• September 20, 2019, 03:21:08 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: night motion detect Sensitivity setting - what would be a 'good' value?  (Read 5634 times)

turnbui

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83

hi,
night motion detect Sensitivity setting - what would be a 'good' value? the manual shows 2 settings to the right of the picture [Sensitivity and Percentage] but chrome shows only the Sensitivity?
Logged

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2110
Re: night motion detect Sensitivity setting - what would be a 'good' value?
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2017, 04:38:35 PM »

Use IE.  Chrome hasn't really worked well with those kind of screens.  (In fact, it's not even an available option on some cams).

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: night motion detect Sensitivity setting - what would be a 'good' value?
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2017, 05:09:59 PM »

Or try FF.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

turnbui

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
Re: night motion detect Sensitivity setting - what would be a 'good' value?
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2017, 08:55:55 PM »

unfortunately i only have xp but have tried FF. is 65% sensitivity a usable value?
Logged

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2110
Re: night motion detect Sensitivity setting - what would be a 'good' value?
« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2017, 04:47:40 AM »

unfortunately i only have xp but have tried FF. is 65% sensitivity a usable value?

It depends. But it is used in conjunction with setting an area on the image. Without setting the red boxes, it won't matter.

You are going to have to use piR detection, or try setting the motion detection in the mydlink app on your phone, or at mydlink.Com
Logged

turnbui

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
Re: night motion detect Sensitivity setting - what would be a 'good' value?
« Reply #5 on: January 03, 2017, 10:47:42 AM »

i'm using the cameras software with FF to set motion area which are showing as green boxes. i have covered 90% of screen area i want to capture as critters goon to roof area. i can't use mydlink portal as i have old hardware. is this a problem?
« Last Edit: January 03, 2017, 11:17:33 AM by turnbui »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: night motion detect Sensitivity setting - what would be a 'good' value?
« Reply #6 on: January 03, 2017, 11:17:40 AM »

OLD HW? Whats old? PC?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

turnbui

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
Re: night motion detect Sensitivity setting - what would be a 'good' value?
« Reply #7 on: January 03, 2017, 11:40:52 AM »

yes PC old, me old IE 8.0 on XP.
Logged

turnbui

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
Re: night motion detect Sensitivity setting - what would be a 'good' value?
« Reply #8 on: January 03, 2017, 11:46:41 AM »

this shows roof areas i'm trying to capture. trees at far end and skylight reflected clouds causing false positives

« Last Edit: January 04, 2017, 02:09:37 AM by turnbui »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: night motion detect Sensitivity setting - what would be a 'good' value?
« Reply #9 on: January 03, 2017, 12:22:30 PM »

Might not select some of the outer edges maybe and test.

Not sure if XP would be hindering anything. You'd have to test on a new PC maybe and see.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

turnbui

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
Re: night motion detect Sensitivity setting - what would be a 'good' value?
« Reply #10 on: January 03, 2017, 12:23:41 PM »

OK thanks.
Logged

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2110
Re: night motion detect Sensitivity setting - what would be a 'good' value?
« Reply #11 on: January 03, 2017, 04:26:37 PM »

Interesting

V1.01 F/W has Percentage. 1.12 does not.

Both have Sensitivity.

On both F/W in IE11, when I fill in the boxes in the image, they are green - but when I let up my mouse button - they turn red.

Logged

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2110
Re: night motion detect Sensitivity setting - what would be a 'good' value?
« Reply #12 on: January 03, 2017, 04:34:04 PM »

Method 2 at the bottom F/W pages.

The newer F/W don't have percentage.  You should get red boxes like this when it is locked in.

http://www.dlink.com/uk/en/support/faq/cameras-and-surveillance/dcs-series/dcs-2330l/how-do-i-configure-motion-detection-on-my-camera
Logged

turnbui

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
Re: night motion detect Sensitivity setting - what would be a 'good' value?
« Reply #13 on: January 03, 2017, 07:08:15 PM »

hmmm! thanks. my boxes stay green. guess i need to try newer IE / FF.
my cam has F/W 1.14
« Last Edit: January 03, 2017, 07:10:39 PM by turnbui »
Logged

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2110
Re: night motion detect Sensitivity setting - what would be a 'good' value?
« Reply #14 on: January 03, 2017, 08:16:02 PM »

I fired up my XP machine, but remembered I disconnect it from the network ...

I'll maybe try another time like on the weekend in XP, but there is probably no hope with it.

Have you tried port forwarding and accessing the cam remotely from your machine?  I forget where you ended up on that route.
Or is your machine the XP machine? lol

Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3