• November 15, 2019, 03:45:54 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: USB HDD Suspend Mode???  (Read 1795 times)

BAMoh

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 296
USB HDD Suspend Mode???
« on: September 07, 2016, 02:09:12 PM »

When connecting 2 USB drives to the DNR 202L, does the one not being actively recorded go into suspend mode?
Logged
"That's laughable...."  Impress me. Need COMPETENT help.

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2110
Re: USB HDD Suspend Mode???
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2016, 03:16:17 PM »

I don't 100% remember. I think my light was always lit of the drive.  It won't start writing until drive 1 fills up.
Logged

nick xx

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: USB HDD Suspend Mode???
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2016, 03:29:05 PM »

Yeah, the 2nd drive is only there just in case something is wrong with drive 1 or you remove the drive 1
Logged

BAMoh

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 296
Re: USB HDD Suspend Mode???
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2016, 05:37:14 PM »

Yeah, the 2nd drive is only there just in case something is wrong with drive 1 or you remove the drive 1
Nick yes I know. The question was does the drive spin when not in use or does it suspend (not spin but is ready to when needed).
Logged
"That's laughable...."  Impress me. Need COMPETENT help.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47908
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: USB HDD Suspend Mode???
« Reply #4 on: September 08, 2016, 06:59:28 AM »

Has any one tested a 2nd drive?  ::)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

BAMoh

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 296
Re: USB HDD Suspend Mode???
« Reply #5 on: September 08, 2016, 07:37:17 AM »

Has any one tested a 2nd drive?  ::)

I just added a 2nd drive using a spare laptop HDD and a USB 3.0 enclosure. It didnt ask me to format in the GUI and showed up as FAT 32 but I formatted it anyway. Not sure about the suspend thing. After plugging it in I could feel the HDD vibrating so it clearly was not in suspend mode. Will check again in a bit to see if it goes to suspend. BTW outside of Windows, I don't think its possible for an attached HDD to go into suspend unless the device firmware has code asking it to. This is not HDD driven IMO.
Logged
"That's laughable...."  Impress me. Need COMPETENT help.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47908
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: USB HDD Suspend Mode???
« Reply #6 on: September 08, 2016, 08:07:44 AM »

Let us know what you find out with the 2nd drive.
Some drive may incorporate some sleep functions, however I presume priority of this feature is based on the connect device which maybe depended upon coding and intentions of operation.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

BAMoh

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 296
Re: USB HDD Suspend Mode???
« Reply #7 on: September 08, 2016, 08:34:43 AM »

I really could not tell. On plug in I felt some vibraton. I did a "DLINK format" via the GUI. Left it alone. Walked back to unplug it and it didn't vibrate as much but clearly was not idle. My main concern is excess wear on the drive by having it on when not in actual use. I conclude its better to plug it in when the other is almost full.
Logged
"That's laughable...."  Impress me. Need COMPETENT help.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47908
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: USB HDD Suspend Mode???
« Reply #8 on: September 08, 2016, 08:38:29 AM »

That works too.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting