: March 14, 2018, 02:57:15 AM »

I have a DSL-2750U router connected to my home WiFi with  firmware version ME_1.03

I tried Enabling Access Control Mode
and the web page was loading  . . . (i could see it in the browser)
so i closed the router page to check and make a note of my MAC address
the next thing i know I'm locked out.
Not a single device is connecting to the internet but its connecting to the home Wifi

WiFi SSID is still visible and I'm able to connect to the WiFi with password but can't connect to internet or any web pages
Can't even connect to 192.168.1.1 which is the default gateway
I tried even connecting the laptop to the router with LAN cable and it wasn't connecting to the Default Gateway.

i tried search for the default gateway with ipconfig/all in the cmd.exe
and it was showing

Default Gateway : fe80::1%17
                             192.168.0.254

btw 192.168.0.254 shows the repeater's admin page and can access it (yes i have a WiFi repeater) when connected to the Wifi

Am i missing something?
What's solution for this?
« Last Edit: March 14, 2018, 02:59:52 AM by boing »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45784
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DSL-2750U locked me out after Enabling Access Control Mode
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2018, 08:07:30 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?

How as the Access control configured? Sounds like you locked everyone out.

Does a ethernet wired PC connect to the modem and get internet access?

If you can't gain access, you'll need to factory reset the router and set up from scratch.

I would review the user manual on how to configure the access control. Try setting the access control up for just one device if thats possible.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

boing

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: DSL-2750U locked me out after Enabling Access Control Mode
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2018, 09:34:57 AM »

Well I'm currently in INDIA
No I didn't configure anything. Just clicked "Enable Access Control" from some tab.
Now i don't even remember which option was it. . i was looking for MAC filter
Quote
Try setting the access control up for just one device if thats possible.
how to do if i'm not able to connect to the default gateway even with the LAN cable.
« Last Edit: March 14, 2018, 09:37:07 AM by boing »
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 8 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1334
Re: DSL-2750U locked me out after Enabling Access Control Mode
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2018, 09:40:43 AM »

You possibly enabled access control and accidentally locked all users out. You will need to reset the router - paperclip in the reset hole - hold for 10 seconds then release.  All settings will be deleted so you will need to reconfigure the modem and router settings.
Logged

boing

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: DSL-2750U locked me out after Enabling Access Control Mode
« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2018, 11:04:23 AM »

Isn't there any other option other than resetting and starting from scratch?

Should i hold the Paperclip while the Unit is "Plugged and ON"?
really worried about electric shocks.. . don't wanna get TASED :o
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45784
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DSL-2750U locked me out after Enabling Access Control Mode
« Reply #5 on: March 14, 2018, 11:10:28 AM »

Yes you'll need to factory reset. You can use a paper clip or a pen with a fine point to push in on the button. Its completely safe. Theres now high voltages in side the modem.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

boing

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: DSL-2750U locked me out after Enabling Access Control Mode
« Reply #6 on: March 14, 2018, 11:48:15 AM »

What all things would i have to do and input if i reset that with a pen (works for me; but still don't wanna get  :o)
Please describe it step by step. Don't wanna lose like i did before. :-[
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45784
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DSL-2750U locked me out after Enabling Access Control Mode
« Reply #7 on: March 14, 2018, 12:02:45 PM »

Have a Ethernet wired PC connected to the modem and use a web browser to log into 192.168.1.1 I believe. Walk the setup wizard and it will help you get the modem re-installed. Download the user manual as well for additional help and information.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

boing

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: DSL-2750U locked me out after Enabling Access Control Mode
« Reply #8 on: March 14, 2018, 12:10:37 PM »

Is Ethernet =  LAN Cable?
are they the same? :)

User manual url? Dlink support doesn't show the user manuals for D-Link DSL-2750U
« Last Edit: March 14, 2018, 12:14:52 PM by boing »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45784
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DSL-2750U locked me out after Enabling Access Control Mode
« Reply #9 on: March 14, 2018, 05:24:32 PM »

Yes.

Check with your regional D-Link support site.
http://support.dlink.com/globaldirectory.aspx
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!