• September 18, 2018, 08:54:19 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Reboot your device  (Read 8066 times)

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Reboot your device
« Reply #15 on: August 30, 2016, 06:30:47 AM »

Which iPhone do you have and what exact iOS version is currently loaded on it?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

trgraney

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Reboot your device
« Reply #16 on: August 30, 2016, 04:51:43 PM »

I am trying to use an i4, which has iOS 7.1.2. I've also tried using a 6SE iOS 9.3.5. They both get the same result: "Please reboot your device"
Today D-Link told me to return the devices to the store where I bought them. I will try a bit longer, but it does not look promising. I suspect the problem is my router, but I don't really know. I just know that once the firmware upgrade happens, the phone can no longer talk to the device.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Reboot your device
« Reply #17 on: August 30, 2016, 04:54:10 PM »

Might try another S150 unit and see. Maybe if you have a friend or neighbor you can take the unit to test with a different router maybe and see?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

trgraney

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Reboot your device
« Reply #18 on: August 30, 2016, 07:03:20 PM »

I gave them one more try this evening and same problem. Repeated calls to D-Link produced nothing, and they told me to return them which I did just now. Too bad, because they were just what I needed. I suppose it could have been the router, but everything worked fine until the firmware update, and then they would no longer communicate with the app even though they were sitting there on the network.

Thanks to everyone for the assistance.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Reboot your device
« Reply #19 on: August 30, 2016, 07:22:29 PM »

Might try new ones and see if you get a chance too.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

trgraney

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Reboot your device
« Reply #20 on: August 31, 2016, 05:10:30 PM »

I have that in the back of my mind. As it happens, the DCH S150 is exactly what I need and I can't find an equivalent product. I read several reviews and some said they were tricky to get working, but no one said they just failed.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Reboot your device
« Reply #21 on: August 31, 2016, 05:18:28 PM »

Seems like you had it working almost at one point. I would try a new one and see...
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

trgraney

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Reboot your device
« Reply #22 on: August 31, 2016, 06:19:28 PM »

Well, some of my posts may have been confusing, but ultimately I always got stopped at the point where the device got it's firmware update. I never was able to get the app to communicate with the device after the firmware update. I just got a message on the app that said "Please reboot the device." Once I got there and rebooted the device, I never regained comm. Seems like when you get that message, someone ought to know what the fix is. That message did not come out of nowhere. Through all of this, I reinstalled the app many time and I did numerous hard resets on the device, and the same thing happened with two devices, and two iphones. The only common link is the router, but if it's the router, then why was the app ever able to find the device in the first place? Makes no sense. I suppose there could have been something wrong with the firmware download.
Logged

trgraney

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Reboot your device
« Reply #23 on: September 21, 2016, 07:14:07 PM »

Ok, I decided to give this another chance because a) I couldn't find anything else better and b) I found some instructions on what to do if you get the dreaded "please reboot your device." However I am stuck exactly at that point once again, so I'm looking for ideas. As I see it, when the device is initially set up and linked to the network, the phone is able to see the device because the device is broadcasting. Once the phone finds the device, it 1) upgrades the firmware, and 2) its broadcasting is disabled. So, after the firmware update, the phone can no longer find the device, but it shouldn't have to since the device is connected to the home network. Even so, there must be a problem with my router that it will not allow the app to communicate with the sensor across the network. Perhaps there is a network setting that will let it happen. Any ideas?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Reboot your device
« Reply #24 on: September 22, 2016, 06:36:15 AM »

Seems to be an issue here in setup. I'll see if I can get some additional information on this...
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

trgraney

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Reboot your device
« Reply #25 on: September 22, 2016, 05:03:37 PM »

Seems to be an issue here in setup. I'll see if I can get some additional information on this...

Two phone calls with D-Link today. On the first one, the guy tells me to do what I've already done many time and guarantees it will fix it... wrong! This evening I talked to another person. I tell him what I've been doing and he says, wait while I test it here. In about 10 minutes he comes back and says, "it doesn't work here either." So he's going to report the problem. Progress!
Logged

trgraney

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Reboot your device
« Reply #26 on: September 22, 2016, 05:27:55 PM »

When I access the device from browser, this is what I get
Firmware External Version: V1.07
Firmware Internal Version: V1.07b01
Date: Mon, 9 Feb 2015
Checksum: 0x062A3028
2.4GHz regulation domain: US/NA
1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11
Firmware Query: http://wrpd.dlink.com/router/firmware/query.aspx?model=DCH-S150_Ax_Default_FW_0107_C412F5DB46DF
LAN MAC: C4:12:F5:DB:46:DF
Kernel: 2.6.31, B0024, Date=Wed, 17 Sep, 2014
Apps: 1.1, B0055, Date=Mon, 9 Feb, 2015
WLAN Driver: AR9531, 10.1.478, B0008, Date=Thu, 27 Nov, 2014
2.4GHz WLAN MAC 0: C4:12:F5:DB:46:DF
2.4GHz SSID: DCH-S150-46DF
Factory Default: 0
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Reboot your device
« Reply #27 on: September 23, 2016, 07:33:08 AM »

Thank you for this additional information. I'll pass this along to D-Link here as well.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

trgraney

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Reboot your device
« Reply #28 on: October 09, 2016, 05:58:11 AM »

About a week ago I received an email from D-Link with new instructions and a file to use to upgrade the firmware.  This worked. The device now reports the following:

Firmware External Version: V1.22
Firmware Internal Version: V1.22b06
Date: Wed, 3 Feb 2016
Checksum: 0x06565C77
2.4GHz regulation domain: NA
1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11
Firmware Query: http://wrpd.dlink.com/router/firmware/query.aspx?model=DCH-S150_Ax_Default_FW_0122_C412F5DB46DF
LAN MAC: C4:12:F5:DB:46:DF
Kernel: 2.6.31, B0031, Date=Fri, 17 Jul, 2015
Apps: 1.1, B0141, Date=Wed, 03 Feb, 2016
WLAN Driver: AR9531, 10.1.478, B0011, Date=Wed, 9 Dec, 2015
2.4GHz WLAN MAC 0: C4:12:F5:DB:46:DF
2.4GHz SSID: DCH-S150-46DF
Factory Default: 0
DCH_ID: bbf721d835a3443c6e1f9865823960ab

When the device detects motion, I get a nearly instantaneous alert on my cell phone, which was all I was looking for.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Reboot your device (RESOLVED)
« Reply #29 on: October 10, 2016, 07:34:40 AM »

Glad they got it working for you. Thank you for the information and feedback.

Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!
Pages: 1 [2]