• June 25, 2019, 04:58:11 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 2 [3]

Author Topic: DNS-320 Rev A - Firmware v2.05 Build 10 Security Patch Comments & Observations  (Read 19738 times)

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47484
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Enjoy. ;)

Hi
thank for aswering.
A reboot later, everything's OK ! Thank you !
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

pspec

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5


Hi

    do I need to upgrade to fw v2.05b8 before I can go for the v2.05b10


   Thanks
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47484
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

No. B10 will have what B08 has included...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

pspec

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5

holly ......................

I've just spent the last 5 mins screaming at the top of my voice

best start from the beginning

I'm in the UK and have DNS 320 A1 and the transfer speeds is stupidly slow (9.6MB/sec sometimes 2.4MB/sec)

it takes forever to do most thing but it works and it  does the job if you plan ahead so I've been quite happy with it.

now the fun bit.......... I came across this thread about the v2.05b10 and noticed someone say it had improved there transfer speed. so went to the UK region for firmware download and the v2.05 wasn't there..

so I'm thinking its not for UK but there was a UK post on this thread who had success with this update so I thought I'd give it a go..

downloaded from the link in this thread

backed up config settings

used chrome browser 

oh one thing I forgot to do was unzip the firmware so first time it failed :)

unzipped the firmware selected firmware and hit apply..

success it installed

did a second reboot just to make sure.

I had the NAS on a static IP which was now blank so used my config backup

******************************
then transferred a file

remember I said it was 9.6MB/sec sometimes 2.4MB/sec well it's now

51.8MB/sec

I've now stopped jumping around the room and I'm having a play


« Last Edit: July 31, 2017, 10:02:19 AM by pspec »
Logged

pspec

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5



Oh when I went back into the NAS to check the firmware version number it's 2.05

shouldn't it say 2.05b10

Thanks
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47484
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Glad the new version of FW helped. Enjoy.

 ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

maht

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14

Hello
Speed is awsome, but i have a regression with ssl login over 443 port from webadmin page : 
Most of the time it won't work at all. Sometime login is OK, then the management display is incomplete and is not working..
Tried to clear cache, and reboot etc... just the same.

nonetheless it's a great firmware. 8)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47484
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Thanks for the feedback.

Hello
Speed is awsome, but i have a regression with ssl login over 443 port from webadmin page : 
Most of the time it won't work at all. Sometime login is OK, then the management display is incomplete and is not working..
Tried to clear cache, and reboot etc... just the same.

nonetheless it's a great firmware. 8)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ftxhifi

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3

Hi there,

is the security patch (firmware) also for the sambacry problem? smb v1?
if not is it possible to get samba being updated for use smb v2?

on my dns-320 rev a (europe-germany) i ve had an really old version 3.5.15 .. perhaps i think 3.6 should support smb v2.

greetings ftx
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2083

Yes I believe the firmware patch fixed the vulnerability that SAMBACRY exploited.
Logged

ftxhifi

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3

thanks for your feedback, but if i disable smb v1 protocol support on my windows client, i don't have any chance to access my shares..

so it seams to be only smb v1 protocol enabled on samba server on DNS-320.
Do you have an idea how i can configure smb v2 permanently?
i mean the firmware is on flash and i think readonly so if i modify smb.conf, after reboot its set back to default?

perhaps i am not shure if samba 3.5.15 does support smb v2, i read about 3.6 does support this ..
Logged

ftxhifi

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3

Hi there,

i ve found an solution by myself.
I install fonz fun plug 0.7 (ffp) and optware, the i install via ipkg the pkg samba 3.6 (3.6.23).
Then i disabled the original samba server in dlink firmware on /etc/NAS_CFG/config.xml .

I copied the existing smb.conf to optware/etc/samba and then edit  the smb.conf.
I add to global-section "min protocol = SMB2" + "max protocol = SMB2" .

restart nmbd and smbd and then it works for me.

greetings ftx
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2083

Thanks for the update. Glad it is working for you.
Logged

bulek

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4

Hi ftx!
How can i disabled the original smb server? try, but not works.

Please write a step by step guide!
in ffp only available mijzelf:samba-3.6.6.

Thanks!

Hi there,

i ve found an solution by myself.
I install fonz fun plug 0.7 (ffp) and optware, the i install via ipkg the pkg samba 3.6 (3.6.23).
Then i disabled the original samba server in dlink firmware on /etc/NAS_CFG/config.xml .

I copied the existing smb.conf to optware/etc/samba and then edit  the smb.conf.
I add to global-section "min protocol = SMB2" + "max protocol = SMB2" .

restart nmbd and smbd and then it works for me.

greetings ftx
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47484
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: 1 2 [3]