• November 21, 2019, 09:48:20 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Help!,... Volume (JBOD) size limited to 6TB?????  (Read 2096 times)

Bambleweeny57

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Help!,... Volume (JBOD) size limited to 6TB?????
« on: December 18, 2016, 08:58:03 PM »

Hi All

Does anyone know if the DNS-343 has any Volume size limitations to 6TB?

I just put three 3TB WD Red drives into my 343, configured it for JBOD, told it it use all the space,
and it's created a volume of only 5.9TB (6488769 MB).
All three drives are passing diagnostics inside and outside off the 343 so I know I have 9GB of space.
I believe that I used the Ext2 filesystem but the useless web portal doesn't seem to show that after the setup.
My firmware is the latest v1.05 (I can't seem to find the 1.06 beta)

I can't think of any other reason for this other than an inherent limitation of the 343.
I see no inherent size limits to JBOD or to ext2 so I'm frankly at a bit of a loss.

If anyone knows the 343 has max size limits or what I may be doing wrong here I'd love to hear from you.
Alternatively, if anyone has sucesssfully created volumes of greater than 6TB on a 343, please let me know also!
Failing that I guess I'm finally giving up on D-link and moving to the big boys at qnap or synology.

Cheers
Paul
(Oh, and before the flaming starts, YES I KNOW JBOD is insecure,...
this is just one "network" backup of my active system drives and I also have a seprate offline HDD backup!)
« Last Edit: December 18, 2016, 09:03:17 PM by Bambleweeny57 »
Logged

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2110
Re: Help!,... Volume (JBOD) size limited to 6TB?????
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2016, 09:27:03 PM »

I googled the device, and 1st comment from amazon may provide your answer.


Question: What's the maximum single hdd capacity supported? (ie - will it support 4x6tb drives?)
Answer: It will support 2TB max. If you place anything larger in there, it will see them, but you can still only use 2TB on each drive. Found this out the hard way when I put 4 3TB drives in there and it only let me use 8 TB of space.
By Josh on July 9, 2015
Logged

Bambleweeny57

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Help!,... Volume (JBOD) size limited to 6TB?????
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2016, 07:41:24 AM »

Argh, my google-fu shames me!
Thank you Ryat3. I guesss it's time for a newer box (or maybe two volumes assuming the 343 will allow that!)

I guess I partly ignore amazon reviews assuming 99% of them are filtered marketing bot screeds telling how the amazing product saved their life, cured their baby's tuberculosis, and fostered an era of world peace.
Logged

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2110
Re: Help!,... Volume (JBOD) size limited to 6TB?????
« Reply #3 on: December 19, 2016, 09:21:57 AM »

There maybe f/w updates that fix this. I don't have this device so I have no experience with it.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Help!,... Volume (JBOD) size limited to 6TB?????
« Reply #4 on: December 19, 2016, 10:19:06 AM »

There isn't any more updates. There was a v1.06 beta however it was on D-Links old FTP site which they took down a couple of years ago. It's not on the new FTP site.
I believe the 343 has gone into EOL.  :-\


There maybe f/w updates that fix this. I don't have this device so I have no experience with it.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting