• October 19, 2020, 10:04:10 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Trying to get to firmware 3.12  (Read 3396 times)

jridder

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Trying to get to firmware 3.12
« on: February 03, 2018, 12:50:21 PM »

I have been playing around with getting my router updated but can't quite get there. I have the DSR-250 updated to 3.11B101H_WW but when I try to then load DSR-250_Ax_FW3.12_WW_common the router reports it's the wrong file. Reading the attached pdf for the 3.12 firmware, it mentions that the intermediate firmware would be DSR-250_A2_FW3.11B001E_WW (I have the A2 hardware version). DSR-250_A2_FW3.11B001E_WW isn't in the 3.12 zip file and I did a search and nothing has come up. What am I missing??

Thanks!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49269
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Trying to get to firmware 3.12
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2018, 01:09:09 PM »

I'm seeing the B001E intermediate file in the .zip here:
http://support.dlink.com/ProductInfo.aspx?m=DSR-250
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

jridder

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Trying to get to firmware 3.12
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2018, 08:37:37 AM »

I only see the A4 variant.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49269
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Trying to get to firmware 3.12
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2018, 08:58:04 AM »

I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this. Ask them if this file can be used on our A2 model. We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email. If in the USA, there is 24/7 online chat support.
Let us know how it goes please.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2554
Re: Trying to get to firmware 3.12
« Reply #4 on: February 08, 2018, 09:07:15 AM »

I am researching this now. If you updated the 3.11 firmware with the Intermediate file and common, the 3.12 common should work.

I have an A2 and will try upgrading now.

Logged

jridder

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Trying to get to firmware 3.12
« Reply #5 on: February 08, 2018, 09:17:48 AM »

I kind of remember saying something about it was for the wrong hardware but I did so many variants of upgrades that it kind of became a blur.
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2554
Re: Trying to get to firmware 3.12
« Reply #6 on: February 08, 2018, 09:20:25 AM »

It failed for me too. I am talking to a tech now and will figure out why it is failing.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49269
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Trying to get to firmware 3.12
« Reply #7 on: February 08, 2018, 09:24:25 AM »

Thank you Sir.  ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2554
Re: Trying to get to firmware 3.12
« Reply #8 on: February 08, 2018, 09:26:10 AM »

I cannot find the DSR-250_A2_FW3.11B001E file in the global database. Not sure why they did not include it in the file package.

 I will pull the firmware off the site for now and yell at some people notify the techs to get the correct firmware.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49269
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Trying to get to firmware 3.12
« Reply #9 on: February 08, 2018, 09:27:16 AM »

 ::)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2554
Re: Trying to get to firmware 3.12
« Reply #10 on: February 08, 2018, 09:37:15 AM »

I am trying the A4 file in the zip package and so far it is working. I will post my results when finished. I just hope they mislabeled the file.
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2554
Re: Trying to get to firmware 3.12
« Reply #11 on: February 08, 2018, 09:53:09 AM »

OK. The A4 file worked but it is actually version 3.11B202E. I then upgraded using the 3.12 file and it worked without errors so the A4 file is labelled incorrectly. I will notify the techs to correct the file names and release notes.

FYI when I did update the A4 file, it stuck at 13% for about a minute and a half and then kicked in so just let it run if it happens to you.

Logged

jridder

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Trying to get to firmware 3.12
« Reply #12 on: February 08, 2018, 10:16:30 AM »

You're right, it does work. Wow what a process upgrading from version 2 of the firmware.
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2554
Re: Trying to get to firmware 3.12
« Reply #13 on: February 08, 2018, 10:26:55 AM »

It is an interesting process to say the least... 

Let us know if you experience any issues with the firmware.
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2554
Re: Trying to get to firmware 3.12
« Reply #14 on: February 13, 2018, 10:41:19 AM »

File package now includes both the A2 and A4 intermediate files.

ftp://FTP2.DLINK.COM/PRODUCTS/DSR-250/REVA/DSR-250_REVA_FIRMWARE_v3.12_WW.zip
Logged
Pages: [1] 2