• December 07, 2019, 06:23:24 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Wake on Lan broadcast  (Read 1760 times)

licoresch

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Wake on Lan broadcast
« on: November 07, 2016, 12:11:39 AM »

So I recently upgraded a 5 year old DLink router I was having speed troubles with to the DIR-890L.  Speeds are through the roof and I'm pretty happy so far.  Spent the better part of the evening transferring over and testing my configuration.  I have everything back to normal expect for wake on lan.  My last router used the 192.168.0.255 broadcast address but when I go to add it in the 890L a message pops up saving it's invalid.  A little help would be greatly appreciated!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47964
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Wake on Lan broadcast
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2016, 06:53:49 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Which prior DIR model router did you have?
Newer generation model routers including some older generation don't support the .255 broadcast address.
You might review these:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=37018.0 and http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=65681.0

So I recently upgraded a 5 year old DLink router I was having speed troubles with to the DIR-890L.  Speeds are through the roof and I'm pretty happy so far.  Spent the better part of the evening transferring over and testing my configuration.  I have everything back to normal expect for wake on lan.  My last router used the 192.168.0.255 broadcast address but when I go to add it in the 890L a message pops up saving it's invalid.  A little help would be greatly appreciated!
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

licoresch

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Wake on Lan broadcast
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2016, 09:00:30 PM »

Router:  DIR-890L
Hardware Version: A2 (according to the sticker and the box but it's noted as A1 on the routers web page)
Firmware version:  1.10
Region:  USA

I'm upgrading from a DIR-857.   That router did everything I needed but a few months ago the wired ports got ridiculously slow for no apparent reason.  I was getting speeds 10x higher via wireless!  The DIR-857 was a couple years old so I thought it was time to upgrade.  I thought it would be pretty simple upgrading to a router by the same manufacturer.  For the most part it was it's just this WOL issue that I'm having a problem with.  I have 3 computers that I would like to be able to use WOL on from outside my network.  It worked fine on the DIR-857 so I know my clients are configured correctly.  I'm a bit disappointed I have to work so hard to make it work on my new DIR-890L. 

I tried both of the suggestions in the links provided.  The first one doesn't work because I have a newer interface that does not appear to have options to change NAT Endpoint Filtering.  The second one does not appear to apply to this case. 

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Which prior DIR model router did you have?
Newer generation model routers including some older generation don't support the .255 broadcast address.
You might review these:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=37018.0 and http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=65681.0

So I recently upgraded a 5 year old DLink router I was having speed troubles with to the DIR-890L.  Speeds are through the roof and I'm pretty happy so far.  Spent the better part of the evening transferring over and testing my configuration.  I have everything back to normal expect for wake on lan.  My last router used the 192.168.0.255 broadcast address but when I go to add it in the 890L a message pops up saving it's invalid.  A little help would be greatly appreciated!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47964
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Wake on Lan broadcast
« Reply #3 on: November 11, 2016, 06:33:31 AM »

You could use the 857 as your main host router and shut off the wifi on the 857 and use the 890L as an AP instead of router mode.

It's possible that the 890L may not support WOL features...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting