• October 17, 2017, 03:16:21 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: HELP - Installed new Arris Router DCS-936L will not connect  (Read 332 times)

mxtree9

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4

I was using a router provided by Comcast originally.  Purchased my own router Arris and now my camera will not connect to it.  I tried to run the mobile app  on my android phone mydlinklite to configure but the camera does not present a blue light on the rear, which is part of the set up process  I have pressed the reset button for 10 seconds and it only flashes green.  I pressed the WPS button on the top of router, my camera power button flashes green, then flashes red.  It fails to set up.

What am I doing wrong here?

Any help would greatly be appreciated.

BTW-I am a newbie with this device. 

Thanks for any help-
Michelle
« Last Edit: July 31, 2017, 05:30:48 PM by mxtree9 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43353
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: HELP - Installed new Arris Router DCS-936L will not connect
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2017, 05:35:56 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?

What Mfr and model is the main host router?
What wireless modes are you using on the main host router.

There is no Blue LED in the rear, there is a Green LED and a Amber or red. It's one LED however does 3 colors. None of them blue.

I would try using the SSID name and PW of the main host router to see if you can add the camera using that process. 
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

mxtree9

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: HELP - Installed new Arris Router DCS-936L will not connect
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2017, 05:45:55 PM »

I'm located in New Hampshire- USA

Arris SURFboard

Cable Modem & Wi-fi router
AC1600

Model SBG6700-AC

Wireless Modes????
Logged

mxtree9

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: HELP - Installed new Arris Router DCS-936L will not connect
« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2017, 05:47:33 PM »

With my camera plugged in now to power- it is flashing red light
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43353
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: HELP - Installed new Arris Router DCS-936L will not connect
« Reply #4 on: July 31, 2017, 07:10:28 PM »

What wireless modes are you using on the main host router?
Mixed Modes, Single G or N?
What security modes are you using on the main host router? WPA or WPA2? WPA2 and AES is recommended for this camera.

Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

mxtree9

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: HELP - Installed new Arris Router DCS-936L will not connect
« Reply #5 on: August 13, 2017, 06:32:35 AM »

FurryNutz.  How do I find out this info that you ask?  Total newbie with this stuff

Thanks for your help.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43353
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: HELP - Installed new Arris Router DCS-936L will not connect
« Reply #6 on: August 13, 2017, 10:52:41 AM »

Log into the modem/router combos web page. Refer to your ISP or modem Mfr for help and information regarding this. Try 192.168.100.1.
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting