• September 19, 2018, 11:12:53 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Several issues with brand new router  (Read 1054 times)

angelax

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Several issues with brand new router
« on: February 26, 2018, 06:10:38 PM »

I just bought a D-Link COVR-2600R system and installed it yesterday.

Configuration:
ISP (Spectrum) > Cable modem > D-Link COVR router > 2 LAN connections and several WiFi devices
HW:A1 FW:1.01

I'm having two issues which have been persistent since I installed yesterday:
1. I have a Dell desktop that was working fine with the old router (via ethernet to LAN port).  The new router has been unable to detect this device, no matter which LAN port I plugged it into.
2. The entire system has been completely dropping signal frequently (at least once per hour).  By "entire system" I mean all connections, both wireless and wired.

I have been fishing around the forums for over 24 hours now and have tried a number of fixes suggested when others have had signal issues:
My modem is standalone.
All QoS disabled.
DNS relay enabled. Specific DNS addresses entered.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router.
Security mode WPA/WPA2.
Enabled multicast streaming.

Any suggestions? I am getting amazing signal... when it's working and on the devices that will actually connect.  But I need a consistent connection, and a connection to all my devices, or else I'll need to return it and go back to my slower router for now.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45769
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Several issues with brand new router
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2018, 06:40:52 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?

Make sure your PCs networking is set for Automatic Obtain IP addressing. Was it using a Static IP address with the last router by chance?
How is the PC connecting to the router, wireless or wired LAN cable?

What is the MFr and model of the network adapter card in the PC?

Swap LAN cables to test.

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

Router and Wired Configurations
Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router. Be sure to log into the Admin account on the router.
  • Enable or Disable Use Unicasting (compatibility for some ISP DHCP Servers) and test under Setup/Internet/Manual. Disable may help with speed performance on higher speed ISP services.
  • Turn off DNS Relay under Setup/Networking. Link>Finding Faster DNS Addresses using Name Bench and input new DNS addresses under Setup/Internet/Manual.
  • Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting and maintain consistency for applications that need to connect as well as mapped drives.
  • Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
  • If IPv6 is an option on the router, select Local Connection Only under Setup/IPv6.


 
Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion and Good Neighbour Policy
  • Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Ensure that different SSID names are used between each WiFi 2.4/5Ghz radios. Can be anything and not something that's already in use by any neighbouring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
  • Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by that maybe causing interferences?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area that maybe causing interferences? Link> Use a WiFi Scanner to find out. How many?


To confirm you have this system? http://shop.us.dlink.com/d-link-covr-3902-ac3900-whole-home-wi-fi-system.html
If so, there is a beta version of FW that you should install if you haven't already:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=73003.0
Using the following Link process for updating FW:
Link> >FW Update Process
« Last Edit: February 26, 2018, 06:51:16 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

angelax

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Several issues with brand new router
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2018, 07:23:03 PM »

Region: USA (PA)

The machine that the new router isn't detecting is connected via wired LAN cable, and did have a static IP address with the old router.  It's actually a small home server that I had set up with DMZ enabled.  I want to replicate that setup with the new router, but cannot do so until the machine is detected by the router.  The network card in it is Intel I217.  It's Ubuntu, ssh access only, so I can't access any network settings right now, because I can't ssh into it without a network connection.

*Edited to add: SSID was set up as a customized name already.  No wireless phones or WiFi APs inside my house that could cause interference, but the houses are close together here, so I'm hoping there's no interference from my neighbors. Can't use any of your recommended tools for WiFi scanning because they aren't compatible with my OS (Linux).*

Modem is ARRIS Touchstone Cable Modem CM820.
I confirm that yes, I have this system  http://shop.us.dlink.com/d-link-covr-3902-ac3900-whole-home-wi-fi-system.html

I will download the beta FW you recommended as soon as I can, and if/when the signal cuts out again I'll try the upgrade.  In the meantime, any more thoughts on the machine that isn't detected even though it's on a wired connection?
« Last Edit: February 26, 2018, 07:32:44 PM by angelax »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45769
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Several issues with brand new router
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2018, 09:39:54 PM »

What was the IP address or is the Static IP address set on the PC? If it's anything other than 192.168.0.something, then the router wont connect to the NIC since theres a IP address set on the NIC.

What is the Mfr and model# of the previous router?

Have another NIC available you can install in the PC by chance?
Is the current NIC built in or PCI card? Need to get a NIC thats not set for static IP address.
Do you have the old router by chance? If you do, connect your PC back up to it and get access and set the NIC for automatic obtain IP addressing. Then connect to the D-Link router.

Have a PC that has Windows on it that you can use to set up the router?

The wireless SSID has semi custom however is a default so you can gain access with a mobile device or a laptop, to the routers web page and configure the router using a browser or a D-Link mobile app. Review the user manual on different ways to set up the router. I like to use a wired LAN cable PC connected to the router for set up.

Not sure of Linux is fully supported on this model router. Networking should be if it's using standard Networking configurations. I presume it's this static IP address set on the PCs NIC thats hampering the connection.
« Last Edit: February 26, 2018, 09:50:28 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

davevt31

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1324
Re: Several issues with brand new router
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2018, 10:47:26 AM »

2 things to try.

1.  if you are using a specific DNS address you may want to turn off DNS Relay as this will use the ISP's DNS information to each client.

2.  Turn off the multicasts streams and see if it helps.
Logged

angelax

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Several issues with brand new router
« Reply #5 on: March 01, 2018, 07:22:29 AM »

@davevt31  I will try turning off DNS relay.  However, turning on the multicast streams made it better (not 100% fixed, but less frequent signal shutdowns).  So I'm hesitant to turn them back off.

@FurryNutz I ended up just taking the old router, turning off WiFi, and placing it between the new router and the server.  (Dlink > old router > server)  That has solved that issue.  But the other issue persists.  The whole system is still shutting down all connections (wired and wireless) very frequently - for example, three or four times in the hour I've been trying to work this morning.  Any thoughts?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45769
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Several issues with brand new router
« Reply #6 on: March 01, 2018, 10:42:08 AM »

I would contact D-Link support about this. If your using up to date FW and everything is up and running. It shouldn't be shutting down. I have this same system loaned out to my friends while they are getting there cabling system in place. Hasn't been any issues since I installed it about two weeks ago.

I would ask for an RMA. If you don't have a back up router to use while you send the COVR back, ask about cross shipping RMA.

@davevt31  I will try turning off DNS relay.  However, turning on the multicast streams made it better (not 100% fixed, but less frequent signal shutdowns).  So I'm hesitant to turn them back off.

@FurryNutz I ended up just taking the old router, turning off WiFi, and placing it between the new router and the server.  (Dlink > old router > server)  That has solved that issue.  But the other issue persists.  The whole system is still shutting down all connections (wired and wireless) very frequently - for example, three or four times in the hour I've been trying to work this morning.  Any thoughts?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

angelax

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Several issues with brand new router
« Reply #7 on: March 01, 2018, 02:03:50 PM »

Thank you for your help!  I will contact support and update this thread once the issue is resolved (in case anyone ever has a similar issue and comes across this thread in the archives in the future).
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45769
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Several issues with brand new router
« Reply #8 on: March 01, 2018, 02:07:24 PM »

 ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!