D-Link Forums

D-Link Connected Home => DCH-S150 => Topic started by: trgraney on August 28, 2016, 07:22:59 AM

Title: Reboot your device
Post by: trgraney on August 28, 2016, 07:22:59 AM
I just received a DLink DCH S150. I am able to connect the device to my network. I get a green light on the sensor, and I can see it on the modem device list. When I start the app on the iphone I get to the prompt saying please reboot your device. Does this refer to the phone or the sensor? Is there a way to remove a device once it's installed? In any case I cannot get past the install step and I'm stuck on "please reboot your device." I've tried removing and reinstalling the app also, and I've also done a hard reset on the sensor.
Title: Re: Reboot your device
Post by: trgraney on August 28, 2016, 11:55:47 AM
I was able to check the firmware version. It's V1.00b17. Is this what it should be?

When I was first doing the setup, my phone was able to link to the device. After that I got a notice about a firmware upgrade. That was hours ago. Then the app was giving me a message to reboot the device. I restarted the sensor several times. It has no trouble connecting to the wifi. I finally figured out how to delete the device, so I did that and tried reinstalling, but now it cannot find the device. I also do not understand the part where it says to connect to the network with the name of the device ID. There is no such network.

Since I had 2 units, I decided to try the second one in case the first one was bad. I get to the same point. I download the firmware... done... Please reboot your device. So I remove it from power and repeat the startup and connect via WPS. Connects without issue; shows up in the device table. That's it.
Title: Re: Reboot your device
Post by: FurryNutz on August 28, 2016, 02:19:49 PM
Did you reboot the phone as well?

Might do a factory reset then set up from scratch...
These don't have any user FW upgrades from what I can tell:
http://support.dlink.com/ProductInfo.aspx?m=DCH-S150 (http://support.dlink.com/ProductInfo.aspx?m=DCH-S150)
Title: Re: Reboot your device
Post by: trgraney on August 28, 2016, 02:30:33 PM
I've rebooted the phone and the sensor both more than once. Nothing.
Title: Re: Reboot your device
Post by: FurryNutz on August 28, 2016, 02:35:26 PM
What Mfr and model router do you have?
What wireless modes are you using on the main host router?

Might leave the DCH off for a while then turn it back on.
Title: Re: Reboot your device
Post by: trgraney on August 28, 2016, 02:40:24 PM
The router is a ZyXel c1000z.
802.11b/g/n.

Title: Re: Reboot your device
Post by: trgraney on August 28, 2016, 06:24:07 PM
There are things about the app that just don't work. I've tried numerous times to get it to scan in the QR code, but it has never worked.

If you elect to do manual ID as opposed to WPS and search for device, you get to a screen that instructs you to go to Settings > wifi and choose the device by it's ID. The device ID is never going to appear on the list of wi-fi networks. What is that about?
Title: Re: Reboot your device
Post by: RYAT3 on August 28, 2016, 06:46:12 PM


If you elect to do manual ID as opposed to WPS and search for device, you get to a screen that instructs you to go to Settings > wifi and choose the device by it's ID. The device ID is never going to appear on the list of wi-fi networks. What is that about?

Why not?  All these newer cameras that are WiFi only broadcast their SSID and shows up... You connect directly to it from your laptop or whatever.  Then you attach it to your router, and your connection to your laptop is severed.


Title: Re: Reboot your device
Post by: trgraney on August 28, 2016, 07:23:23 PM
Well, I've never seen such a device, and my DLink devices do not show up on any iphone or any wireless equipped computer. They readily connect to my router however and appear in the routers device table. That much works.

Yes, I see what you mean. If the DCH is not connected to wifi, then it's broadcasting. Once it's connected to the network the broadcasting is turned off. Even so, I connected the iphone to the DCH using its SSID, and then connected it to the network, the iphone app could no longer find it.
Title: Re: Reboot your device
Post by: RYAT3 on August 28, 2016, 07:47:04 PM
I don't see any mention of this WiFi to the device in the user manual.  ???


http://support.dlink.com/ProductInfo.aspx?m=DCH-S150 (http://support.dlink.com/ProductInfo.aspx?m=DCH-S150)
Title: Re: Reboot your device
Post by: trgraney on August 28, 2016, 07:48:40 PM
I don't know. Link doesn't work.
Title: Re: Reboot your device
Post by: RYAT3 on August 28, 2016, 08:08:00 PM

Interesting... I can not access it either now. Worked off of original good search for "dch-s150 manual"
Title: Re: Reboot your device
Post by: trgraney on August 29, 2016, 03:34:35 AM
So this morning my phone says it's found a device, but it will accept neither of the PIN numbers for my 2 devices.
Title: Re: Reboot your device
Post by: FurryNutz on August 29, 2016, 06:51:31 AM
Corrected URL link...You can find the PDF on the models support page...

I would contact D-Link support on the phone and ask them for help and information regarding getting these set up...
Title: Re: Reboot your device
Post by: trgraney on August 29, 2016, 06:30:13 PM
I did call tech support and got to talk to the usual scripted responder. They were able to confirm that the device works with the latest version of iOS, so they asked me if I could try a more up to date iphone (which I had already done). Nevermind that they advertise that it works with iOS 7+, which is what I have, and the app installed just fine, and finds the device until the firmware upgrade. Not encouraging...
Title: Re: Reboot your device
Post by: FurryNutz on August 30, 2016, 06:30:47 AM
Which iPhone do you have and what exact iOS version is currently loaded on it?
Title: Re: Reboot your device
Post by: trgraney on August 30, 2016, 04:51:43 PM
I am trying to use an i4, which has iOS 7.1.2. I've also tried using a 6SE iOS 9.3.5. They both get the same result: "Please reboot your device"
Today D-Link told me to return the devices to the store where I bought them. I will try a bit longer, but it does not look promising. I suspect the problem is my router, but I don't really know. I just know that once the firmware upgrade happens, the phone can no longer talk to the device.
Title: Re: Reboot your device
Post by: FurryNutz on August 30, 2016, 04:54:10 PM
Might try another S150 unit and see. Maybe if you have a friend or neighbor you can take the unit to test with a different router maybe and see?
Title: Re: Reboot your device
Post by: trgraney on August 30, 2016, 07:03:20 PM
I gave them one more try this evening and same problem. Repeated calls to D-Link produced nothing, and they told me to return them which I did just now. Too bad, because they were just what I needed. I suppose it could have been the router, but everything worked fine until the firmware update, and then they would no longer communicate with the app even though they were sitting there on the network.

Thanks to everyone for the assistance.
Title: Re: Reboot your device
Post by: FurryNutz on August 30, 2016, 07:22:29 PM
Might try new ones and see if you get a chance too.
Title: Re: Reboot your device
Post by: trgraney on August 31, 2016, 05:10:30 PM
I have that in the back of my mind. As it happens, the DCH S150 is exactly what I need and I can't find an equivalent product. I read several reviews and some said they were tricky to get working, but no one said they just failed.
Title: Re: Reboot your device
Post by: FurryNutz on August 31, 2016, 05:18:28 PM
Seems like you had it working almost at one point. I would try a new one and see...
Title: Re: Reboot your device
Post by: trgraney on August 31, 2016, 06:19:28 PM
Well, some of my posts may have been confusing, but ultimately I always got stopped at the point where the device got it's firmware update. I never was able to get the app to communicate with the device after the firmware update. I just got a message on the app that said "Please reboot the device." Once I got there and rebooted the device, I never regained comm. Seems like when you get that message, someone ought to know what the fix is. That message did not come out of nowhere. Through all of this, I reinstalled the app many time and I did numerous hard resets on the device, and the same thing happened with two devices, and two iphones. The only common link is the router, but if it's the router, then why was the app ever able to find the device in the first place? Makes no sense. I suppose there could have been something wrong with the firmware download.
Title: Re: Reboot your device
Post by: trgraney on September 21, 2016, 07:14:07 PM
Ok, I decided to give this another chance because a) I couldn't find anything else better and b) I found some instructions on what to do if you get the dreaded "please reboot your device." However I am stuck exactly at that point once again, so I'm looking for ideas. As I see it, when the device is initially set up and linked to the network, the phone is able to see the device because the device is broadcasting. Once the phone finds the device, it 1) upgrades the firmware, and 2) its broadcasting is disabled. So, after the firmware update, the phone can no longer find the device, but it shouldn't have to since the device is connected to the home network. Even so, there must be a problem with my router that it will not allow the app to communicate with the sensor across the network. Perhaps there is a network setting that will let it happen. Any ideas?
Title: Re: Reboot your device
Post by: FurryNutz on September 22, 2016, 06:36:15 AM
Seems to be an issue here in setup. I'll see if I can get some additional information on this...
Title: Re: Reboot your device
Post by: trgraney on September 22, 2016, 05:03:37 PM
Seems to be an issue here in setup. I'll see if I can get some additional information on this...

Two phone calls with D-Link today. On the first one, the guy tells me to do what I've already done many time and guarantees it will fix it... wrong! This evening I talked to another person. I tell him what I've been doing and he says, wait while I test it here. In about 10 minutes he comes back and says, "it doesn't work here either." So he's going to report the problem. Progress!
Title: Re: Reboot your device
Post by: trgraney on September 22, 2016, 05:27:55 PM
When I access the device from browser, this is what I get
Firmware External Version: V1.07
Firmware Internal Version: V1.07b01
Date: Mon, 9 Feb 2015
Checksum: 0x062A3028
2.4GHz regulation domain: US/NA
1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11
Firmware Query: http://wrpd.dlink.com/router/firmware/query.aspx?model=DCH-S150_Ax_Default_FW_0107_C412F5DB46DF
LAN MAC: C4:12:F5:DB:46:DF
Kernel: 2.6.31, B0024, Date=Wed, 17 Sep, 2014
Apps: 1.1, B0055, Date=Mon, 9 Feb, 2015
WLAN Driver: AR9531, 10.1.478, B0008, Date=Thu, 27 Nov, 2014
2.4GHz WLAN MAC 0: C4:12:F5:DB:46:DF
2.4GHz SSID: DCH-S150-46DF
Factory Default: 0
Title: Re: Reboot your device
Post by: FurryNutz on September 23, 2016, 07:33:08 AM
Thank you for this additional information. I'll pass this along to D-Link here as well.
Title: Re: Reboot your device
Post by: trgraney on October 09, 2016, 05:58:11 AM
About a week ago I received an email from D-Link with new instructions and a file to use to upgrade the firmware.  This worked. The device now reports the following:

Firmware External Version: V1.22
Firmware Internal Version: V1.22b06
Date: Wed, 3 Feb 2016
Checksum: 0x06565C77
2.4GHz regulation domain: NA
1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11
Firmware Query: http://wrpd.dlink.com/router/firmware/query.aspx?model=DCH-S150_Ax_Default_FW_0122_C412F5DB46DF
LAN MAC: C4:12:F5:DB:46:DF
Kernel: 2.6.31, B0031, Date=Fri, 17 Jul, 2015
Apps: 1.1, B0141, Date=Wed, 03 Feb, 2016
WLAN Driver: AR9531, 10.1.478, B0011, Date=Wed, 9 Dec, 2015
2.4GHz WLAN MAC 0: C4:12:F5:DB:46:DF
2.4GHz SSID: DCH-S150-46DF
Factory Default: 0
DCH_ID: bbf721d835a3443c6e1f9865823960ab

When the device detects motion, I get a nearly instantaneous alert on my cell phone, which was all I was looking for.
Title: Re: Reboot your device (RESOLVED)
Post by: FurryNutz on October 10, 2016, 07:34:40 AM
Glad they got it working for you. Thank you for the information and feedback.

Enjoy.  ;)