• August 20, 2018, 05:57:48 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Did I just buy an 895L router brick?  (Read 1272 times)

Chresine

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Did I just buy an 895L router brick?
« on: November 08, 2017, 02:46:03 AM »

Same exact thing here as your other member Mertol, I am fuming!!!!! This hapened to me the same night I brought it home. I returned my ASUS AC5300 router a few months ago because it hung and lost one 5Ghz channel, it was very slow to get a refund from the supplier.  So, I go and buy a D-link 895L, I have always had great reliability with them in the past.

Soon after connecting to the Internet, everything was fine in the beginning, although I found the GUI similar to my older D-link router, very basic.  I was asked automatically to upgrade the firmware, twice, without any manual intervention from my end.  The first firmware upgrade went fine, but soon after the second one (I believe it was V1.20) the router just hanged, with only the power light flashing, I tried all of the usual resets, nothing worked. I cannot connect to the router now.

My question is, do I have a bricked router? Man, I would hate to send it back and wait another couple of months to get a replacement (probbaly not a D-link). Like the other member, I live in MEA and use DU as an Internet provider. I hope that I did not buy a 'brick' . . . Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Is there any way for me to access the menu and give it one last try?
Logged

Chresine

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Did I just buy an 895L router brick?
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2017, 03:50:10 AM »

Could this problem be specific to AC5300 routers?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45459
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Did I just buy an 895L router brick?
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2017, 06:58:38 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • Has a Factory Reset been performed?
  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
  Link> >FW Update Process
  • Was the router working before any firmware updates?


You can go back to v1.13 and see if this helps any. Use the following process:
Emergency Recovery Mode

Test with Smart Connect enabled and disabled as well.

IF this fails to bring the router back to good operation, You'll need to  phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this. We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Let us know how it goes please.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 7 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1175
Re: Did I just buy an 895L router brick?
« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2017, 07:50:14 AM »

When doing the recovery, use firmware version 1.15B02 that is included with the 1.20 package. Once the firmware is flashed, log back into the router (bypassing the wizard) and MANUALLY update the firmware to 1.20B02. Do not do the automatic upgrade. Just cancel that.
Logged

Chresine

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Did I just buy an 895L router brick?
« Reply #4 on: November 08, 2017, 08:22:41 PM »

Thank you folks for the quick reply. It actually worked!!!! I was just about ready to throw in the towel. I believe the trick was the assignment of a static IP address. In any case, I reverted back to FW 13, I am now too scared to upgrade to a new FW unless and until it will make a drastic change in performance.

I purchased this router to work around the slowdown that happens when everyone is on at the same time, that and the distance.  I am hopeful it will be an improvement on my already very sturdy, with an amazing signal strength, AC1750 DIR Dlink router. Having had more success with choosing which signal goes to which devices, I will try the automatic option first before going back to manual.

Time will tell if I made the right call, early days. Thank you for your help, really much appreciated.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45459
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Did I just buy an 895L router brick? (RESOLVED)
« Reply #5 on: November 08, 2017, 09:18:46 PM »

Glad you got it working again...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Chresine

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Did I just buy an 895L router brick?
« Reply #6 on: November 09, 2017, 12:09:55 AM »

I am a happy camper for the time being, I need to spend more time with it and push it to its limits with multiple devices. Thanks again, great forum, glad I was able to find it.

My last question is whether it assigns frequencies automatically for the devices that are trying to access the Internet?
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 7 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1175
Re: Did I just buy an 895L router brick?
« Reply #7 on: November 09, 2017, 06:43:41 AM »

If smart connect is enabled, the router will assign the client the best band/channel. The router will perform better with smart connect disabled to be honest. Wireless clients are also "smarter" now and will connect to the best signal (if they are dual-band and have connected to both bands on your router).

Newer generation routers (last couple years) are better at scanning your area and locking on the cleanest channel.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45459
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting