• August 17, 2019, 08:02:23 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: 5GHz Incorrect Password  (Read 13638 times)

vanpan

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
5GHz Incorrect Password
« on: September 14, 2016, 10:04:14 PM »

Hi,

I've had the 5GHz running for quite a bit of time before. Yesterday, it starts telling me that my password is incorrect. I have checked my router settings and have confirmed that my password is still the same as before. I've tried unplugging the router to reset it but it doesn't help.

I'm a noob and scared to do a factory reset.

Help please.
Logged

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2110
Re: 5GHz Incorrect Password
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2016, 10:20:57 PM »

Hi,

I've had the 5GHz running for quite a bit of time before. Yesterday, it starts telling me that my password is incorrect. I have checked my router settings and have confirmed that my password is still the same as before. I've tried unplugging the router to reset it but it doesn't help.

I'm a noob and scared to do a factory reset.

Help please.

Have you rebooted the device that is saying your password is incorrect?

Have you tried forgetting the password on said device and reconnecting again? 

There are too many details missing here.

Did you update your IOS  or something also in between?!!!  ::)

Logged

vanpan

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: 5GHz Incorrect Password
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2016, 10:35:18 PM »

Thanks for the reply. And my apologies for the lack of details, I wasn't sure what to put down.

The "incorrect password" or "unable to connect" messages appeared on all wireless devices, I suspect, simultaneously last night.

We have a laptop, 2 ipads, 2 iphones and 1 android phone. All of them can see the 5GHz wifi signal - but when attempting to log on, they all failed. We have restarted all the wireless devices, but the problem persists. Since the passwords stopped working, iOS has conveniently "forgotten" them. None of the devices have undergone any OS or other software installation recently.

I have tried changing the 5GHz password, "incorrect password"
I have tried changing the 5GHz wireless network name just to see if the changes were registering, changes were registering, but still couldn't log on.
I have tried going into my wireless settings and changing the 5GHz wireless channel to 48 or 149, "incorrect password"
I have tried changing the 5GHz security mode to "none", message on the devices is now "unable to connect".
I have tried changing the 5GHz channel width to "20MHz" and "20/40MHz", "incorrect password".

Strangely, everything still works on the 2.4GHz
Logged

vanpan

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: 5GHz Incorrect Password
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2016, 11:12:58 PM »

Okay, a bit of an update. Now, even my 2.4GHz is saying "incorrect password" on some devices.

We've tested all the devices in the house. 2 iphones, 2 ipads, 1 macbook (all Apple devices) and 1 xbox would not log on to either 2.4GHz or 5GHz. My android phone has stayed logged into 2.4GHz (it's too old to run on 5GHz). But even this signal is unstable, it keeps logging on and off.
Logged

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2110
Re: 5GHz Incorrect Password
« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2016, 04:47:13 AM »

This is really bizarre.  Maybe Furry had some words of advice on this one.

I'm guessing at this point, factory reset only option.

Your router might have just died.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47675
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 5GHz Incorrect Password
« Reply #5 on: September 15, 2016, 06:40:28 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by that maybe causing interferences?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area that maybe causing interferences? Link> Use a WiFi Scanner to find out. How many?

At this point, I recommend doing a factory reset of the router and have a wired LAN cable connected to the router from a PC. Set up the router from scratch using IE11 or FF. I would leave the WPA security OPEN on the 5Ghz temporarily and test and see if any device connects. If it does, then change the security mode to WPA2 and AES only then retest. Make sure you forget or clear any saved wifi profiles as well on the devices then reboot them.

Hi,

I've had the 5GHz running for quite a bit of time before. Yesterday, it starts telling me that my password is incorrect. I have checked my router settings and have confirmed that my password is still the same as before. I've tried unplugging the router to reset it but it doesn't help.

I'm a noob and scared to do a factory reset.

Help please.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

vanpan

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: 5GHz Incorrect Password
« Reply #6 on: September 16, 2016, 11:43:48 AM »

Thanks for the reply FurryNutz. Answers below in green.

So far, the 2.4GHz has come back online on its own. However, it does still pop in and out of existence at random times. It is much more stable than the evening before. I haven't performed a hardware reset yet. I will do it over the weekend when I have more time to set the router back up again.

Right now, it is acting as a bridge.

Thanks again.

What Hardware version is your router? Hardware Version A1
Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Firmware Version 1.04
What region are you located? Vancouver, Canada

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL? DSL
What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have? Actiontec V1000H
Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by that maybe causing interferences? We don't have a cordless phone, no WIFI printers or other devices except for the macbook, 2 ipads, 2 iphones and 1 android phone - there is a PC but it has a wired connection
Any other WiFi routers in the area that maybe causing interferences? I'm not able to run the wifi scanner, but I do have 6 wifi points in my immediate proximity that have strong signals.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47675
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 5GHz Incorrect Password
« Reply #7 on: September 16, 2016, 12:32:15 PM »

If the 868L is loosing connection when in bridge mode, it maybe due to the main host routers WiFi.

You might set up the 868L as a main host router instead or a wired AP, disable the ActionTecs Wifi fully and test the 868L in this configuration.

Also if you have other WiFi neighbors with strong signals, what channels are they using, find one that isn't used on 1 6 or 11. Or with low signals. This can be problematic on 2.4Ghz when in bridge mode as well.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

vanpan

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: 5GHz Incorrect Password
« Reply #8 on: September 17, 2016, 12:28:01 PM »

Hi FurryNutz,

Thanks again for your responses.

I have performed a hardware reset on the device and used firefox to run through the installation process afresh. The automatic configuration went without a hitch, the router was able to detect my modem, the internet signal coming from the modem, and configure itself automatically. I left all the default settings including the SSID and passwords as they were.

From my ipad, I was able to log into the 2.4GHz using the default password - but not able to log into the 5GHz using the default password.It would request for the password repeatedly.

I then went into the network settings and changed the 5GHz security mode to "none", I was still not able to log into it using my ipad. The ipad would say "unable to join network". I tried logging in from my other devices and got the same error message on 5GHz.

Sidenote:
I didn't engage bridge mode in this instance since it seems the default modes are not resolved. Also, I dug up my notes from when I first configured the system (in 2013) and was having trouble. Back then, the entire internet connection was spotty on both channels. One hunch I pursued was bridge-mode. After much back and forth with my ISP, they discovered that a newly installed fibre network cable was sloppily installed a few electric poles away. When they fixed that, the internet was reliable. I then did a hardware reset and, besides changing the SSID and passwords, left everything at default (no bridge mode). Both channels have worked reliably until a few nights ago.
/Sidenote:

It doesn't seem to me a matter of wifi signals interfering, the reason I say this is that no matter what channel I try, the 5GHz signal is strong and detectable in all locations in my house. The number of strong wifi signals available in the neighbourhood has also been just as populous as it is now.

At the moment, I'm working right beside the router. What I suspect is happening is some sort of communication error between the devices ie they are not able to establish a connection. Of course, I could be totally wrong.

Any insight is most appreciated. Thanks again.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47675
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 5GHz Incorrect Password
« Reply #9 on: September 17, 2016, 02:07:54 PM »

Lets try upgrading the routers FW to v1.10...
Please download the FW file from D-Links support site and follow this please:
Link> >FW Update Process
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

vanpan

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: 5GHz Incorrect Password
« Reply #10 on: September 17, 2016, 02:50:53 PM »

Hi FurryNutz,

Firmware is upgraded and confirmed from the Status page.

Sad to report that the problem persists. I've been chatting with technical support just now. They are equally puzzled and have suggested the same steps that you've outlined (thanks for that, by the way). The 5GHz channel is still visible on all my devices, but when I try to log into it, it reports that the password is incorrect, or if I leave the channel open, unable to connect to network.

Up till earlier, I was inclined to think that it is something that is unique to our household and our 5 devices. Now I can see in these forums, at least two other people have experienced the same thing with their 5GHz in the last week. Maybe there is some phantom OS update that's been surreptitiously forced onto our devices in the last few days... :)

Tech support indicated that they will escalate the problem - but that is the best I could get out of them for now.

Thanks again.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47675
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 5GHz Incorrect Password
« Reply #11 on: September 17, 2016, 02:57:01 PM »

I would try this if you can, do you have a friend, neighbor or family member that you can take the router to and test at a different location.

Ya, seems puzzling that only 5ghz is being problematic. I can only maybe thing the router could be bad, however testing at a different location could tell.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47675
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 5GHz Incorrect Password
« Reply #12 on: September 17, 2016, 03:17:23 PM »

Ok, I set my 868L up as a wired AP, turned off ALL other wireless in the house. I'll see how it goes. Mines on v1.09 currently. I'm on my way to pick up a new iPhone and will see what iOS version is on it. I presume not 10.  ::)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47675
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 5GHz Incorrect Password
« Reply #13 on: September 20, 2016, 07:10:12 AM »

868L still running good. Iphone 6sP (new) with iOS 9.3.5 loaded connects to 5Ghz fine when I get home. Mac Book Pro (2008) OSX 10.10.5 connects to 5Ghz as well. No disconnects reported from my 2 NESTs connected on 2.4ghz along with my DCS-933L.

Let us know if you are able to test at a different location and if the problem follows. Possibility you have a faulty unit.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

vanpan

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: 5GHz Incorrect Password
« Reply #14 on: September 22, 2016, 01:59:56 PM »

Hi FurryNutz,

Thanks again for all your efforts.

I was with the Dlink tech support all weekend plus a few days into the week. Unfortunately, they're not able to figure out what happened. They asked that I test my Apple devices at another 5GHz wifi spot. I tried at my neighbour's and it connected just fine. I reported it back to Dlink but they couldn't further assist me.

Anyway, I ended up getting a TPLink router to replace the DIR-868L.

Thanks again.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2