• October 21, 2020, 06:27:04 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DIR-890L Newbie Question  (Read 1858 times)

cartopics

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
DIR-890L Newbie Question
« on: October 28, 2016, 07:19:38 PM »

We heard so many great reviews about the range on this that we decided to get one for our shop...I recently purchased a 2nd hand unit off ebay.  Our shop is currently running DSL through an Actiontek C1000a which is ok for nearby devices...I imagined I can simply hook up the Dlink to it and turn off the radio on the Actiontek.  The issue I have found with the unit I purchased is that it doesn't broadcast a WiFi access point when plugged in, I can't see a Dlink WiFi signal available.  Is it possible that the previous owner has turned off the Radio?  I have tried to access the router through http://dlinkrouter.local./ and go to the ADMIN settings...I tried leaving the Password Blank, I tried typing in Admin etc etc, it gives me the message with the wrong password.  Am I doing something wrong?  Is there a way to turn on radio without accessing theADMIN?

Thanks!
Logged

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2192
Re: DIR-890L Newbie Question
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2016, 08:04:03 PM »

Is there a way to turn on radio without accessing theADMIN?

No. 

Try performing a factory reset on the router.  Page 5 here:  ftp://ftp2.dlink.com/PRODUCTS/DIR-890L/REVA/DIR-890L_REVA_MANUAL_1.00_EN_US.PDF

Also mentioned here:

http://routers-reset.info/682/reset/D-Link/AC3200%2520DIR-890


The default factory settings are:

Default IP address: 192.168.0.1
Default username: admin
Default password: blank
« Last Edit: October 28, 2016, 08:05:34 PM by RYAT3 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49274
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-890L Newbie Question
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2016, 12:55:25 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Let us know if RYATs information helps. Also review this:
Turning a router into an AP.

There is AP mode on the 890L...
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!