• October 15, 2019, 07:53:31 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: D-Link DNR-202L 4 cams + more for events? Pre-purchase vetting.  (Read 3861 times)

BAMoh

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 296

I read somewhere else that this device can have 4 cams on continuous record and a certain number more recording events only? Is this accurate? If so, how many extra?

Also, I read the device causes bandwidth issues and needs a separate router? Or maybe need a dual band router?
Logged
"That's laughable...."  Impress me. Need COMPETENT help.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47834
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

BAMoh

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 296
Re: D-Link DNR-202L 4 cams + more for events? Pre-purchase vetting.
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2016, 08:08:55 AM »

Thanks but doesn't not explicitly (emphasized) answer my question.
Logged
"That's laughable...."  Impress me. Need COMPETENT help.

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2110
Re: D-Link DNR-202L 4 cams + more for events? Pre-purchase vetting.
« Reply #3 on: August 23, 2016, 08:49:38 AM »

I read somewhere else that this device can have 4 cams on continuous record and a certain number more recording events only? Is this accurate? If so, how many extra?

Also, I read the device causes bandwidth issues and needs a separate router? Or maybe need a dual band router?

There's only room for 4 cameras to record at any one time.
I have all 4 set to continous record.

 I haven't set up other events. I might explore this. I think it is possible.

Separate router? It all Depends on what you're doing on your main router and what you try to push on the cams. 
Logged

BAMoh

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 296
Re: D-Link DNR-202L 4 cams + more for events? Pre-purchase vetting.
« Reply #4 on: August 23, 2016, 09:22:28 AM »

It's what I read regarding the 4 record + x number of event cams. Please check it out.
Logged
"That's laughable...."  Impress me. Need COMPETENT help.

BAMoh

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 296
Re: D-Link DNR-202L 4 cams + more for events? Pre-purchase vetting.
« Reply #5 on: August 23, 2016, 11:23:34 AM »

Also, if one has a spare PC around, why bother with the DNR? What is the actual value proposition other than don't need to use a PC when the PC is a sunk cost and has no limitation on the number of cams?  Enlighten us with your response. Thanks in advance!
Logged
"That's laughable...."  Impress me. Need COMPETENT help.

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2110
Re: D-Link DNR-202L 4 cams + more for events? Pre-purchase vetting.
« Reply #6 on: August 23, 2016, 12:52:06 PM »

Its really small?  Not as much power consumption? Not using Dviewcam?  (Although there are other software's that can be used on pc).

A 1 cam add on license for synology is about $100? (I had 2 license free ). I have mine on separate network, and connect wirelessly to check it out while remaining connected via ethernet to real world.

The only thing I don't like is video extraction. I haven't complained about out yet, was planning on it.

The video playback is good (although no so motion option that I have found). Video looks as good as live.
Export is slow.  Appears to use device cpu probably in Java to do conversion, and it appears slow.  Even on the highest setting there is a lot of compression. Too much. Some IR test I did showed crayon like separation in coloring (if that's a good description). I'd be better off pointing a video camera at the screen and recording the playback.

Also The device does run cool. So a fan shouldn't be needed.



Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47834
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: D-Link DNR-202L 4 cams + more for events? Pre-purchase vetting.
« Reply #7 on: August 23, 2016, 03:23:56 PM »

Also the 202L is probably meant for a small platform use or house hold use for users with limited resources and need some camera configurations and some security. This is a home class unit and designed probably for a modest to economic budget. Not everyone has a spare PC to dedicate for camera use. There are better alternative camera security solutions for more cameras and small business to large business that is better suited for those environments. I've installed a couple for a small business and in those cases, wired camera system is best suited for that. If your looking for more that the 202L provides then you should look into other DNRs/DNS or camera systems.
« Last Edit: August 24, 2016, 06:39:27 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2110
Re: D-Link DNR-202L 4 cams + more for events? Pre-purchase vetting.
« Reply #8 on: August 23, 2016, 06:36:53 PM »

It's what I read regarding the 4 record + x number of event cams. Please check it out.

It appears you can only set up Continuous or Record on Event, not both.  But this is based on the time schedule.  So Monday from 5am to 6am, could be Record on Event, and everything  else could be Continuous.

It looks like the events are separate, so you can get emails for those at any point. 


Logged

BAMoh

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 296
Re: D-Link DNR-202L 4 cams + more for events? Pre-purchase vetting.
« Reply #9 on: August 23, 2016, 07:20:54 PM »

Thanks, is there any limitation to the number of cams which can be set up for events?
Logged
"That's laughable...."  Impress me. Need COMPETENT help.

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2110
Re: D-Link DNR-202L 4 cams + more for events? Pre-purchase vetting.
« Reply #10 on: August 23, 2016, 07:27:52 PM »


No, but the events are only for motion/disconnects/harddrive failure... check the latest manual
Logged

BAMoh

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 296
Re: D-Link DNR-202L 4 cams + more for events? Pre-purchase vetting.
« Reply #11 on: August 24, 2016, 08:18:27 AM »

The responses have been really helpful. Thanks. Here is a new one. I read somewhere else that the cam reduces the field of vision???? From 180 (on a 180 cam) to 140 degrees was cited by a reviewer of the product. Any legitimacy to that claim?
Logged
"That's laughable...."  Impress me. Need COMPETENT help.

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2110
Re: D-Link DNR-202L 4 cams + more for events? Pre-purchase vetting.
« Reply #12 on: August 24, 2016, 11:04:45 AM »

I'll double check with a 960l tonight.
Logged

BAMoh

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 296
Re: D-Link DNR-202L 4 cams + more for events? Pre-purchase vetting.
« Reply #13 on: August 24, 2016, 11:52:48 AM »

I'll double check with a 960l tonight.
Thanks, much appreciated!
Logged
"That's laughable...."  Impress me. Need COMPETENT help.

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2110
Re: D-Link DNR-202L 4 cams + more for events? Pre-purchase vetting.
« Reply #14 on: August 24, 2016, 05:53:20 PM »

The responses have been really helpful. Thanks. Here is a new one. I read somewhere else that the cam reduces the field of vision???? From 180 (on a 180 cam) to 140 degrees was cited by a reviewer of the product. Any legitimacy to that claim?


As stated here by Kaskashi:

http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=65378.msg272019#msg272019

DNR-202L Recording/Monitoring Performance

For Recording
DNR-202L Maximum recording setting is 1280x720/30 fps/CBR 2M with simultaneous 4 channels Max.

Live video monitoring:
1. One channel : It will display the main profile.(720P 30FPS)
2. Four channel : It will display the secondary profile.(VGA 15FPS)


When you are looking at 4 at a time, you get the 2nd profile, which is locked to VGA ( 640x360).. so you do get the chopped off there.
But when looking at 1 channel, 1st profile settings... 720p...

I also see this on my 2210L... 1920x1080 in profile 1 and some cropping comes in on channel 2.

In playback, 4 at a time gets some cropping on 1080 (2210L), 720 (960L)... but 720 (2330L) show no cropping.

Logged
Pages: [1] 2