• August 11, 2020, 09:40:45 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Not pre-recording motion recording  (Read 1459 times)

thesmackdown

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Not pre-recording motion recording
« on: September 12, 2016, 03:51:25 PM »

I am using the DNR-202L with two DCS-960L cameras.  They are set to record motion.  I am pretty sure that is working but it is not recording the event that the cameras sense as the original motion.

Any thoughts on what I should check?
Logged

BAMoh

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 303
Re: Not pre-recording motion recording
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2016, 05:23:32 PM »

Tell us more about the placement of the cams. Is the motion occurring within the camera's stated range?
To set up motion you need to go into the camera's settings and use the grid to define the motion area.
Logged
"That's laughable...."  Impress me. Need COMPETENT help.

thesmackdown

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Not pre-recording motion recording
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2016, 05:48:55 PM »

I adjusted the grid yesterday.  There is a door that is about 3 feet away that I want to trigger recording when opened.  That seems to happen but it doesn't record the beginning of the event.
Logged

BAMoh

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 303
Re: Not pre-recording motion recording
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2016, 07:46:34 PM »

It should detect motion 3 feet away for sure. On the cams there is usually a PIR sensor (heat change) and a video motion sensor. Try both.
Logged
"That's laughable...."  Impress me. Need COMPETENT help.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49056
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Not pre-recording motion recording
« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2016, 07:47:53 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your DNR? Look at the sticker behind or under the device.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the DNRs web page under status.
  • What region are you located?


What Mfr and model is the main host router?
What FW version is loaded on the 960L?



I am using the DNR-202L with two DCS-960L cameras.  They are set to record motion.  I am pretty sure that is working but it is not recording the event that the cameras sense as the original motion.

Any thoughts on what I should check?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!