+  D-Link Forums
|-+  D-Link ShareCenter Network Storage» DNS-323» Sync time remaining: degraded
Username:
Password:
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Sync time remaining: degraded  (Read 2677 times)
pinback
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 2


« on: August 11, 2009, 07:47:32 AM »

DNS-323 with two WDC WD5000KS 500GB drives in RAID 1. Firmware 1.07. Have had the "degraded" status for a year under various firmwares. Both drive lights are blue. What do I do to correct this situation?

When I log on to the DNS-323 it immediately goes to the Hard Drive Configuration page and says "Click 'Next' to begin formatting the replacement drive. Re-Sync will take place after the restart." I always skip this message. Should I click 'Next' instead? Will my data be preserved?
Logged
fordem
Level 10 Member
*****
Posts: 2158


« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2009, 08:26:04 AM »

If you've never taken any steps to fix the "issue" and clicked cancel every time the DNS-323 prompts you to fix it, then the problem WILL remain.

I would start by backing up the data - there is nothing to indicate which drive the DNS-323 thinks is defective, and you could have it format the wrong drive and sync from the other 'older' one, causing a loss of all data stored after the "degradation" occurred.

In an ideal scenario the unit - which seems to think one of the drives is new - will format the "new" drive and then sync from the other drive, but, better to backup whilst you can and be safe, rather than sorry.
Logged

RAID1 is for disk redundancy - NOT data backup - don't confuse the two.
pinback
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 2


« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2009, 11:34:42 AM »

Problem solved. Backed up NAS (6 hours). Resynced RAID 1 (3 hours). Nothing lost.

Why isn't there a mention of this "degraded" message in the manual, FAQ, or KB?
Logged
fordem
Level 10 Member
*****
Posts: 2158


« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2009, 02:19:18 PM »

Uhhh - I know it's not in the manual, but I thought it was in the FAQ.

Perhaps it was overlooked - the term degraded (also impaired) is generically used to indicate that a RAID array is not optimal or in the desired state, I'm guessing those of us who work with RAID routinely never realised that a less experienced user might not understand it.
Logged

RAID1 is for disk redundancy - NOT data backup - don't confuse the two.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Theme by webtechnica.com.