• July 17, 2019, 12:13:57 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Connect to a different wireless router  (Read 2268 times)

Stelcom66

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Connect to a different wireless router
« on: October 29, 2016, 06:49:09 AM »

If I want my camera to connect to a different router than it is now, do I simply enter the SSID of the router in Setup - Wireless? Or do I select Site Survey and choose from that list?

When I put the camera outside I have it connect to a router that I converted to an access point since the signal from the main router isn't great. When using the camera indoors I'd prefer to not turn the access point router on and connect to the main router. The signal strength is 91% in the survey mode.
Logged

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2110
Re: Connect to a different wireless router
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2016, 09:13:07 AM »

If I want my camera to connect to a different router than it is now, do I simply enter the SSID of the router in Setup - Wireless? Or do I select Site Survey and choose from that list?

When I put the camera outside I have it connect to a router that I converted to an access point since the signal from the main router isn't great. When using the camera indoors I'd prefer to not turn the access point router on and connect to the main router. The signal strength is 91% in the survey mode.

From my understanding (and what I remember), the SSID should be the same at the access point and therefore you should use the same password as your router.   

It should be camera->setup->wireless setup.

Then you shouldn't have to change anything in the access point, just turn it off.

Hopefully your camera will connect to the AP and not try to connect to the router.

I've only played with this once or twice with a real access point. Your setup may differ.
Logged

Stelcom66

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Connect to a different wireless router
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2016, 09:49:29 AM »

The camera is connected to the access point now. Sometimes I have it outside on the deck and that was a little too far to reliably connect to the main router. When indoors though, the signal to the main router is sufficient. If I turn the access point off, the camera goes offline. The SSID is set to 'Deck' (The AP). I see my router's SSID in the Site Survey, just choose that? I'd like to be sure before I mess something up and then need to connect to the camera with a cable to my pc to restore the configuration.

What complicates it a little bit is the AP needs a password (and that's been working fine) but if I connect to the main router no password is required, I have
Wireless MAC filtering set up. The camera's ip is in the list.

Not a huge deal if I have to turn on the access point I suppose, it probably consumes very little power.

 
Logged

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2110
Re: Connect to a different wireless router
« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2016, 10:02:11 AM »

Logged

Stelcom66

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Connect to a different wireless router
« Reply #4 on: October 29, 2016, 01:24:01 PM »

The access point will be turned off, no reason to configure it. I now have it connected to the main router with the access point off. All I did was select the SSID of the main router from the Site Survey. Would be nice to have it search automatically for either, but its easy enough to change.
« Last Edit: October 29, 2016, 03:31:00 PM by Stelcom66 »
Logged

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2110
Re: Connect to a different wireless router
« Reply #5 on: October 29, 2016, 07:03:25 PM »


But if you turn off the router with the same SSID as the main router, you won't have to change anything.
Logged

Stelcom66

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Connect to a different wireless router
« Reply #6 on: October 30, 2016, 09:08:18 AM »

The AP router and the main router have different SSIDs. That way when I'm outside with my tablet or pc I'll know which one to connect to with the stronger signal. I see in the Site Survey there's mac addresses - I'd think even if I named the SSID of the access point router the same as my main router, I'd still need to select the router via the SIte Survey list. I'm fine with it like this being able to do it wirelessly. I tested successfully going back to the AP router, then to the main router again. There's just a few seconds for it to reconnect.
« Last Edit: October 30, 2016, 10:13:37 AM by Stelcom66 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47564
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Connect to a different wireless router
« Reply #7 on: November 15, 2016, 06:41:51 AM »

Any status on this?  ???
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Stelcom66

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Connect to a different wireless router
« Reply #8 on: November 16, 2016, 03:34:37 PM »

Status? Per my post I selected the SSID from the Site Survey list to have it connect to the main router instead of the access point.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47564
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Connect to a different wireless router (RESOLVED)
« Reply #9 on: November 16, 2016, 03:42:58 PM »

Thanks for confirming. Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting